Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2011, 08:11 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 16
Backup camera cable routing?

On my 2002 R-Vision Condor, my original BU monitor was failing, so along with the new one, I decided to install a new camera. I settled on the $200 Costco unit with the 7" LCD. I just have no idea yet how I'm going to route the new cable from the camera, and wonder if anyone knows how it was originally routed. While I had the overhead cabinets (above the driver's head) out for another "project", I saw that the camera cable makes it to the front of the coach in a plastic pipe along with 2 TV cables, some big 12V lines, and some other cables. This pipe is located in the ceiling panel, above driver's side wall. But I cannot for the life of me figure out where the other end of that pipe is, or how the wires got into it. From under the coach, I can see the void in front of the rear "cap" up to the bedroom floor, but then there is plywood fitting tight up against the cap. That's going to make it tough to reroute the cable down inside the cap and along the frame rail. I even removed the large mirror in the bedroom thinking maybe it hid an access panel - no joy. Any suggestions would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Newbie, 2002 R-Vision Condor 1281, P32, 8.1
tobysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-09-2011, 08:30 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Snowbird - Waterford Mi and Citrus Springs Fl.
Posts: 3,608
You could do what I did. I cut the ends off the original cable (not like it was going to do me any good as is), then carefully spliced the ends from the new harness to the old - color matching front to rear (if that makes any sense).
__________________

__________________
1997 37' HR Endeavor, 275hp Cat, Freightliner
03 CR-V Blue Ox, Ready Brake
ahicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 08:45 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 16
Splice

Seriously considering it. Four wires in the old cable. If the new one also has four, I think that might be the easiest as long as they are about the same gage. Thanks for the reply.
__________________
Newbie, 2002 R-Vision Condor 1281, P32, 8.1
tobysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2011, 09:23 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
sdennislee's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,404
If you find the wiring to be different, you might be able to cut the end in the overhead cabinet and splice the new wiring to it and snake it through the conduit.
__________________
US Navy Vet, Liberty Tree Member of Oath Keepers, NRA & VFW Life Member, Alaska EMT.
2009 Safari Cheetah 40 SKQ
2009 Winnebago Chalet 231CR
sdennislee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 07:09 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
ctpres's Avatar


 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Chasing 70 degrees in lower 48
Posts: 1,890
I ran underneath in elec. pvc conduit. Found lots of holes and places to tywrap to frame. Just stayed away for hot and moving parts.
__________________
ctpres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 07:24 AM   #6
Registered User


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,198
I used that same costco backup monitor in a 99 pace arrow a few years ago.
If you search rv.net for my user name, you'd probably find a thread I did with pictures showing how I mounted the costco screen in the original big panasonic box, it worked out pretty slick.

The wiring for the costco unit is probably completely different. As it has terminations and connectors on it and handles high frequency videio signals, messing with it is not a good idea.

I ran the new cable down under the trim on the drivers side of the windshield, down under the dash, and thru the firewall.
From there, I just ran it along the frame with the existing wires, used lots of tiewraps.

At the back of the coach, there was an air space nearly a foot deep, it was a simple matter to drop a weighted string down thru the camera hole and use it to pull the new cable up.
__________________
JimM68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 09:10 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Snowbird - Waterford Mi and Citrus Springs Fl.
Posts: 3,608
If shopping for a new camera and monitor, here's the one I used. Was recommended by somebody else here, and have seen it mentioned several time since I bought mine. Great buy with no issues.... and it uses 4 wires (power/ground and the 2 video wires).

7 LCD Color IN CAR Monitor w/IR Reversing Camera 7 LCD Color IN CAR Monitor w/IR Reversing Camera [P32 ecbuys]- US$87.99 - Ecbuys.com
__________________
1997 37' HR Endeavor, 275hp Cat, Freightliner
03 CR-V Blue Ox, Ready Brake
ahicks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2011, 11:32 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 16
Thanks

Thank you all for the info. JimM, I'm sure you're right about messing with the new cable. The technology has advanced quite a bit since the original old CRT was installed at the factory. I am considering your idea as a last resort - bringing the cable down and along the frame, but as I mentioned, that gap at the rear of the coach is completely sealed off a few feet above the ground by the form-fitting plywood. I guess I could drill a hole in the plywood from underneath and then try to fish the weighted string down from the camera location, through the hole in the plywood ........ no too sure about that.
__________________
Newbie, 2002 R-Vision Condor 1281, P32, 8.1
tobysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2011, 10:36 AM   #9
JCM
Senior Member
 
