Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-12-2015, 05:28 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
md99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 15
Bathroom GFI Plug in on my 99 Diplomat

Hi there, could anyone help me with this. I recently purchased this beautiful bus and the only problem I seem to have is that my GFI plug above my bathroom sing keeps tripping (wont stay on). I have now discovered that this plug rules many others including my tv's.... could anyone offer some trouble shooting advise? would be much appreciated.
I have recently bought a new GFI plug in hoping that the old one may just be weak.
Thank you
__________________

__________________
md99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-12-2015, 05:46 PM   #2
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by md99 View Post
Hi there, could anyone help me with this. I recently purchased this beautiful bus and the only problem I seem to have is that my GFI plug above my bathroom sing keeps tripping (wont stay on). I have now discovered that this plug rules many others including my tv's.... could anyone offer some trouble shooting advise? would be much appreciated.
I have recently bought a new GFI plug in hoping that the old one may just be weak.
Thank you
Does that GFCI trip only on shore power or does it trip on generator power?.....and/or inverter power?
Post again if it continues to trip AFTER you replace your GFCI with the new one.
Mel
'96 Safari
__________________

__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 01:21 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
md99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 15
Hi Mel and thanks for your response.
__________________
md99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 01:25 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
md99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 15
I will try the gen tonight and reply back. I installed new GFI while on house plug and it set but popped when what seemed to be the condensor on the fridge kicked in? not sure. The problem still seems to be there but with the new GFI plug being new it seems to take longer for it to trip I am thinking
__________________
md99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 01:39 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,799
Ok there is a chance the GFCI needs replacement but here is a suggested procedure

First UNPLUG everything... IF the unit now holds plug things back in one device at a time... Eventually you may hear a click.. If you do label that device SUSPECT #1 Unplug it, re-set and continue till again it goes CLICK

Suggestion 1st thing to plug in is TV.. That way you can turn it on and if you fail to hear the CLICK well you might notice the silence from the TV speakers.

IF the GFCI fails to hold with everything unplugged unplug from shore power and step outside... Remove the cover from the patio outlet.

Full of water.. Clean, Dry, Replace, Re-seal plug in an reset GFCI
IF it holds.. problem solved.

Dry INSPECT and re-seal

Then go into RV and pull GFCI,, inspect connections

Two sets of wires hook up to it IN and OUT,, Identify OUT and disconnect Cap or tape off Plug in and re-test If it holds you have a job on your hands (Post and we will cover it) IF it fails.. Replace GFCI. and re-test

NOTE you must plug in to re test but UNPLUG before messing with wires.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 01:51 PM   #6
Senior Member - DIYer
 
Waiter21's Avatar


 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 3,375
MD99, Sounds like you may have narrowed it down to the frig.

How old is the frig? Look at the plugs and outlets to make sure they aren't wet or have any signs of corrosion on them.


I don't think I would bypass the GFCI, but I would probably either get an isolation transformer for the frig (these might cost more than a new frig)

Or possibly run a new outlet circuit from your panel to specifically feed the frig, i.e. add a new outlet.
__________________
1999 Fleetwood Southwind 35S (Ford F53 6.8L V10) - Toad 2003 Saturn Vue.
(www.1999Southwind.com)

It won't do MACH 2, but I can get a sandwich and take a pee.
Waiter21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 01:56 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
mccrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 352
2 times my GFI started tripping replaced it the first time with the same results GFI not bad. Did the unplug everything test found the trouble to be in the ice maker in my Norcold bad heating element. Second time frost build up on ice maker wouldn't let motor run to pop out ice cubes. First place I would start is unplug the ice maker in the back of the fridge
__________________
Bob & Elaine McClelland and the spoiled pup Izzie
2008 Monaco Diplomat
Desert Hills & Parker Az
mccrob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2015, 02:31 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Chuck48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 133
Md99,
A refrigerator shouldn't be plugged into a GFI receptical. On my Diplomat there are two plugs behind the refrigerator, one for the Ice maker that goes through the inverter and the other for the refrigerator. If you have two plugs, determine which one is on the same circuit with the bathroom GFI and switch it to the other plug. If you only have one plug and it goes through the bath GFI, I would run another receptical not on the GFI to power the refrigerator. Good luck!
Chuck
__________________
Chuck48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2015, 07:55 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
md99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 15
I greatly appreciate your input Chuck and I will look into that. Thank you very much.
__________________

__________________
md99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2002 Power stroke glow plug issues 2000 Damon Powerstroke Engine Forum 10 01-01-2015 01:00 PM
Vortec 8.1 Radiator Drain Plug Drifterpilot Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 8 10-29-2014 07:42 AM
Coach Electric Plug Melted? Mrfoto Class C Motorhome Discussions 2 06-14-2014 10:41 PM
50 amp male plug replacement Smsudad RV Systems & Appliances 15 06-07-2014 06:34 PM
50 amp plug tbbg II Newmar Owner's Forum 7 07-10-2013 08:10 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.