Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-16-2011, 08:10 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 262
Ato fuses

Gonna replace all of my 12 volt fuses with the Smart Glow fuse. Anyone done this and if so, did it work out ok? Would be alot easier to find the blown one. Duk
__________________

__________________
rivrduk is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-16-2011, 08:29 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 401
Quote:
Originally Posted by rivrduk View Post
Gonna replace all of my 12 volt fuses with the Smart Glow fuse. Anyone done this and if so, did it work out ok? Would be alot easier to find the blown one. Duk
I just installed a cheap 12 volt test light at each of the the three locations where fuses are found on my MH. The Smart Glow device just introduces another level of complication to confound diagnosis.IMHO
__________________

__________________
04 Southwind 37C W22

DIY Rear Panhard Rod
exrench is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 08:44 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,811
I can tell you it makes the blown fuse way easier to spot.

That said, on my HOUSE panel, which is where I usually blow them... I don't need Smart Glows.

Progressive Dynamics, being only slightly ahead of the curve, slapped a resistor and LED across every fuse. When the fuse goes POP the LED lights up.

I also have an aux 12 volt distribution panel with Anderson Power Pole connectors.. IT is a Rig Runner by West Mountain Radio.. Same plan there. LED/Resistor across every fuse.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 09:18 PM   #4
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Do you guys really blow fuses THAT often to go to the expense of Smart Glow or LED/resistor fuses?
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 08:33 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Dave78Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,513
While it does not solve the easy LED ID light feature, you could replace them with manual CB's that mean you no longer have to buy/carry fuses.
Low Profile ATC®/ATO® Manual Reset Circuit Breakers



Not sure of availability though. I grab some off of e-bay a year ago. Only down side is they are taller than a standard fuse so can create panel cover issues.

Dave
__________________
Dave in Virginia
1978 Winnebago Chieftain
Dodge M400 - 440-3
Classic Winnebago Site: http://www.classicwinnebagos.com/forum/index.php
Dave78Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2011, 12:02 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
dons2346's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 4,484
One of these http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001BXMSMI/ref=pd_lpo_k2_dp_sr_1?pf_rd_p=486539851&pf_rd_s=lp o-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B000NPZ4TO&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX 0DER&pf_rd_r=09GKCZ8P06K1MQZ9R870
is a lot cheaper that replacing all the fuses. You can get one in a kit with a bunch of fuses for 20 bux.

You guys blow that many fuses? In 10 years I have only blown 2 and that was my own fault.
__________________
dons2346 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 02:21 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,811
Quote:
Originally Posted by KIX View Post
Do you guys really blow fuses THAT often to go to the expense of Smart Glow or LED/resistor fuses?
Kix that is the problem If I blew fuses THAT OFTEN then I'd know "3rd fuse from the left".

But if you blow one say every 2 years, and not the same fuse.. YES, you need an indicator of which fuse it is.

Progressive Dynamics knows this, thus they put the LED and Resistor on the board so if the fuse goes pop the LED lights up.. Likewise West Mountain Radio.. I much prefer this to the more expensive Smart-Glo fuses cause.. Well, I need to replace the fuse, not the LED. and smart glow's need a special dual LED too since they don't know which lead is Positive.

In the old days of glass cartridge fuses you could tell which one went POP without removing it from the socket, but these new fangled jobs..... Well they don't work like that.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 03:15 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 262
Are you telling me that instead of replacing the blown fuse with a smart glow one i will need something else to tell me which one is blown? Can i not just remove the old one and put the new smart fuse in its place? Duk
__________________
rivrduk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 03:34 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Dave78Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,513
LOL no - He is just saying PD designed their newer panels with a LED that lights up if a fuse blows. I have used the smart-glow fuses also. Just replace existing fuse with smart glow one. If it blows it will light up. When you have 30 year old equipment, things like clearance light shorts from water, rusted tail light bulbs, etc. happen.

Dave
__________________
Dave in Virginia
1978 Winnebago Chieftain
Dodge M400 - 440-3
Classic Winnebago Site: http://www.classicwinnebagos.com/forum/index.php
Dave78Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 06:35 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,811
You got it Dave. I'm just singing the praises of a company's design team who I happen to think are worthy of praise.

The fact that PDI is a Michigan firm and my income comes from the State of Michigan... Well, that's a bonus (For me) but I'm really singing the praises of a good design.

But then the odds that I know one or two of the folks on that design team are high.. I won't go into details but my log in ID has to do with it.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 07:05 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Dave78Chief's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,513
I hear ya. Now if PD would just make a RV converter that the voltage set points could be adjusted a bit. Could make life a little more productive for the boondockers. I know their Marine converters have the options but the multiple battery bank is abit of overkill.

Dave
__________________
Dave in Virginia
1978 Winnebago Chieftain
Dodge M400 - 440-3
Classic Winnebago Site: http://www.classicwinnebagos.com/forum/index.php
Dave78Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 09:28 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,811
I too agree it would be nice if there was a range of charge wizards, or one with a dial on the back:

Flooded wet cell:
Mainenance Free
AGM
and so on.
__________________

__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inverter Fuses Blow knightinme 5th Wheel Discussion 6 03-30-2013 01:58 PM
Confusion about fuses, types paty 5th Wheel Discussion 7 10-12-2011 05:21 PM
No power to certain fuses? Ramzfan Class A Motorhome Discussions 1 09-25-2011 11:01 PM
New fuses: Anybody used them yet? puttin Gear and Product Discussions 11 06-18-2011 10:54 AM
Fuses not labeled in rear compartment dmason Monaco Owner's Forum 2 06-22-2010 07:44 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.