Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-18-2016, 10:15 AM   #1
Senior Member
Bloodyhell's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 133
Any issue with turning on your generator while hooked to shore power?

Somebody told me this was a no no. I realize there isn't usually a need, but I'd like to know if it's death to anything if it happens.


Bloodyhell is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-18-2016, 10:23 AM   #2
Senior Member
Spk64's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Floyds Knobs, In.
Posts: 795
I have done it several times when doing maintenance on the generator while still hooked to shore power. Ours is set such that Generator has priority over shore power. So once started and breaker not tripped on genset the transfer switch transfers power to the generator.

Spk64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2016, 10:27 AM   #3
Senior Member
Sky_Boss's Avatar

Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5,566
Originally Posted by Bloodyhell View Post
Somebody told me this was a no no. I realize there isn't usually a need, but I'd like to know if it's death to anything if it happens.

It shouldn't be a problem but...

One popular opinion is to avoid this practice especially with big loads. The idea is to protect the ATS from problems it SHOULD be able to handle.

My normal pattern is to turn off high load items like the air conditioners and such when transferring between shore and generator power. I'm certain some folks don't worry much about it and let the ATS do its thing.

Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Gardian Wings earned are GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 DSDP 4320, Spartan MM IFS, 2013 CR-V, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1, Samsung 197R Refer.
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2016, 10:45 AM   #4
Senior Member
Selah's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,014
+1 for SkyBoss. As long as there is a minimal electrical load when starting the generator it is not a problem. The idea is to prevent arcing of the transfer switch contacts when the switch is energized. Same goes for when first connecting to shore power. Turn off any high loads.
Paul, Kathy, and Tux a 4 month Mini Schnauzer
2014 Tiffin Phaeton 42 LH, 2013 Honda CRV
"When the time comes to look back, make sure you'll like what you see"
Selah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2016, 12:52 PM   #5
Senior Member
Patti Brown's Avatar
Newmar Owners Club
Coastal Campers
Carolina Campers
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 353
Starting the generator while plugged into shore power is safe enough, but you will get a tiny double voltage spike at the point of changeover. It is enough to blow an appliance. Know of someone who destroyed 2 Keurigs doing that. So we try to be off shore power before we turn on generator.
2014 Newmar Bay Star 3308
Patti Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2016, 01:02 PM   #6
Registered User
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Southern NM
Posts: 909
I would just turn everything off, unplug shore, start gen set turn on what you turned off.

Not sure why people are so lazy
CJ7365 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2016, 02:00 PM   #7
Senior Member
HicksRA's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Fort Worth TX
Posts: 843
I do it all the time when I exercise the genny while plugged in at storage. I make sure there are no loads present. No problem.
2005 Newmar Dutch Star 4024
Pulling my 2012 Malibu w/Blue OX & Patriot brake unit
HicksRA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2016, 02:05 PM   #8
Senior Member
Spk64's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Floyds Knobs, In.
Posts: 795
Yes. Should have clarified my post. No loads present when this is done.

When heading out for a trip and cooling things down then switching to Gen. We do the full power down switch then power up.
Spk64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2016, 02:43 PM   #9
RV Mutant #14
Wayne M's Avatar

Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,231
FYI Cummins Onan Literature
Wayne MSGT USMC (Ret) & Earlene (CinCHouse)
2008 Winnebago Destination 39W
It is what it is, and then it is what you make of it.
Wayne M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2016, 03:09 PM   #10
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 7,199
Theoretically, there should be no issue, but that means your transfer has to be working properly and doesn't momentarily glitch. I had it happen once on my Diplomat and blew some circuit breakers. I try never to do it now.

Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote

generator, power, shore power

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the Magnum ME-RC remote have to be on to when hooked to shore power. mrainwater Class A Motorhome Discussions 1 07-29-2013 11:06 AM
Notcold 1200 only operated on LP mode while hooked to shore power. Magumba RV Systems & Appliances 2 07-24-2012 06:17 PM
no power unless hooked to shore power ken551 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 7 06-21-2012 05:55 PM
Gen stops when shore power is hooked up jwinston Monaco Owner's Forum 5 09-03-2011 08:49 AM
Use Gen. while hooked to 15 amp power??? walkingplow Newmar Owner's Forum 10 04-05-2007 06:28 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:54 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.