RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login

Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-19-2019, 09:54 AM   #1

Battery charging abuse by the numbers

I am a newbie Class A owner but have a lot of experience with batteries, enough to call myself a battery geek (career in electronics).
I have a typical battery set, 4 GC2 6v batteries with a total 450 AH rating @ 12V. The Magmun Inverter charger is capable of delivering 2000 watts which is 148 amps at 13.5vdc.
The controller has the ability to do three stage charging, Bulk absorption and float.

After a day of discharging when I start the generator the battery set gets hit with 100 amps and holds well above 70 amps for quite some time depending on its state of discharge. Magmun was set to 80%.

But here are the battery manufacture charging numbers. For a 450AH set the max charge rate shall not exceed c/10 or 45 amps. That means the charger must be set to a 30% charge and if the house is using some 12v power I could add some more. This bulk charge is to last 1 hour.

Then the absorption time is to be 2-4 hours before switching to float.

More numbers; Bulk charging voltage is 14.8, Absorption is 14.8 and Float is 13.4

So in 5 hours I can get about a 50% recharge. This tells me I need to know how much total power was used and monitor the charging times. Not doing so will either over or under charge the battery. Running the generator for a couple hours will not be enough. Letting 100 amps charge rate will destroy the battery over time by heating it up, boiling off the fluid and potentially blow it up.