Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-02-2015, 10:35 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
slemnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 811
Brake controller setup for car hauler trailer with DP

I just purchased a 23' car hauler to tow behind the motorhome. It has a 10k lb rating. How do I set the controller? I can't let the trailer stop the motorhome like I would with the trailer behind a pickup truck. What do you guys with trailers do? Do you even use a brake controller? I have a 42ft with a tag axle, 2 speed Jake.
Steve
__________________

__________________
slemnah is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-02-2015, 12:21 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
rgvtexan's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: NE WA or S TX
Posts: 2,232
I have a tilt-bed open car hauler, and set the brakes just below lock-up. Have a Prodigy controller.
__________________

__________________
04 Horizon QD, 12 Ford Flex, Excalibar, Brakemaster, Winter Texan, RVin! since 1974
Norm, Donna & Tinker Kat 74 MGB-GT, 75 MGB, 01 Z3
Life is a Timed Event, you only get One Go Around!
rgvtexan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 12:25 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Gearhead383's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Midwest
Posts: 188
Steve,
I would think the best answer to your question is… as per manufactures instructions.
Example:
1.Drive tow vehicle and trailer on a dry level paved surface at 25 mph and fully apply manual Knob
2. If trailer brakes lock up: Turn power down using Power Buttons.
3 If braking was not sufficient:Turn power up using Power Buttons.
4. Repeat Step (1) until power has been set to a point just below wheel lock up or at a sufficient force as to achieve maximum braking power.

This is the procedure I use whether it's the pickup truck or motor home pulling the trailer. Good Luck
__________________
Ron & Lara
03 H/R Endeavor 34PBD -330 ISC
Gearhead383 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 12:27 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
tankcj's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 932
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgvtexan View Post
I have a tilt-bed open car hauler, and set the brakes just below lock-up. Have a Prodigy controller.
I do the same. (OP) Be sure to test when loaded. Your controller instructions should tell you to roll out at about 15-20mph and apply the brake controller lever (override) to the full amount. When it locks up the brakes, adjust the bias back a bit.
__________________
2008 Beaver Contessa 40' Pacifica 425 Cat
2011 Jeep Rubicon
2012 Ram 2500 CTD CC 4WD
tankcj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2015, 12:34 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
YIKES, YES!

You definitely need an electric brake controller if the trailer indeed has electric brakes NOT surge brakes.

Any trailer over a certain combined weight needs brakes whether they are surge or electric.

I just recently switch from a Prodigy P2 to a Prodigy P3. Either one is good but the P3 has some distinct advantages over the P2.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 07:34 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
slemnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 811
Does anyone know where the brake light pressure sensor is located on a Monaco S series chassis? Mine is a 2005 Safari. Is there an easier place to tie into to get the brake light signal for the brake controller?
Steve
__________________
slemnah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 09:59 AM   #7
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by slemnah View Post

Does anyone know where the brake light pressure sensor is located on a Monaco S series chassis? Mine is a 2005 Safari. Is there an easier place to tie into to get the brake light signal for the brake controller?
Steve
Unfortunately, Safari probably wired their coaches differently than Monaco I believe.

I have been recently helping a 2006 Beaver Coach owner with his improperly wired Prodigy where every time he activates his Exhaust Brake it also activates the Prodigy Brake Controller. This is NOT good as it will burn up his trailer brakes quickly.

The fix he got from Monaco was to remove a wire from a certain relay which will NOT activate the brakes lights when his Exhaust Brakes are activated. That is also not a good idea based on DOT recommendations.

Steve, I am not that far from you and in fact I go to Santa Clarita a lot for different doctors, dentist appointments plus to do some shopping.

I would be willing to stop and assist you in locating the correct place to hookup your service brake trigger.

If your coach has two boxes in the FRB labeled Monaco Box #1 and Monaco Box #2 then it will be a piece of cake but Safari may have done things differently.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 12:10 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
draboo's Avatar
 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: May 2013
Location: North Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 249
I m getting one of these: Prodigy Wireless Brake Controller

It can be switched between toads and towers easily.
__________________
Brad and Pat, the Dad and Mom-Dawgs with Kiddo and Dinah-Mite, the Dawter-Dawgs full timin' in our 2002 HR Neptune DP with 2015 Indian Scout Toad
draboo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 12:11 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
slemnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 811
Richard, here is a picture of my front wiring box. Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByiRV2 - RV Forum1422987110.035445.jpg
Views:	99
Size:	96.5 KB
ID:	85067
__________________
slemnah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 01:50 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
tankcj's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 932
Quote:
Originally Posted by slemnah View Post
Does anyone know where the brake light pressure sensor is located on a Monaco S series chassis? Mine is a 2005 Safari. Is there an easier place to tie into to get the brake light signal for the brake controller?
Steve
Do you know if you have a connector for a trailer brake controller (TBC) somewhere under your dash. I called Monaco and they told me what to look for on mine.

Do you know if the brake lights come on when you use the EB?

If you have a connector for the TBC and your brake lights do not come on when using the EB, this could be easily solved.
__________________
2008 Beaver Contessa 40' Pacifica 425 Cat
2011 Jeep Rubicon
2012 Ram 2500 CTD CC 4WD
tankcj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 04:14 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
slemnah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Santa Clarita, CA
Posts: 811
Monaco didn't start running the wires until the 06/07 time period. Will have to run the wire myself.
Steve
__________________
slemnah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 06:16 PM   #12
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Steve,

Upon first look it is nothing like what I have in my 2002 Windsor. But that just means that things have changed since 02 and 05.

I will zoom in on your photo to look around a bit.

Here is my FRB. Monaco Box #2 with the Grey Plug and the Blue wire tap is the brake trigger pickup for the Prodigy.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Front Run Bay Electrical Panel.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	95.3 KB
ID:	85098   Click image for larger version

Name:	Gray Plug-02.jpg
Views:	43
Size:	71.0 KB
ID:	85099  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Monaco Box #2 in FRB-02.JPG
Views:	51
Size:	92.4 KB
ID:	85100  
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 06:18 PM   #13
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 9,279
Steve.... I started to wire one up for a neighbor with a Monaco, but just about any DP without a prewire is a pain. I think some have had better luck using a wireless system. With that said, I found the Monaco had only about 3-4 volts at the brake pressure sensor when the brakes were applied. I was going to use a relay, wire it to the sensor to trigger 12 volts to the brake controller. The neighbor decided to run without brakes.
__________________
Don & Mary
2014 Newmar Dutch Star - All Electric - 450 ISL
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2015, 06:31 PM   #14
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Quote:
Originally Posted by slemnah View Post

Richard, here is a picture of my front wiring box. Attachment 85067
Resolution is too low to see anything when zoomed into the circuit boards.

Good luck with your search!

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________

__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
brake



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brake controller question?? RonaldAG Monaco Owner's Forum 6 01-31-2015 04:17 PM
Bounder: Brake controller choice rmueller Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 18 09-03-2014 09:36 PM
88 Fleetwood Limited Parking Brake jmerritt Vintage RV's 1 05-29-2014 09:16 PM
Trailer brake controller plug? jdporter221 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 2 01-16-2014 07:46 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.