Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2014, 06:41 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Youngsville, La
Posts: 3
Question Battery change out

Has anyone ever changed batteries in a 2006 Phaeton QSH? We just got this RV (new to us) and I'm afraid I'm on a steep learning curve. My batteries appear to be fully charged but still can't open slide-outs. A few friends say it's the battery amp hour capacity causing this problem. The batteries may be 8 years old so it may be time to change them out. Anyone run across the problem before?
__________________

__________________
Biker_Frank
Biker_Frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-20-2014, 06:49 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Tha_Rooster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Georgia
Posts: 4,517
I'd say if they are fully charged that's not the problem although they are getting some age. Are you suppose to have your rig running or just the key on. Have you tried plugging it in? Are they trying to come out if not possible fuse.
__________________

__________________
2007 Fleetwood Revolution LE 40V
Tha_Rooster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 06:54 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
donhoward49's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 868
Way different coaches, But, mine says to have the engine running when putting slides in or out.
__________________
2004 National Sea Breeze LX8375, Towing a 2012 Liberty.
donhoward49 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 05:01 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
jtermini30's Avatar


 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Henrico, VA
Posts: 421
Mine requires the rig to be running as well when the slides are operating.


2009 Fleetwood Expedition 38F
2013 Scion XB toad

Sent from my iPhone using iRV2 - RV Forum
__________________
Good things come to those that wait.
jtermini30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 05:42 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 43
Mine can't be running for the slides to work.
__________________
nogoats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 09:32 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
scenic route's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,767
Also, some slides require the parking brake to be set.
__________________
Jan and Bob

RIP 'Squeaky'
scenic route is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 09:35 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
wydeglyde's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 122
Different motorhome, but ours requires the air levelling system power to be turned first.
__________________
2008 Travel Supreme Insignia, hydralift
2011 Jeep Wrangler, M&G Braking
2012 H-D FLTRX
wydeglyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2014, 09:43 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
camaraderie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 332
If none of the above work and you think it is batteries...remove the negative post coming from your battery bank for 24 hours. Then measure with a voltmeter at the BATTERY posts for voltage. A good reading would be 12.6V or better. A bad reading would be 12.2V or less. Something in between is showing wear.
Frankly...I doubt it is your batteries...unless they are really dead, you should be seeing something TRYING to happen...but it is a useful exercise for you anyway...and you should check the distilled water levels while you're there!
Good luck!
__________________
Cam... Georgetown 280DS 2015
Vespa Lx150 2013 Stella Auto125 2014
camaraderie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 07:31 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Cat320's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
American Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,761
Mine says to have the engine running, but they work fine with it off.
__________________
2014 American Eagle 45T
DD 500
Pulling a Honda CRV
Cat320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2014, 07:47 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,946
I continue to be fascinated by the statement: "engine must be running to deploy slides," really????? Can someone give me the definitive explanation of why your engine has to be running--I am all ears on this one.
Ignition on/aux, HWH on, jacks down, parking brake on, interlock disengaged, etc., are just some of the protocals for slide ops--suggest you find a local RV expert to survey your rig with you. Eight year old bats [wet cell] are at or near the end of their useful life but think we are all mostly guessing about your particular situation.
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2014, 12:56 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
chboone's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Horse Town USA, CA.
Posts: 2,934
The slide motor is a heavy drain on the batteries causing a voltage drop. With the engine running the alternator is supplying power to the batteries making it easier on the slide motor. At least that's the way it works on my coach. My slide operates fine just on the batteries alone. However, with the shore line connected or the engine running I can tell the difference.

Chuck
__________________
1999 35 ft. Dolphin 5350,F53 Chassis Chassis build date 1/99, Banks System, 5 Stars Tune, Air Lift Air Bags front & rear, Koni Shocks,Blue OX TruCenter,TigerTrak track bars front & rear, Roadmaster 1-3/4" rear auxiliary sway bar,2004 F450 Lariat 6.0 Diesel Crew Cab DRW with B & W Custom Truck Bed, 1994 36 ft. Avion 5th Wheel
chboone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2014, 08:00 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Melmoses's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Montgomery, AL
Posts: 1,196
On my 2009 Phaeton, my slides won't operate with the engine running but I do have to have the key turned to accessory. Different years were wired differently unfortunately. So my suggestion is to plug in the coach, turn the key to accessory and then try to open the electric slides. Over on the Tiffin RV Network it seems there are a lot of combinations for the different model years. Key on accessory, engine running, etc. However, I will say this, if those batteries are 8 years old they probably need replacing for sure. My first set died at 4 years because I let them drain too low too many times while boondocking before I became educated to set the inverter to start the generator when they reach 12.0 volts. They may charge fully but won't hold a charge for any length of time.
__________________
Mel (Melanie) and Harry
2009 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH
2014 Jeep Wrangler Sport
Melmoses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2014, 08:31 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
greatlakes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 554
My front slide will operate with engine on or off. However my rear slide will not operate with engine running. Not sure why. But I like to have shore power on because it does pull some juice.
Oh also found out my front slide will not operate if someone leaves a basement door on that side open. Won't mention any names.
__________________
Rob
2000 Monaco Windsor Cummins 330
greatlakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2014, 09:11 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
TBS-POPS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Valley Springs, Ca
Posts: 368
Bottom line, batteries 8 years old need to be replaced. 4 years is iffy, 5 years pushing the limit, 8 is living on borrowed time with no ability to store amperage. Plug into shore power or run generator to operate slides.
__________________

__________________
2018 Vilano 375FL
2017 F-350 CC DRW 6.7
TBS-POPS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Large power draw on chassis battery '94 Kountry Star omegacanuck Newmar Owner's Forum 54 01-31-2016 09:22 PM
My Aux Start Battery Switch Is Not Working Yellowboat Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 14 04-06-2014 09:01 AM
Easy House Battery Replacement Gadget Man Class A Motorhome Discussions 3 04-04-2014 06:14 PM
Battery issues Bill Dean Monaco Owner's Forum 8 03-06-2014 11:22 PM
Looking for help re: battery cable routing, '04 TropiCal mbrandt1402 National RV Owner's Forum 3 07-04-2013 12:53 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.