Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-07-2012, 08:52 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
cable tv issues 2004 Seabreeze

Does anyone know how to troubleshoot the front TV in a seabreeze motorhome? We have the cable working in the back but cannot get it at the front. It is new, none of the books address it and there are a ton of buttons on the booster. Not sure what we are doing wrong. We can't fit our hands back enough to see if the previous owners have it hooked up right or not. There seems to be only one cable input in the basements and we have that hooked up. The menu on the rca tv comes up so it has power. We can input channels but just get snow on every station. We seem to have tried every combination. Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
kkwithhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-07-2012, 09:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
njs42's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Federal Way, Wa.
Posts: 2,901
Make sure your selector box is on (oblong with buttons for VCR, REAR TV, MAIN TV, AUX) and the button for cable on the main tv is pushed. Use your remote and go to menu on your tv and do the set up and then a channel search. See if that helps.
__________________

__________________
I do all my own stunts
03 Dolphin LX 6355, Workhorse W22, 8.1 vortec, 04 CR-V, Blue Ox, Brake Pro----Norm, Barb and
Doc(He's a PhD)
njs42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 11:27 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
" Cable hook up in the basement "???
Most M/H cable hook ups would be in the power cable bay, and if your coach coax is run like mine, the basement cable hook up is for an outdoor TV, and is a branch of the rear TV coax. You could be hooking cable to the wrong spot and feeding the rear TV only.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2012, 11:29 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
Forgot to do this firstHope we can help with your problems .
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 07:46 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,113
This can be a nightmare for a new owner of a used MH. I'll give you the basics and hopefully you can sort it out.

First you have a cable TV connector in an outside bay for Cable TV at a park. This cable runs to the front TV area. Then you have a cable going to the same place from the outside antenna. These 2 are your inbound signal sourses and imperitive you know which is which.

In addition there, you will have another cable that runs to the rear TV and another to front TV, you may also have a 5th cable that runs to an outside bay to watch TV outside.

If there is a VCR or DVD player, then this complicates matters even more. Then you have a switch box thrown in the mix tying all this together. Depending on age and quality, these can corrode inside and you can lose a lot of signal strength.

If your TV is analog, then you need a digital converter box to get over the air channels. (Note: do not use signal booster with Cable Tv, antenna only).

I was faced with ALL of this, so this is how I proceeded. I removed everything and only left the 5 cables. With TV on, antenna up and booster on, I began to plug each cable into the TV to find the antenna cable then labled it. I had a spliter, so I plugged the antenna cable into that and the front TV into one of the out puts. I then started to connect the other cables one by one to the other output until I found the rear TV and outside TV. Now I knew the last cable was for the inbound Cable TV and of course labled all of them.

Once you get to this point, you know what each cable is for and much easier to proceed from there.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 07:22 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Wow, thanks, yours was the most complete of the answers. We have only found two inputs thus far, but you seem correct about the booster and the switcher. The problem is that we seem to not be able to get to the back plugs because the shelving and shroud are so well built that we might tear it up trying. Once in the the RV again which should be right after xmas, we will bring your messsage in and see if we can do more. I printed yours, thank you again. Forgitve me if I missed someone in thank yous.... I did a thanks to the rest fo the replies but this is our first experience with this type of message thread so hopefully I thanked everyone appropriately. I really really appreciate the help and will post when we figure it all out.
__________________
kkwithhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 07:35 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
clyon51's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Arizona West RV Park, Yuma, Az
Posts: 4,113
Glad it helped some. TV cabling can be a nightmare anywhere. As you work through this, just post questions and progress here.
__________________
John & Clare Lyon
2007 43.5' Monaco Dynasty Palace III (All Electric)
Towd: 2011 Chevy Equinox
clyon51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 07:46 PM   #8
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,726
Welcome to Irv2.
If your box is mounted similar to this one the face plate is screwed into a wood strip behind the faceplate, if you look closely you can see them.


Or There maybe a wood strip screwed into ceiling that has faceplate attached and just needs to have screws removed.
Once you get it loose the faceplate will slip off behind it the VCR and control box maybe Velcro stripped to each other and will be need to separate to get to TV cables behind the control box.
On my control box the 12V power is the most left hand button push a red led will come on to supply the ANT.
Everything in Johns post you need to follow also.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 09:15 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,790
You really do not need to access the cable if you can get to the two ends.

Some folks (prior owner types) have been known to "Re-task" cables and I do not recommend this but it gets done.

IF you are anywhere near UPSTATE SC, (Oconee county) that is where I winter and I'm fairly good at cable tracking. but if now here goes.


