Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-03-2014, 05:46 PM   #1

Winnebago Owners Club
Batteries are run down and need charging

I'm new to the motorhome world and bought a 2001 Winnebago 36DL. Love the coach. We have it stored outside in a storage lot, and after this very cold winter, I went to start the MH and the engine would not start. Engine battery shows 11.5 volts and coach battery shows 8.5. I tried to start the onboard generator and it wouldn't start either. My question is, can I use a portable generator, connected to shore line just to recharge the batteries? Any comments and suggestions are welcome.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-03-2014, 05:55 PM   #2

Workhorse Chassis Owner
Yes, you could do that, or even just get a jump from a running vehicle to the chassis battery.

The problem is all your batteries are now ruined. None of them are made for going flat - it sulfites the plates and they won't hold a charge now.