Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2015, 08:02 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
leshchat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 20
Are 50 amps 220 volt?

I'm trying to set up an electric pole for my monaco with a 50 amp service...is that 220 or 110?
__________________

__________________
leshchat is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-14-2015, 08:05 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,450
Basically, yes.
__________________

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 08:05 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 363
I'd say yes, but instead I'm going implore you to get a book (if that's your way; it is mine), or pony up to have this done.

Many folks are very comfortable with this, and it's not really complicated, but the penalty for "oops" is much too extreme to "OJT" it.

Your query is fairly dripping with, "Ok, try it now....." Not disrespectful, just the nature of your question means you may have some reading to do vs. tossing out a broad brush question is all.
__________________
GySgt USMC (Ret) '79~'99
2005 National RV Dolphin Limited
(w/lots of goodies)
Civdiv99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 08:10 PM   #4
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Seriously?
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 08:11 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
HD4Mark's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Coastal Campers
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Marathon, Florida
Posts: 2,894
No, they have two 120V hot feeds. Take a look at this http://www.myrv.us/Imgs/PDF/50-amp%20Service.pdf
__________________
Mark & Nancy
2004 Winnebago Vectra 40KD
Shep dog, R.I.P. Kenzie dog Toad 2015 Jeep Wrangler Willys Wheeler
HD4Mark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 08:16 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
HHIDan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,254
50 Amp plug is 50 amps at 240 which is the equivalent of 100 amps at 120.
A 30 Amp plug is 120.
Hence a 50 amp plug offers more than 3 times more power than the 30.
__________________
DanielB
'06 Mountain Aire 4309, ISL 400-CM850, Spartan MMGT
'16 Jeep Wrangler
HHIDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 08:19 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
jondrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Orlando
Posts: 1,841
No insult intended, but based on the question I would suggest you get a licensed electrician to do the work. If not for safety sake, hooking up the pole incorrectly could damage your electrical system
__________________
2015 Fleetwood Discovery 40G
2014 CRV w/EZ Tow
jondrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 08:24 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
220( 240) volt power is achieved by combining 2 , 110 ( 120) volt lines correctly. Same as getting 12v out of 2 , 6 v batteries.

Here is the diagram for testing a RV power post plug , hope this explains some of what your after, other considerations are length of the run to size the wiring and is there is enough power at the source to support the extra load.
Attached Images
 
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 08:43 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
mfire1339's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Glendora Ca.
Posts: 1,343
Skip426 Wins!!!!!!




Mike
__________________
2004 Monaco Monarch
Blueox, SMI, 1990 Wrangler YJ
mfire1339 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 08:48 PM   #10
NRF
Senior Member
 
NRF's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Friendswood, Texas
Posts: 166
In order to wire the pole there are many concerns. 1) code requirements (to determine proper conduit for wire routing, if ground & neutral can be bonded to same box, etc) 2) distance from main breaker box 3) wire size required 4) proper wiring connections made at both ends with proper breakers and if main panel is sufficient to handle the added potential load.

The ultimate connection is a 110 V connection the way the RV is using the wiring but is 220v across the poles if 220 is required.

Even if an electrician were to install (which I recommend for you), I would ensure I check that there is 220 across the two poles,
110 from each hot to both ground & neutral. If any of these are not correct, the plug is not properly wired.

Most home RV Pole sets have an additional 110 outlet meaning that you may require a 70 amp service to properly use both at the same time and wire size must then be calculated for that. I do recommend no splices of any kind- so measure distance well!
__________________
NRF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 08:50 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
KSagal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Wilmington, MA
Posts: 559
50 amps is 50 amps. 220 volts is not a factor.

I have a 50 amp output on my generator, at 120 volts.

I have a 30 amp, 240 volt service which services my back yard shed, where I have a sub distribution box, that breaks it to several 15, 20 and 30 amp services at 120 volts. (One goes to my MH enclosure)

So, there is no answer to your original question other than 'yes', or 'as you like'.

Your camper or motorhome will have requirements for a certain voltage, at a certain amperage. That is what you need to supply.

You can make a 50 amp 220 (really 240v) or you can make a 50 amp 120 v.