JCM's Avatar
 
Triple E Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Williams Lake,BC Canada
Posts: 990
Remove a tail light and then cut the plywood carefully as there is probably wires on top of it. I used a wood chissle to work through the wood and foam insulation. Then used a fish wire to pull the backup camera wire down. I then fed it down from the light to under the coach. Then to the front.
Re foam to fill the hole in the wood and fill in behind the light.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF6818 (Small).JPG
Views:	121
Size:	49.0 KB
ID:	13768   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF6820 (Small).JPG
Views:	99
Size:	40.4 KB
ID:	13769  

Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF6847 (Small).JPG
Views:	113
Size:	44.3 KB
ID:	13770   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF6849 (Small).JPG
Views:	98
Size:	25.9 KB
ID:	13771  

__________________
2007 Triple E - Empress Elite - Freightliner
WH 22 owner for 7 years
JCM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 11:00 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 16
Thank you for the idea and the photos. I think I figured out the easiest way for me. I removed the "third taillight" right in the middle of the coach, and found that it is just above that problem piece of plywood. But it is directly below the camera. So I am going to drill a hole through the plywood from underneath, drop a weighted line down from the camera location and then I can easily fish it through the drilled hole once the third taillight is removed. Then along the bottom of the chassis. I was really wanting to route it through that pipe the old one is routed through, but I'm thinking now that maybe they fished everything through and then glued on the rear end cap.

Thanks again.
__________________
Newbie, 2002 R-Vision Condor 1281, P32, 8.1
tobysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2011, 05:55 PM   #11
JCM
Senior Member
 
JCM's Avatar
 
Triple E Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Williams Lake,BC Canada
Posts: 990
Be very careful as there are probably wires run across on top of the plywood spacer. There were on mine. I was lucky and had a photo of how they were run - from the factory tour - and didn't drill into them.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF0031 (Small).JPG
Views:	136
Size:	59.8 KB
ID:	13821  
__________________
2007 Triple E - Empress Elite - Freightliner
WH 22 owner for 7 years
JCM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 07:42 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 16
I got it done this past weekend. The third taillight was the trick (there must be a catchy name for those) . I removed it, and dropped a weighted string thru the old cable hole and it fell down right in front of the opening. Then I went under the RV and was going to drill a hole thru the plywood, but saw an existing opening on the right edge, so I fished a wire up from there with the end of the new cable attached, attached it to the string and pulled it up. I then tie wrapped the cable all along underneath the chassis to the engine compartment, and thru the firewall with another wire bundle. Except for one thing, it works great. I can't seem to get any sound from the camera through the speakers. This is strange because I bench tested the unit before I mounted it, and was able to get sound at that time. But only when the camera is triggered by the reverse cable - not when you push the "Power" button. Strange. Still, I think a good deal for $200.

Thanks again for all the help.
__________________
Newbie, 2002 R-Vision Condor 1281, P32, 8.1
tobysdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 07:54 PM   #13
JCM
Senior Member
 
JCM's Avatar
 
Triple E Owners Club
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Williams Lake,BC Canada
Posts: 990
Check for a volume controll. Possibly turned down. Mine did the same. Occasionaly it would come on. Possibly pulled a wire from the plug (inside the cable). Who knows?
__________________
2007 Triple E - Empress Elite - Freightliner
WH 22 owner for 7 years
JCM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2011, 08:59 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
UltraKen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahicks View Post
If shopping for a new camera and monitor, here's the one I used. Was recommended by somebody else here, and have seen it mentioned several time since I bought mine. Great buy with no issues.... and it uses 4 wires (power/ground and the 2 video wires).

7 LCD Color IN CAR Monitor w/IR Reversing Camera 7 LCD Color IN CAR Monitor w/IR Reversing Camera [P32 ecbuys]- US$87.99 - Ecbuys.com
That was me.

Here's a photo essay on the installation.

http://f1.grp.yahoofs.com/v1/kOV3TmD...the%20rear.pdf

You'll notice that the original cable was used with simple adapters available at Radio Shack and other electronic parts suppliers.

Using the original cable saves a tremendous amount of time.
__________________

__________________
Ken 1996 Safari Sahara- 3530, 35', CAT 300
Pictures of my coach:
http://www.flickr.com/photos/kenpen6...566217/detail/
UltraKen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
camera



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backup camera cable no voltage BOAT.57 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 0 06-08-2011 06:36 PM
Intermittent Backup Camera Rusty Bear Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 22 04-27-2011 07:55 AM
Backup Camera Upgrade? CaptMark RV Systems & Appliances 1 04-26-2011 03:11 PM
Backup Camera Plus GPS Oemtech Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 0 06-09-2009 09:19 AM
Backup camera TheMcDonald3 Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 10 04-17-2009 12:31 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.