Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2015, 10:03 AM   #57
Senior Member
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 6,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpinvidic View Post
Why not add a separate heavy gauge wire and relay of your own?
Remove the power lead from the bulb to drive the relay. Now the chassis circuit is no longer overloaded.
Your new circuit should have less voltage drop.
All this can be done on the firewall.
Use a thermal fuse in this circuit also.

Dan
This could be easy or it could be not so easy. It really depends on whether there are any control circuits that monitor the "health" of the lights. Removing the power lead to the bulb as you suggest might trigger unintended consequences. However, if the DRLs are set up to run on the low beams, I think those chances are minimal. OTOH, if the DRLs are on the high beams then all bets are off.
__________________

__________________
Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Guardian GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 DSDP 4320, Spartan MM IFS, 2013 CR-V, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1, Samsung 197R Refer.
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-06-2015, 10:35 PM   #58
Senior Member
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,845
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky_Boss View Post
This could be easy or it could be not so easy. It really depends on whether there are any control circuits that monitor the "health" of the lights. Removing the power lead to the bulb as you suggest might trigger unintended consequences. However, if the DRLs are set up to run on the low beams, I think those chances are minimal. OTOH, if the DRLs are on the high beams then all bets are off.
Valid points. But since he has a 2006 coach, my money is that he does not have those features. It can be easily checked by unplugging a high beam bulb.

Dan
__________________

__________________
2014 40QBH Phaeton DP Cummins 380HP ISL, Freightliner XC, 2014 Jeep Trailhawk TOAD
Blue Ox Aventa tow bar, SMI Air Force One -South Orange County Ca.
dpinvidic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2015, 11:20 PM   #59
Senior Member
 
Sky_Boss's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: ON THE ROAD...SOMEWHERE
Posts: 6,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpinvidic View Post
Valid points. But since he has a 2006 coach, my money is that he does not have those features. It can be easily checked by unplugging a high beam bulb.

Dan
Maybe, maybe not but my 2006 coach does have all those features. That is why the OP needs to know if there is any kind of control module and what it does to figure out the best way around it.

However, unplugging the high beams only might provide an important clue. Good thought.

BTW...my system monitored low beams and if both low beams were inoperative it would automatically put the DRLs on high beams. Go figure. LOL However, since I didn't have the same problem I don't know what it would have done if both high beams appeared inoperative but low beams normal.

One other BTW...when I originally tried to use the low beam power to drive my ballasts the system appeared to think they were inoperative and wouldn't even allow 12.8+ volts to reach them. That is what caused me to have to redo the entire wiring system to bypass the controller.
__________________

__________________
Don, Sandee & GSD Zeus. Guardian GSDs Gunny (7/11/15) & Thor (5/5/15)
2006 DSDP 4320, Spartan MM IFS, 2013 CR-V, Blue Ox Avail, SMI AF1, Samsung 197R Refer.
Sky_Boss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
lights



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Headlights DebnDan Class A Motorhome Discussions 18 01-08-2015 06:50 PM
Loss of Power jeepersrus Cummins Engines 20 09-23-2014 12:52 AM
Headlights: strength and excessive draw Durabil Class A Motorhome Discussions 4 09-17-2014 02:23 PM
07 Endeavor Headlights Died fastcat Monaco Owner's Forum 12 08-21-2014 06:51 PM
Where did they get these headlights? thrushl Class A Motorhome Discussions 15 06-04-2014 07:19 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.