Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-14-2014, 09:46 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 4
Question Backup camera cable routing?

have to replace cable running from backup camera to its video screen. old one is stuck so can't pull a new one thru it's existing pathway. any suggestions on another easy route?
__________________

__________________
ernie65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-14-2014, 09:55 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 608
We usually order the 65ft cable and run it down the frame just drop it down the rear cap and bring it back up in the front.
__________________

__________________
1mainiac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 07:51 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Reelgator's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1mainiac View Post
We usually order the 65ft cable and run it down the frame just drop it down the rear cap and bring it back up in the front.
Just had to do the exact same thing. RV shop wanted 4 hrs labor, took me less than 1.
__________________
2006 Monaco Knight 40PLQ Cummins ISC 330
2013 Ford Escape Toad on a Triple Crown Car Hauler
<")))>{{
Reelgator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 10:17 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Richmond Hill, GA USA
Posts: 671
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1mainiac View Post
We usually order the 65ft cable and run it down the frame just drop it down the rear cap and bring it back up in the front.
Exactly what I did. Just be sure to protect from engine heat and wear.

Not a hard project.

Fred
__________________
Fred & Vicki
St. Augustine, Fl.
Fred Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2014, 06:26 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
CountryFit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Between the Oceans
Posts: 3,543
Blog Entries: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1mainiac View Post
We usually order the 65ft cable and run it down the frame just drop it down the rear cap and bring it back up in the front.
mine was routed the same. alternately you can install a wireless system, pretty good video quality and stable.
__________________
2000 Country Coach Intrigue 40', ISC 350
2014 Ford C-Max Energi
CountryFit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2014, 11:56 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Rockbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Summer - WA, Winter - AZ
Posts: 160
I replaced my cable last spring. Really easy. Drop it down the back cap, tie it off in several secure locations under the coach, then back up the front. An hour seemed to be plenty of time to do the job. Sure beats labor rates upwards of 125 bucks per hr.
__________________
Rocky, Anniey, and Joy (Our Toy Poodle)
2006 Bounder Diesel 38L
Rockbit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 04:02 PM   #7
Member
 
tom076's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 63
I need to replace my cable, problem is local rv dealer can't locate a cable, I need 65' OCA 80 Cable for AOS 33 Voyager System, any thoughts on locating one?
__________________
tom076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2014, 04:38 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
rssnape's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 330
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom076 View Post
I need to replace my cable, problem is local rv dealer can't locate a cable, I need 65' OCA 80 Cable for AOS 33 Voyager System, any thoughts on locating one?

Not sure what that cable is but if the camera has separate power from signal typically you can run 12v power from your chassis and RG 6 or RG 59 for your signal. You can use a standard F connector or there are crimp on RCA connectors if that is what your camera uses.
I powered my camera from the back up light circuit but want to add another source so that I can monitor the toad.
__________________

__________________
rssnape is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
camera



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Recommendation for Wireless Backup Camera System RVNewB101 iRV2.com General Discussion 15 05-12-2015 07:24 PM
Backup Camera Input Inoperative jpspinks Thor Industries Owner's Forum 7 08-07-2014 08:50 PM
03 41' Select - Replace backup camera Dan_public Travel Supreme Owner's Forum 3 04-27-2014 10:53 PM
Backup Camera Problem GM28 Class A Motorhome Discussions 7 02-13-2014 09:51 PM
Looking for help re: battery cable routing, '04 TropiCal mbrandt1402 National RV Owner's Forum 3 07-04-2013 12:53 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.