Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 03-12-2014, 09:28 PM   #1

Monaco Owners Club
Battery charging help

I am new to the RV world and bought a 2000 Monaco Windsor. I'm trying to learn how the house batteries charge since they seem to discharge rather quickly. I have tested the batteries and seem ok, 6.5V after a 12 hr charge then ran the microwave for 1.5 min with the inverter and they read 6.2V. I started the generator and confirmed the batteries charged. I then plugged in shore power and confirmed they charged. The last check was starting the engine and they do not charge. I tried with the inverter on and off and no change. I searched this site and most topics I find confirm the engine will charge the house batteries.

Any clues as to why the house batteries don't charge with the engine running?

AF4J is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-12-2014, 09:53 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus