Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-28-2015, 02:28 PM   #15
Community Moderator
 
JMonroe's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Deer Creek RV and Golf Resort, Davenport FL
Posts: 6,855
We used to be able to use two A/C units on our Tiffin on 30 amps (and on our current coach, but not all three)
__________________

__________________
Jay & Peggy Monroe with Dolly
Can't take it with you - don't plan on leaving any behind
2016 Newmar London Aire 4553, Spartan chassis
2017 GMC Acadia toad
JMonroe is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-28-2015, 06:52 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Harry B's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Central Florida
Posts: 1,019
I have three 15000 btu AC units. Each unit draws 16 amps. That is just to much to run two units on a 30 amp circuit. It would have been better if the middle unit was 13000 btu unit, then I would be able to run two units on a 30 amp circuit.
Project for the future I guess - replace the middle 15000 btu AC with a 13000 btu unit 😁
__________________

__________________
Harry
2015 Tuscany 40 KQ
2013 Honda CR-V
Harry B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2015, 07:11 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Steverino's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central PA
Posts: 257
A word of caution - I had a bad experience when ordering a replacement rooftop air unit (Coleman) from an RV parts supplier. Price was good, however the box wasn't up to the rigors of shipping. The A/C unit was pretty beat up inside the falling-apart box. Due to an impending trip departure, I ended up straightening the bent chassis and using it anyway. Been working fine for two summers now, so all's well I guess.

But IMHO if you're ordering online it's worth asking how it's packaged for shipping. Were I to do it again, I might buy locally - it might be worth the extra $$ just so that I could inspect it before accepting it at the store. That way returning a bent-up unit would be the store's problem and not mine...
__________________
Steve & Carol

2000 Jayco 3230K Designer
Steverino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2015, 02:15 PM   #18
Member
 
capnj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray,IN View Post
How did you run the wiring to the roof openings? I suspect through the roof ducting, but you may have a better way.
The power was fed from the existing basement air breakers at the foot of bed . Went forward under carpet ,removed a panel in forward wall and then up to ceiling and into overhead central air duct on driver side. Ran a set of dead wires from breaker box all the way to front of coach, also inside ductwork, just in case we later decided we wanted to add a third unit. More than likely not going to need it , but already in place . the thermostat wires are small, like telephone wires so they were easy to install behind the panel. the thermostat will handle up to 4 units so no problem there. hardest part was finding latches for outside compartment. Correction on my previous posts: Work was done by Texas Country RV, Canyon Lake ,TX. ,( Not Canyon Lake RV.) Joe Ruff is the owner and very capable.
__________________
capnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 09:10 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Vectraguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 153
I just dont understand this, my Vectra is 20 years old and on a 20 amp outlet we could hang meat in the coach last July 4th with only one side running? Maybe its because we are still running the older evil Freon that actually works versus the new stuff. If ours dies I will re-invent the wheel to repair it before I throw a roof AC on my coach and have water running down the sides and listen to those things shake the roof. If I want that Ill go back to a travel trailer. Sorry to sound negative but is it really that hard to find someone that really knows what they are doing to fix a technology that's nearly 100 years old?
__________________
1996 Winnebago Vectra Grand Tour 35WQ-P
5.9 6bt 12 valve MD3060/6
Vectraguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2015, 09:40 AM   #20
Member
 
capnj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vectraguy View Post
I just dont understand this, my Vectra is 20 years old and on a 20 amp outlet we could hang meat in the coach last July 4th with only one side running? Maybe its because we are still running the older evil Freon that actually works versus the new stuff. If ours dies I will re-invent the wheel to repair it before I throw a roof AC on my coach and have water running down the sides and listen to those things shake the roof. If I want that Ill go back to a travel trailer. Sorry to sound negative but is it really that hard to find someone that really knows what they are doing to fix a technology that's nearly 100 years old?
There are a lot of things in this world we don't understand friend. But one thing I understand, is that I fix, or have fixed, things the way I want them. We can still run one unit on 20 amp and will cool very nicely, but I don't really care , as we only use 30 amp at our sticks and stucco and 50amp when on the road. My post was meant for those thinking about changing ,not those who would never change. Who knows what another 20 yrs. technology will bring? I hope you will be here to see, I'm pretty sure I will not.
__________________
JIM & Martha ,rescue buddies ,Bacon & Molly ,2006 Itasca Meridian CAT 350, Jeep Wrangler tow.
capnj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2015, 10:24 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
JohnBoyToo's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: May 2012
Location: DFW, Tex-US
Posts: 4,842
We actually LIKE the noise the overhead makes

In fact, we usually have the bedroom unit on fan even when using the other two as heat pumps...

