Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2011, 12:37 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2
Cable TV

My husband and I recently purchased a 2003 Winnebago Sightseer 30B. During our 1st trip, we realized we are only able to view TV through our antenna, not cable. Digital converter boxes are connected to the front tv and back tv. Can anyone advise what we need to do to make sure we have the capability of connecting to cable at a campground?
__________________

__________________
lilrascals is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-03-2011, 12:46 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
RickO's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Litchfield Park, Arizona
Posts: 10,530
First of all...

Does your rig have a connection outside to hook up the the CG cable? Do you have a video control box inside to select between antenna, cable and maybe satellite and/or VCR/DVD?

I'm sure some of our experts will chime in soon with more direct knowledge of your year and model coach.

Best of luck...

Rick
__________________

__________________
Rick, Nancy, Peanut & Lola our Westie Dogs & Bailey the Sheltie.

2007 Itasca Ellipse 40FD
RickO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 12:57 PM   #3
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,753
Welcome to irv2 illirascals to irv2.
You can purchase from one of our vendors a Wingman Ant that snaps on your existing ant for digital reception.
Enjoy the forums and do post often.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 01:03 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
RJay's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,589
There should be a cable tv connection outlet in your oustide power bay, that's the compartment that houses you power cable. There should also be a cable tv connection on your power pedestal. If you run a CATV cable from the power pedestal to the outlet in your power compartment you should have cable tv. Just be sure to turn off the amplifier on the batwing (external antenna). You may have to push a couple of buttons on your video control center over the driver seat.
__________________
2007 Newmar DSDP 4023
Discovery is seeing what everyone else has seen and thinking what no one else has thought.
If you want to see what man made go East; if you want to see what God made go West.
RJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2011, 07:04 PM   #5
paz
Senior Member
 
paz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 4,716
Hi lilrascals, welcome to iRV2.

I'm assuming you have the cable attached to the proper receptacle on the outside of the coach, and if you have a Winegard selector switch that it is wired properly.

If your converter boxes are wired in directly before the TVs, there's a possibility they may be blocking the cable signal if they don't have an analog pass through feature. Sometime when you're hooked up to cable, try disconnecting the coax that goes into one of the converters and connecting it directly to the TV. If the TV works on cable without the converter, you will either need buy new converters with analog pass through or wire your own bypass around the converter with a an A-B switch for use when you want to watch cable.
__________________
2015 DRV Tradition 375KPS
2015 Chevy Duramax 3500HD LTZ Dually
Full-timers...Home is where we park it.
Check out our blog: Living Our Dream
paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 11:19 AM   #6
Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 39
My converter boxes must be turned off to use the cable hook up.
__________________
AISTQM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 12:18 PM   #7
Member
 
Doodles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hudson florida
Posts: 30
since I did away with the SAT and would like to use out antana would I need two converter boxe have two tv and what about Wingman Ant
__________________
do not count the days make the days count
Doodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 01:20 PM   #8
paz
Senior Member
 
paz's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Full-timers - Home is where we park it.
Posts: 4,716
Quote:
Originally Posted by AISTQM View Post
My converter boxes must be turned off to use the cable hook up.
Good point. Turning them off activates the analog pass-through feature allowing the cable signal to get through to the TV.

lilrascals - also note that if you have an amplified antenna (typical Winegard "Batwing" antenna), the button for the amplifier may also have to be turned off to receive cable.
__________________
2015 DRV Tradition 375KPS
2015 Chevy Duramax 3500HD LTZ Dually
Full-timers...Home is where we park it.
Check out our blog: Living Our Dream
paz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 01:24 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
DRosedale's Avatar
 
Texas Boomers Club
Forest River Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 702
You got some good advice, but I wanted to welcome to the forum. Good luck and many safe miles.
__________________
2011 Coachmen Concord, Ford E450
DRosedale, BRosedale and Yorkies, Max, Molly, Harley
Pineville, LA
DRosedale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 02:20 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
randco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doodles View Post
since I did away with the SAT and would like to use out antana would I need two converter boxe have two tv and what about Wingman Ant
If your TV are the older ones, you will need a converter box for each TV. If you have a switch box to select Sat, DVD, TV, etc. connect the converters after the switch box.
__________________
randco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 02:40 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by randco View Post
If your TV are the older ones, you will need a converter box for each TV. If you have a switch box to select Sat, DVD, TV, etc. connect the converters after the switch box.
I put 1 converter box before the front and rear switch box and it works for both tv's in mine
__________________
97windsor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 02:45 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
randco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by 97windsor View Post
I put 1 converter box before the front and rear switch box and it works for both tv's in mine
My Winegard switchbox has a powered amplifier in it. When I hooked it up originally I hooked it up before the switchbox. Got nothing but static. After rewiring and a little work on my antenna wire all is good.
__________________
randco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2011, 05:32 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
There are several possible issues and each has it's own answer.

FIrst there are the digital converters, Some of them have digital pass through, some do not, if they do not then you have to do a work around,, I can help you there. it's easy to build a work around requires only 4 parts per box and 2 of them are coax cables (the other two are a splitter/combiner and a switch, the switch sells for a dollar.

Another posibility is that the park cable may have been re-tasked as a satellite LNB line,, This is not somethign I'd recommend but peple do it.

First quesiton: Describe your TV's "Source" switch, pick one

Wall plate, 12 volt outlet (Big round hole) button, light, antenna connector, optional 2nd antenna connector

OR

Box with many buttons

Then we go to step 2
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2011, 09:44 AM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Albuquerque
Posts: 2
Thank you so much. We have the RV stored right now. Next time we get it out of storage we will inspect everything better. We know it has a cable connection outside of the coach and we have a converter box on both TVs. There are no switch boxes inside at all. So, what we aren't sure about is if when the RV dealership installed the converter boxes for the previous owners, did they disconnect the cable. We will check it all out before the next trip. Thanks again!
__________________

__________________
lilrascals is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
? about cable / digital TV / RV connection. Superslif Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 08-30-2010 08:34 PM
Satellite Cable sparky52 Gulf Stream Owner's Forum 6 04-20-2010 07:36 AM
Cable TV operation sightseers Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 03-31-2009 10:26 PM
Safety Cable Ratings - I'm confused Brian_R1 Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 12 02-09-2009 03:05 PM
How to hook up cable on 1997 Brave 29RQ? peppermintpj1 Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 10 02-18-2006 04:00 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.