Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2012, 09:21 AM   #1
Member
 
mlynch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 66
Brake Buddy Wireless Monitor

Anybody having trouble syncronizing their Brake Buddy wireless monitor. I followed the instruction but am not sure whether I'm letting it synch long enough. Suggestions?

Mike
__________________

__________________
mlynch is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-01-2012, 05:44 PM   #2
Member


 
Winnebago Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Lynden WA
Posts: 45
I had to mount the antenna in the toad so the wite was vertical. I have it clipped to the dash. I have tested it with the sensitivity set at 6, but I run it at 3 because I don't want the brakes coming on every time I gear down. I also only tow a Saturn wagon which is pretty light.

Marc
__________________

__________________
marcusf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 06:00 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
lllkrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,685
Hope your remote lasts longer than mine. Never could get it to receive in the MH and after two seasons it died completely. Brake Buddy said "sorry out of warranty, we will sell you another one for $60". I said no thanks!! Haven't missed it since.
__________________
lllkrob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 06:50 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
thomaspryan's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Downers Grove, IL
Posts: 236
I have a Brake Buddy Classic and I did have trouble getting the signal from the toad to the motorhome (Fleetwood Discovery 36t). If I pulled the toad alongside, it works fine, so distance is definitely an issue.

I called Brake Buddy and they told me the problem is probably in the motorhome, not the toad. They said interference from satellite radio or a navigation system is usually the culprit. I have both.

The suggested solution was to get a 12v extension cable and move the BB receiver away from any potential interference. So I went to Walmart and bought a 10 foot coiled 12v extension. After some debate, we tried hanging the receiver from the passenger side visor, which is probably 6 feet off the floor in our coach.

Worked like a charm. Problem solved. I was able to fine tune the Brake Buddy sensitivity on our first trip and it's been performing like a champ ever since.

Lesson learned: when in doubt, call the manufacturer.
__________________
thomaspryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 09:19 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
62_inrightlane's Avatar
 
Forest River Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Florida / Georgia / Michigan
Posts: 481
I have the Brake Buddy Vantage and have no issue with wireless communication between the unit and the wireless control unit in the MH. I have the control unit mounted on the drivers side control panel. My MH is 38' so maybe that helps.
__________________
Marc & Jan
Molly, Abby & Katie | The Cocker K-9 Kids!|Toad 2014 Cadillac SRX
2012 Berkshire 360FWS, Brake Buddy Vantage|Wineguard Travler SK-3005 |TST 507 TPMS
62_inrightlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2012, 09:25 PM   #6
Community Moderator
 
bdickson's Avatar


 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Wherever the rig is parked
Posts: 7,410
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlynch View Post
Anybody having trouble syncronizing their Brake Buddy wireless monitor. I followed the instruction but am not sure whether I'm letting it synch long enough. Suggestions?

Mike
I have to "wake up" the wireless remote. I think its because I use the 12v cable and no battery, so the on/off switch is inop. What I do is press the Mode switch 3 times. First time, no lights. Second time, Full lights up. Third time, Proportional lights up, which is what I use. I do a brake test either in the campground or on the first straight, empty road. If I don't wake up the remote, the red Braking light does not come on.
__________________

__________________
Bruce Dickson 2013 Thor Challenger 37GT, 5 Star Tune, Safe-T-Plus Steering Control with Air Trim, Roadmaster front and rear Sway Bars, SuperSteer rear Track Bar, Crossfires, 2012 Honda CRV on Blue Ox Aventa LX tow bar. Full timers since Jan 2012.
bdickson is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.