Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-18-2016, 08:28 AM   #1

Entegra Owners Club
Basic Electrical questions

Pardon my ignorance but I am new to the RV world and trying to make sense of things I am reading.

Surge protectors:
I have a TRC Surge Guard/Transfer Switch Model 41260 in the basement. Is it redundant or necessary to also have an additional protector such as the Progressive Industries? If so, what is the benefit or the hard wired over the portable besides theft protection?

Trickle Chargers:
While parked at home, I run a 50ft (12/3) extension cord outside from my garage outlet that is on a 20A breaker. I thought the Magnum remote monitored the battery/inverter to maintain battery charge? I this redundant or necessary?

Thanks for reaching down low to help a novice.
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!