Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2012, 10:46 AM   #1
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 53
Another Inverter Question

I have a 2003 Holiday Rambler with Freedom Inverter 458 Series. While on the
road and running the gen set We were running the Overhead Air conditioner
The over temp light came on on the remote panel. My repair shop said turn off the inverter, however we could not figure out how to do it. Apparently
when we had it worked on they turned it off, and now I can't get the remote panel to come back on. Anybody have any ideas.
Caldwell
__________________

__________________
caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-23-2012, 10:55 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Triker56's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3,946
Check at the inverter and see if they plugged the remote wire back in. Looks like a telephone cable.
__________________

__________________
Triker56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 10:26 PM   #3
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 53
Triker56
Yes the remote wire in plugged in.
Caldwell Thanks
__________________
caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 02:31 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Tony Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Peru heading for Brasilia, Brazil
Posts: 2,117
Is there an on-off switch on the front panel of the inverter itself?
__________________
Tony Lee - International Grey Nomad. Picasa Album - Travel Map
RVs. USA - Airstream Cutter; in Australia - MC8 40' DIY Coach conversion & OKA 4x4 MH; in Germany - Hobby Class C; in S America - F350 with 2500 10.6 Bigfoot camper
Tony Lee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 07:33 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
mgscott4's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO./Pollock, LA.
Posts: 1,549
If your Xantrex remote Controller panel has 4 button pads across the bottom that says,

Setup
Charge
Invert
Power Share

If you push the "Charge" button, and the light just above the charge light goes off, it is not charging.

If you push the "Invert" button, and the light just above the invert button goes off, it is not inverting.

If you are not charging or inverting it is off.

The rest of the lights are just monitoring your batteries charge status.
__________________
06 Hurricane 34FT WH W20 Chassis 8.1L 132K, Steersafe, Koni Shocks, DIY Trac Bar, Tri-Metric 2025RV Battery Monitor, 4-6V Batteries, Scan Gauge 2, Crossfires, 735W Solar Morningstar MPPT-60, WG T4 In-Motion Sat, XM Radio, 07 Chevy Malibu Maxx Toad, Falcon 2, Brake Buddy, Escapee
mgscott4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 08:28 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
okie-dokie's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 364
I don't want to steal the thread, but perhaps someone could answer a similar question for me. I have a Magnum 2000 inverter. My remote Magnum moniter is showing " ng " does that stand for No Ground or New generation ? Also I cannot see the state of battery discharge anymore. Thanks
__________________
Bill, enrolled member of Choctaw Tribe. 2005 Fleetwood/Revolution,AFE Filter,Aero Exhaust,Koni FSD shocks,KarKaddy SS. Progressive HW-50C.
okie-dokie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 10:17 AM   #7
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 53
MGScott4
I have no lights at all. Pushing invert does not turn it on. Panel seems to be
turned off.
Caldwell
__________________
caldwell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 10:39 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Theberrys's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,605
Quote:
Originally Posted by caldwell View Post
MGScott4
Quote:
Originally Posted by caldwell View Post
I have no lights at all. Pushing invert does not turn it on. Panel seems to be
turned off.
Caldwell


It's not uncommon for the remote panel to need a reset. The only way to do it is to unplug the phone like cable for about 30 sec and plug it back in. If this is needed than the lights should start working again. It's not an indication of a failure but during transition the Microprocessor sometimes loses its way.

Dick

__________________
1999 Tradewinds 7372 Cat 3126
Albuquerque, NM
Theberrys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 10:48 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Auburn, CA, Havasu, AZ & Mulege, BCS
Posts: 5,217
The 458 owner's manual can be found here.
Since you had it worked on, IIWMI'd immediately contact the service outfit & go over exactly what work was done that could have lead to the black out. Without that you are swinging in the dark.
One possibility till eliminated is the chassis batteries are dead, or the connections are corroded or loose enough to preclude sufficient voltage/amps to run the system.
Another possibility is the inline 200 or 300 amp fuse on the positive cable may be blown, or loose.

Since the "Overtemp" light came on, I'm suspecting all connections are made, but that doesn't mean they are all made fully & cleanly. I'm also guessing you have the "Freedom Remote Control Panel," p.10 of the manual, rather than the optional advanced panels; the FRCP has stacks of LED's for Power Share, Amps Charging, DC Volts & Setup.
__________________
Baja-tested '08 2-slide 36'
Alpine: The Ultimate DIY'er Project
EngineerMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2012, 05:47 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
rvarner's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pahrump, NV
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by caldwell View Post
MGScott4
I have no lights at all. Pushing invert does not turn it on. Panel seems to be
turned off.
Caldwell
Don't know if this will help but, as I recall, there is a off/on switch on the inverter/charger that should be in the off position with the remote controller.

Richard
__________________

__________________
2004 Horizon 40AD/ISC 350/2012 SILVERADO or 2008 Chevy HHR/Demco/Vmspc/FMCA-F394912/SKP-115085/2004 Can-Am Outlander/2013 Polaris RZR
rvarner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.