Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2012, 05:41 PM   #1
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 88
Send a message via Skype™ to mrock
Anyone sign up for Great RV Escapes?

Howdy we are new to the Class A RV scene just purchased a 2005 Fleetwood Providence. I am receiving email solicitations from Great RV Escapes advertising that if I sent them $39.95 I will receive 50% off at thousands of campsites. In addition the card they will send me is good for life; moreover they will send me books of campsite locations, Walmart locations, and 4 other books with details on dump sites etc. Has anyone out there received this card? Is teh Great RV Escapes card as good as advertised? If not what alternatives do you seasoned RVs suggest. Thanks

mrock is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-10-2012, 06:06 PM   #2
Senior Member
Thor Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Port Charlotte, FL
Posts: 728
I inquired at several campgrounds about that outfit. Not one of 11 different campgrounds I stayed at had ever heard of them. They had no deal on discount because of their so=called lifetime discount card. Passport America has offered their card for years and we use it frequenty. It has limitations and exceptions but if one studdies and planns it is very useful. There are other membership companies out there. 1000 trails, Zone Pass is one of 1000 trails programs, AOR, Coast to Coast and Resorrt parks all offer some kind of deals. There is a company in Florida Membership resale com that has many different deals. If purchasing a memberrship program check out USED or RESALE membrrships.

EDALLSAILS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 06:23 PM   #3
Senior Member
Thor Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,892
googled them and couldn't find anything....which is odd
Fred1609 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 09:03 AM   #4
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Travel fulltime
Posts: 55
It is a scam outfit, many have fallen for it. Check them out more. Ask them to give you the telephone numbers to some of the campgrounds, and you will check them for yourself. You won't hear from them again.
1aviator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 10:39 AM   #5
Senior Member
Jim_HiTek's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Full time RV'er
Posts: 1,760
X3 on it being a scam. Many have posted here and at RV.net about their rip off practices and the difficulty of getting money back out of them for not providing a service they pretend to offer (discounts at RV parks).
'02 Winnebago Journey DL, DSDP, 36' of fun.

Visit my RV Travel & Repair Blog at : http://chaos.goblinbox.com
Jim_HiTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 12:55 PM   #6
Senior Member
ChasA's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 1,857
I received the email. It looked suspicious to me.
2010 Winnebago Journey Express 34Y
2010 Freightliner XCS (mfd 9/'09)
'07 Saturn Vue V6
ChasA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 01:00 PM   #7
Senior Member
Clayobx's Avatar

Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Willow Lakes RV & Golf Resort, FL
Posts: 3,131
Truly it is a scam! I have seen warnings on two other RV forums that issue "do not buy" . MROCK, congratulations on your new rig! Please check out the Fleetwood Owners forum at this site, easy to sign up, cost nothing and is very informative as to Flletwood issues.

Clay & Pebble.. Miss Butter our sweet Goldie (Jan. 2005-Jan. 2015) Sissy our Border Collie
2012 Providence 42 M. Spartan Chassis, 450 ISL
Ford Edge toad, RM All Terrane, TST TPMS, SMI Air Force One, RVM95....
Clayobx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 06:07 PM   #8
Senior Member
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 249

Google gave their site with no problem. Just not much info in their site.
2014 American Eagle 45N
Spartan Liberty Chassis
dfunde01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 08:27 PM   #9
Senior Member
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: NY
Posts: 583
just looking at that website you might think it's a scam
08 Diesel Bounder 38V
phranc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 10:36 AM   #10
Senior Member
1ciderdog's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4,366
Just my thought but I'd suggest you consider Passport America Passport America The original 50% Discount Camping Club - Passport America Discount Camping Club
It's about $45 for a year and if you stay at one of the campgrounds you'll break even on the second or third night.
Bob, Sandi & Marmaduke the Big Pug
SW OREGON 2004 Journey 39K, 330 Cat
If towing: a 2006 Mini Cooper or 2015 RAM Limited 4X4
1ciderdog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 06:24 PM   #11
Senior Member
Craig N Deb's Avatar
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Huntley,IL
Posts: 542
I just signed up on Passport America as well!!
2008 Fleetwood Discovery 40X "Hognest"
2013 Harley Davidson Ultra Classic Limited
2004 American Ironhorse Texas Choppe
Craig N Deb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 05:30 AM   #12
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 88
Send a message via Skype™ to mrock
Great RV Escapes

Thanks for the information glad we didn't sign up; we will go with Passport America. . . btw we found older forums that substantiated that Great RV Escapes is basically bogus

mrock is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:32 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.