Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2015, 12:37 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: The Evergreen State
Posts: 405
Autoformer

96 Bounder 30 amp.

Does anyone know if I can use a 50 amp autoformer on a 30 amp service? Just thinking a head that I may up grade to 50 amp service on the rv in the future. Thx
__________________

__________________
leesdx1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-11-2015, 01:22 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Steve Ownby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cosby, Tn
Posts: 6,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by leesdx1 View Post
96 Bounder 30 amp.



Does anyone know if I can use a 50 amp autoformer on a 30 amp service? Just thinking a head that I may up grade to 50 amp service on the rv in the future. Thx

Yes you can. You can plug the Autoformer into the 50 amp then use a dogbone to your 30 amp cord or if necessary, use a 30 to 50 dogbone at the pedestal then the Autoformer then another dogbone for the 30 amp cord. Might do it this way if campground charges more to hook up to 50 amp.


Steve Ownby
Full time since '07
__________________

__________________
Steve Ownby
Full time since 2007
2003 Monaco Signature
Steve Ownby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2015, 07:23 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,790
You bet you can I do

Autoformers come in two flavors (Times several flavors) Installed and portable which is the only two I'll discuss here.

Installed... Out of sight, Out of mind, Theft resistant and if you are in a park that has a policy (I HAVE SEEN THESE) NO AUTOFORMERS.. no problem

NOTE: I do not wish to discuss that policy, if the park has it there is not a blessed thing I can do about it.

With an installed you plug in your cord to the dog bone, Plug into the outlet and it works

With a portable you plug the AUTOFORMER into the dogbone and otherwise connect as normal

if anything it will work better on 30 amps.. And it's more likely to need to.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2015, 09:54 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Trois-Rivieres, QC, Canada
Posts: 414
Send a message via Skype™ to normandlegra
Quote:
Originally Posted by wa8yxm View Post
You bet you can I do

Autoformers come in two flavors (Times several flavors) Installed and portable which is the only two I'll discuss here.

Installed... Out of sight, Out of mind, Theft resistant and if you are in a park that has a policy (I HAVE SEEN THESE) NO AUTOFORMERS.. no problem
...
If the service pole is properly installed for mh, I can plug my "Autoformer" to it and keep it hidden in my electrical compartment !
p.s the Hughes Autoformer have a 3 feet cord
__________________
normandlegra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Autoformer vs progressive ems MyLife Class C Motorhome Discussions 5 06-18-2015 08:53 PM
New Product: Hughes Autoformer DVM1221 Digital AC Volt Meter RVupgrades Vendor Spotlight (Deals, Announcements & More) 0 03-26-2015 07:43 AM
Hughes Autoformer KIX RV Systems & Appliances 24 03-12-2015 05:18 PM
My Progressive Surge Protector/Hughes Autoformer Installation jigsup Newmar Owner's Forum 17 09-27-2014 09:44 PM
Autoformer / Surge Protection Order s1njin Class C Motorhome Discussions 3 05-02-2014 03:26 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.