It's the old constant white noise versus the dead silence and the unit cycles on and off or when things go bump in the night thingy

people partying later than us ,
coming into the next site late at night,
storms during the night, etc...
I know I would enjoy quiet, but even when we are in the middle of nowhere, it's never seems quiet where we end up.
__________________
'11 Monaco Diplomat 43DFT RR10R pushed by a '14 Jeep Wrangler JKU. History.. 5'ers: 13 Redwood 38gk, 11 MVP Destiny, Open Range TT, popups, vans, tents...
JohnBoyToo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2015, 12:16 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Kiwi's Avatar
 
LA Gulf Coast Campers
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Picayune, MS (New Orleans)
Posts: 423
Put me in the NEVER AGAIN camp for basement air. Here are some facts:
1) Duct runs up rear cap to ceiling distribution. Humidity cause that rear duct to open. Repair required removing the rear cap. Could have bought a roof air just for that cost.
2) Any A/C guy with a set of gauges and a vacuum pump can repair a roof unit. They look at the basement air and run.
3) Storage is a premium, no matter how you travel and in what. Why take a big chunk of basement for something that travels well on the roof.
4) The basement unit was right under my pillow. I would rather deal with the overhead purrrrr than that.
5) My Newmar with ducted roof air is awesome in both performance and ease of access.
__________________
36' Itasca Meridian DP, now 2005 Newmar Scottsdale 34' Gas
Kiwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2015, 08:48 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
Vectraguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 153
My ac did not run up the rear cap. But, with slide outs being placed everywhere I can see why manufacturer's had to end up going that route and are now using more roof air.
__________________
1996 Winnebago Vectra Grand Tour 35WQ-P
5.9 6bt 12 valve MD3060/6
Vectraguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2016, 01:47 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
Duner's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Fulltiming now in- Menifee, CA
Posts: 1,225
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vectraguy View Post
My ac did not run up the rear cap. But, with slide outs being placed everywhere I can see why manufacturer's had to end up going that route and are now using more roof air.
off topic, but really curious, your duct work goes up inside the outer wall?

If so, it's too bad they didn't do them all that way. The ducting should last a long time compared to the inside the rear cap where the temps are extreme for the metal tape to hold well for a long time.
__________________
Bill (Dune'r) & Helen
Last of the Chieftains, 2004 39T, W22, Banks Headers, Koni's, Safe-T-Plus, SMI brake
2017 Lincoln MKZ Hybrid towed 4-down
https://www.irv2.com/attachments/signaturepics/sigpic23522_1.gif]
Duner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2016, 10:35 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Vectraguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duner View Post
off topic, but really curious, your duct work goes up inside the outer wall?

If so, it's too bad they didn't do them all that way. The ducting should last a long time compared to the inside the rear cap where the temps are extreme for the metal tape to hold well for a long time.
The Vectra Grand Tour had a chase that ran up from under the kitchen cabinets, to behind the spice rack and coffee maker and into the ceiling duct. You really cant see it but it's nearly centrally located to the coach. The cold air return goes in at the toe kick panel at the kitchen sink.
__________________

__________________
1996 Winnebago Vectra Grand Tour 35WQ-P
5.9 6bt 12 valve MD3060/6
Vectraguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Basement Air Low Temp Setting?????????? winnie32v Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 3 08-10-2015 09:11 AM
Basement Air problems in Journey 2010 Arrived1 Class A Motorhome Discussions 10 12-20-2014 12:24 PM
Journey 2010 Class A and Basement Air? Arrived1 Class A Motorhome Discussions 16 12-16-2014 01:54 PM
Roof air vs basement air Texbeachbum RV Systems & Appliances 34 08-28-2014 10:06 PM
Low Air presure - Park Brake iamduane Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 15 05-07-2014 05:49 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.