Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2015, 09:47 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 9
backup camera ground

I have done a search and can't find much on grounding a back up camera. I have a new to me 2001 Winnebago Brave 30W. I have a wireless camera I want to put just below a rear marker light. I know I can grab power off the light but where to attach the ground is a little confusing. Do I need to fish a wire all the way around the cap to the frame somewhere or is there an easier way to do this? Any help would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
farmboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-07-2015, 10:58 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by farmboss View Post
I have done a search and can't find much on grounding a back up camera. I have a new to me 2001 Winnebago Brave 30W. I have a wireless camera I want to put just below a rear marker light. I know I can grab power off the light but where to attach the ground is a little confusing. Do I need to fish a wire all the way around the cap to the frame somewhere or is there an easier way to do this? Any help would be appreciated.
I would recommend fishing a ground wire from a solid ground spot on the frame somewhere and running it up to the camera. I assume you realize that if you power your camera from the marker light that the camera will only work if the running lights are turned on. Will this be a problem?

Jack
__________________

__________________
jrwitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 11:02 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 9
Jack

Thanks I was afraid that was what I was going to have to do. Having the running light on really doesn't bother me. So much for 'wireless' installation.
Mark
__________________
farmboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 11:11 AM   #4
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by farmboss View Post
Jack
Thanks I was afraid that was what I was going to have to do. Having the running light on really doesn't bother me. So much for 'wireless' installation.
Mark
Unfortunately "wireless" doesn't mean "magical".
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 12:44 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Triple E Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 13
why not ground it to the same place as the marker light?
__________________
keefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2015, 05:32 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 9
Keefr,

I am new to wiring, the marker light has 2 wires that come into the bulb. I had thought they were both hot wired in series???. I will check with a meter maybe one of them is a ground. The fixture itself did not appear to have a ground.

Mark
__________________
farmboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2015, 10:12 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Triple E Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 13
Mark,

One of the wires will be 12V positive, the other will be ground. The positive one will have 12 volts between it and a ground such as the frame when the lights are on, the other will be 0 volts. You can wire the camera in parallel to the light. Every fixture has an "in" (positive) and an "out" (ground).
__________________
keefr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2015, 07:12 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 9
Keefr

Thanks got the camera up and running

Mark
__________________

__________________
farmboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
camera



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2015 Backup camera at night nebster Newmar Owner's Forum 7 04-04-2015 10:54 AM
2015 Dutch Star Backup Camera tomakat Newmar Owner's Forum 7 02-28-2015 01:10 AM
Navion/ View Backup Camera Installation ko4nrbs Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 1 10-27-2014 01:46 PM
Quality of Garmin BC 20 wireless backup camera VAParrothead Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 1 06-02-2014 05:07 PM
Bounder: Has anyone changed their backup camera in a Bounder? drakethib Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 7 03-28-2014 06:04 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.