What do you need?


Your question has inspired me to do more research...

I am fairly new to this forum, and to the RV world. At the same time, I work as an electro mechanical engineer, and am currently in the Solar power field.

The link offered up several responses ago is a great one. It indicates that the 50 amp 4 wire service that most MHs use is wired a certain way.

You can have a 50amp 4 wire service, and a 50amp 3 wire service, but the former is what campers use, and the latter is more typical for residential use. It all depends on if the 120 volt hots are out of phase with each other or not.

Typically, a 120 service has one hot and a neutral. Measure between them, you will get 120 volts. Typically, a 240 service has two hots and a neutral. Hot to hot gives you 240 as they are 180 degrees out of phase so +120 to -120 = 240 volts. With each of these hots to neutral, you still have 120 volts.

A typical 30 amp service for a camper has a 3 wire 120 volt service.

A typical 50 amp service for a camper has a 4 wire 120 volt service, but if you measure any hot to neutral it is 120, but measured hot to hot, you get 240 volts.

Because of this, you really need to know your needs and what you are doing.

Good luck. Have fun. Try not to let the magic smoke out...
__________________
Karl I. Sagal KarlSagal@Gmail.com
Well done is better than well said. (Ben Franklin)
1988 Fleetwood Southwind, 34'
KSagal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 09:14 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Papa_Jim's Avatar
 
Outdoors RV Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Manitoba,Canada
Posts: 2,638
Follow Skip's diagram and you won't go wrong.

I installed such a plug in my shop. When I plug my coach into it, it becomes two 110V circuits. When I plug my big shop air compressor into it, it becomes one 220V circuit.


Hmmm.

Jim
__________________
Jim & Kate
2016 Creekside 23RKS
2014 Ram 1500 4X4 Eco Diesel
Canada, eh?
Papa_Jim is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2015, 10:07 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
JFXG's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Today? Mercer, PA
Posts: 3,614
Are 50 amps 220 volt?

leshchat, please be careful. Better yet, be prudent. Either hire a pro who knows RV park wiring, or if you have an electrician friend, have him teach you (after ensuring HE understands RV park wiring).

Electricity is not difficult, if you've learned it and you understand it. Your question indicates neither. Whether you fully understand it or not, electricity can save your life for days or kill you in half a heartbeat-- and the demarcation line is invisible. As I said earlier, please be careful.
__________________
John & Diane, Fulltimers. RVM103 NHSO
On the road since June '12 with Lincoln, the guard cat.
2002 Dutch Star 40, Freightliner, Cat 3126, 2004 Element
JFXG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2015, 12:58 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Scatterbrain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Yucca Valley, Ca.
Posts: 506
Quote:
Originally Posted by KSagal View Post
50 amps is 50 amps. 220 volts is not a factor.

I have a 50 amp output on my generator, at 120 volts.

I have a 30 amp, 240 volt service which services my back yard shed, where I have a sub distribution box, that breaks it to several 15, 20 and 30 amp services at 120 volts. (One goes to my MH enclosure)

So, there is no answer to your original question other than 'yes', or 'as you like'.

Your camper or motorhome will have requirements for a certain voltage, at a certain amperage. That is what you need to supply.

You can make a 50 amp 220 (really 240v) or you can make a 50 amp 120 v.


........................
There is a standard for 50 amp RV service. It consists of two 50 amp 120 lines, out of phase to provide 50 amp 240v service. 50 amps at 120v (single leg service) won't provide enough power for a 50 amp coach.
__________________

__________________
Scatterbrain is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
15th ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION RALLY Madame Boomer Texas Boomers 31 05-19-2015 04:36 PM
110/ 220 volt question SDCOToyhaul Toy Haulers Discussion 16 05-05-2015 04:21 AM
12 Volt Problems garymunson Class A Motorhome Discussions 6 04-23-2015 08:52 AM
New 6 volt 220 amp bats what charger? edsperfect MH-General Discussions & Problems 8 03-15-2015 03:54 PM
Amps per hour? Horsepower per hour? BatteryPro Going Green 5 02-23-2015 07:04 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.