Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2015, 10:51 AM   #29
Senior Member
 
HD4Mark's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marathon, Florida
Posts: 2,894
I noticed when trying to use the 30+20 adapter I made to connect two sources (no GFCIs) in one CG that had side by side 30s on the pedestal that they were on the same phase. Our EMS only recognized it as a 30. In the same park, different site and area, it worked fine so it must have been on different phases. Why they had two 30 receptacles at one site I do not know.
__________________

__________________
Mark & Nancy
2004 Winnebago Vectra 40KD
Shep dog, R.I.P. Kenzie dog Toad 2015 Jeep Wrangler Willys Wheeler
HD4Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-16-2015, 03:10 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,816
The correct way to describe it is 120/240 or 120/240/120 (Either is correct)

An easier way to describe it is: Exactly the same as your house. Just not as many amps.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 03:21 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
davendeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 700
My neighbor had a electrician set him a pole for shore power. Blew his microwave, frig and converter. He wired it 220v like a clothes dryer. Please be careful.
__________________
2008 Tundra DC, 5.7L, Airlift 5000 Airbags
2013 Rockwood 8282WS
Signature Untralight Diamond Package
davendeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 03:22 PM   #32
Just south of Twin Cities
 
Cooperhawk's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: 5 miles south of Lakeville, Mn
Posts: 1,588
No, no, no!!!!!!!

50 amp is two 110 posts with one ground and one neutral. DO NOT HOOK IT UP AS A 220!!!!

DO NOT use a dryer or range receptacle, they are 220 and will blow out your electrical!'

YOU MUST GET AN RV 50 AMP RECEPTACLE!!!! IT MUST BE WIRED CORRECTLY.

https://www.google.com/search?q=RV+5...SXd3orKFJVQ%3D
__________________
Retired FAA ATC,
VFW AL, VVA, NRA
2002 Journey DL 36, 3126 Cat 330hp
2015 Ford Explorer Blue Ox tow bar, AF1
Cooperhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 03:25 PM   #33
Just south of Twin Cities
 
Cooperhawk's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: 5 miles south of Lakeville, Mn
Posts: 1,588
Sorry for repeating advice. I just saw this and wanted to warn the person quickly!
__________________
Retired FAA ATC,
VFW AL, VVA, NRA
2002 Journey DL 36, 3126 Cat 330hp
2015 Ford Explorer Blue Ox tow bar, AF1
Cooperhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 03:42 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,497
Quote:
Originally Posted by HD4Mark View Post
So with this in mind, my thinking is that even though you may have 220 across the leads, obviously there are no devices that run on 220 or could even be connected inside as. It is just two 120 connections.
There are a few high end units that do use the 220-240 to run the dryer and maybe a cooktop. We have a propane cooktop but the dryer is 220-240 volt unit.
__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 03:58 PM   #35
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,899
First you say no, no don't hook up as 220 volt, then you reference a 220 volt ( 240) receptacle diagram .

As far as a 50 amp service, can you even plug a "double breaker" into a panel, without hitting L1 and L2 ?

Now, back to using 2, 30 amp plugs on the same leg to supply 50 amps to a MH. Yes the neutrul will carry double the current, but only up to 60 amps, before one or the other 30 amp line breaker trips. Is it overloaded, yes, but only by 5% if you can turn on that much stuff.


Davendeb, that was probably a 30 amp, 3 wire service. That happens alot.
__________________
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 04:07 PM   #36
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by HHIDan View Post
50 Amp plug is 50 amps at 240 which is the equivalent of 100 amps at 120.
A 30 Amp plug is 120.
Hence a 50 amp plug offers more than 3 times more power than the 30.
HHIDan
Finally the voice of reason!
Thanks for that.
Mel
'96 Safari
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 04:50 PM   #37
Senior Member
Commercial Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 608
Quote:
Originally Posted by mel s View Post
HHIDan
Finally the voice of reason!
Thanks for that.
Mel
'96 Safari

Here is a link http://www.myrv.us/Imgs/PDF/50-amp%20Service.pdf

And a picture Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByiRV2 - RV Forum1442440012.271579.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	232.8 KB
ID:	107064

And a link to how a standard campground post is wired https://www.google.com/search?q=50am...2_ZHOwFR3mM%3A


Sent from my iPad using iRV2 - RV Forum
TravellingRVDoctor, LLC
__________________
shiggs68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 10:29 PM   #38
Senior Member
 
davendeb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 700
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
First you say no, no don't hook up as 220 volt, then you reference a 220 volt ( 240) receptacle diagram .

As far as a 50 amp service, can you even plug a "double breaker" into a panel, without hitting L1 and L2 ?

Now, back to using 2, 30 amp plugs on the same leg to supply 50 amps to a MH. Yes the neutrul will carry double the current, but only up to 60 amps, before one or the other 30 amp line breaker trips. Is it overloaded, yes, but only by 5% if you can turn on that much stuff.


Davendeb, that was probably a 30 amp, 3 wire service. That happens alot.
Yes. That's exactly what it was. He has a big TH 5er now but that happend when he had a 30 amp tt.
__________________
2008 Tundra DC, 5.7L, Airlift 5000 Airbags
2013 Rockwood 8282WS
Signature Untralight Diamond Package
davendeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2015, 11:03 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 9,899
And all the hysteria about screwed up 120 volt 30 amp installations have carried over to the, actually common, 120/240 volt, 50 amp service.
__________________
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 06:54 AM   #40
Senior Member
 
Grey Ghost I's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Georgia
Posts: 587
The use of the Progressive Industries protector negates all the worry and has a lifetime warranty.
__________________
Jerry and Barbara,
2005 Nat Sea Breeze 1321
2010 Honda CR-V toad
Grey Ghost I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 08:45 AM   #41
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,493
To make it easy and weather resistant get a pre built pedestal kit as it has everything setup already.

Just mount it where needed and with correct breakers in your service panel and cable it is easy to do.

Just follow the directions or have an electrician guide you.
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 08:56 AM   #42
Just south of Twin Cities
 
Cooperhawk's Avatar


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: 5 miles south of Lakeville, Mn
Posts: 1,588
Quote:
Originally Posted by twinboat View Post
First you say no, no don't hook up as 220 volt, then you reference a 220 volt ( 240) receptacle diagram .
You are absolutely correct. Wrong diagram.

My bad.
__________________

__________________
Retired FAA ATC,
VFW AL, VVA, NRA
2002 Journey DL 36, 3126 Cat 330hp
2015 Ford Explorer Blue Ox tow bar, AF1
Cooperhawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
15th ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION RALLY Madame Boomer Texas Boomers 31 05-19-2015 04:36 PM
110/ 220 volt question SDCOToyhaul Toy Haulers Discussion 16 05-05-2015 04:21 AM
12 Volt Problems garymunson Class A Motorhome Discussions 6 04-23-2015 08:52 AM
New 6 volt 220 amp bats what charger? edsperfect MH-General Discussions & Problems 8 03-15-2015 03:54 PM
Amps per hour? Horsepower per hour? BatteryPro Going Green 5 02-23-2015 07:04 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.