If you can pull the box of many buttons (Booster switch I think you called it) out far enough to see the back make sure there is actually a cable connected to the "CABLE" port. if not it's been re-tasked and you wil have to find it (look in the sat receiver compartment or look for a pair of cables "Joined" with a joiner)

Now, to do this right I'd like to use a device called a Terminating resistor but to be honest a paper clip will do. (you can get the resistor at Radio shack)

Disconnect cable from park input.
Unhook the cable, cable from the switch and measure resistance, outer (NUT/Sleeve) to innner (WIRE) should be "open circuit:

Now short or "Terminate" the park cable input (Which as someone said is usually in the power bay)

Again measure the resistance, should be either zero (or near zero) if shorted or 70-something Ohms (72-75) if terminated.

If so hook it back up, cable passed test.

TURN OFF the power switch on the box

Push every other button at least 2 dozen times.

Now try it. make sure you select CABLE for TV-1 and TV-2.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 09:48 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Dunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Phx, Arid~zona
Posts: 11,106
If your 2004 Sea Breeze is a non-LX like mine, forget what some/most of these guys say. I currently own one and have been through this. Google WINEGARD® VIDEO DISTRIBUTION CENTER MODEL VS53DVD/VS5312D, or the model you have, or go here:

http://www.winegard.com/kbase/upload/VS53DVD.pdf

The "On" button on the Winegard video distribution box(BOMB) does not have to be "ON". The BOMB(BOx with Many Buttons) provides power to the bat wing antenna. The "ON" button is a Channel 3/4 modulator for DVD loop-thru.


From the Winegard pdf:

• Built-in +12 VDC TV antenna power supply eliminates
need for separate wall mounted TV antenna power supply.

• Built-in Ch. 3 / 4 modulator for
DVD loop-thru.

I could not get my hand back there and had to remove the glass door, support struts and lower strut mounting brackets(not fun with it sitting on the top of your head and my dog was of no help).

You then use a pointy type object to pop out the 4 plugs in the 2 wood vertical shelf retainers, then remove the 4 dry wall screws. A cordless drill/driver works great for this. Wiggle and turn the retainers and they will come out and you will now be able to slide the shelves part way out. You will probably still need to remove some of the horizontal shelf supports to be able to get your hand in there. Take a flashlight and mirror and write down the input/output order on the back of the BOMB. Use the mirror or your hand to see if the cables go to the desired connectors. The input/outputs are marked pretty much self-explanatory on the back of the BOMB. If it is hooked up right, you will have mess of coax cables going to the right that go to the input, front TV, DVD, outside and rear TV.

The cable input is on the top left in the bay that has your dump valves, not the power bay. It's right near the modular phone jack.

It sounds like the TV may not be set up with "Cable" as the input option. If left without power, it may have defaulted to "Antenna". Set it to cable and do a channel search.

One more thing. If you need to add/replace any of the coax, don't use the push on type. They tend to come off when you are shoving all those cable/components back in there.

Good luck and welcome.
__________________
2004 32' National Sea Breeze 1311 Class A on a F-53 Chassis, CHF, TST TPMS, 5Star Tune.
If Dunner (RVM23) can't fix it, it ain't broke!
Cheap Handling Fix Poll. Click Here to vote?
Dunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 12:02 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Warden's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 158
Cable TV

Quote:
Originally Posted by kkwithhart View Post
Does anyone know how to troubleshoot the front TV in a seabreeze motorhome? We have the cable working in the back but cannot get it at the front. It is new, none of the books address it and there are a ton of buttons on the booster. Not sure what we are doing wrong. We can't fit our hands back enough to see if the previous owners have it hooked up right or not. There seems to be only one cable input in the basements and we have that hooked up. The menu on the rca tv comes up so it has power. We can input channels but just get snow on every station. We seem to have tried every combination. Any ideas?

My Cable TV connection is in the Sewer and water area in the left hand corner of the compartment along with the telephone hookup. I have a 2006 National Sea Breeze 1350
__________________

__________________
Pilot: Tom & Co-Pilot Janet
Pets: Max & Gabby Mini Australian Shepherds
2006 Sea Breeze1350, GOD BLESS THE U.S.A.
Warden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cable TV hook-up rivrduk Class A Motorhome Discussions 11 01-06-2012 02:10 PM
2004 national seabreeze fuse box under hood corrosion Grandpadave Class A Motorhome Discussions 5 12-23-2011 06:05 AM
Safety Cable to Frame Blue Ribbon Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 1 08-14-2009 12:30 PM
Safety Cable Ratings - I'm confused Brian_R1 Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 12 02-09-2009 03:05 PM
Bad Cable Connection Riverdog Travel Trailer Discussion 5 10-24-2007 02:37 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.