Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2016, 01:58 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: .
Posts: 9
Cable TV, lost on how to connect.

We are brand new to the RV world, and when camping two weeks ago, the park we stayed said, they had "free cable tv", well we could never figure out how to connect to cable. Can anyone help? We are wondering if we need a cable box?Don't judge, we are not tech savvy.
__________________

__________________
its.just.me is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-19-2016, 02:08 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
sdennislee's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 6,404
Typically there is a cable connection in one of your basement compartments, on mine it's in the wet bay.

Run a cable from the camps connection to the one in your basement.

There should be a button on the face plate of the cable connection in your coach. This is the connection that runs to the back of your TV. The button is the amplifier, this amplifier must be off to watch cable.

On your TV's menu system there should a search for channels option use this to allow the TV to identify available channels. You will most likely need to do this search at every new campground.
__________________

__________________
US Navy Vet, Liberty Tree Member of Oath Keepers, NRA & VFW Life Member, Alaska EMT.
2009 Safari Cheetah 40 SKQ
2009 Winnebago Chalet 231CR
sdennislee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 02:20 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 854
Most newer RVs have a coax connection point somewhere on the outside of the rig. Normally on the driver's side, but i suppose it could be anywhere. Could be in a compartment as well. You bring your own coax cable, it should have female F connectors on each end, to connect between your rig and the campsite. Not positive, someone can correct me if i'm wrong, but i think that would be all you need to do to get basic cable. Your amplifier should be turned off when hooked to cable.

If your RV doesn't already have an existing connection point, then you would have to either install/run coax for a permanent installation or run a cable through one of the windows to your tv. By the way, they do make a flat cable made for doing just that.
__________________
03 Itasca Sunova, 8.1 Workhorse on a P32 chassis
Mudfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 03:58 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: .
Posts: 9
Thank you so much for your responses. I will show these to my husband to see if it answers his question. We own a Winnebago Vista, only purchased a few weeks ago...so much to learn.
__________________
its.just.me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 04:10 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5,652
FWIW all the units I have seen also have some kind of selector setup to route either the antenna or the cable connection or often a third or fourth source to the input to each TV. Look for the box of many buttons and select the cable as the source for the TV you want to use. Then set the TV tuner to CATV and do a scan for active channels.
__________________
nothermark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 04:26 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Texasranger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by sdennislee View Post
Typically there is a cable connection in one of your basement compartments, on mine it's in the wet bay.

Run a cable from the camps connection to the one in your basement.

There should be a button on the face plate of the cable connection in your coach. This is the connection that runs to the back of your TV. The button is the amplifier, this amplifier must be off to watch cable.

On your TV's menu system there should a search for channels option use this to allow the TV to identify available channels. You will most likely need to do this search at every new campground.
As stated above, Your TV will search for air channels first then cable. It will take a few min.
__________________
2016 Winnebago Journey 40R See Facebook page for Meridian and Journey.
8.9 Cummins,2016 Ford Explorer or 2004 Jeep Rubicon or 2016 corvette on trl, Vietnam Vet
https://www.facebook.com/groups/754742394667329/
Texasranger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 07:30 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: .
Posts: 9
Thank you!

You guys are great, thank you!
__________________
Chari and Rod
2016 Winnebago Vista 31BE
its.just.me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 07:55 AM   #8
YC1
Senior Member
 
YC1's Avatar


 
Holiday Rambler Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5,397
When you use a factory park cable connection you need to turn the amplifier off for the roof mounted antenna. There should be a wall plate the size of a normal light switch with a very small button and tiny light that comes on when there is power going to the roof antenna.

It can be quite complicated if you have the fancy master switch etc.

To take things a step at a time, buy a coax with connectors already on it. Run it through a window and directly to a tv. Then have the tv do a search. It can take a long long time to complete. I mean 15 minutes easily. Or if you can have the tv do a partial search you will know much quicker that it is working.

Once you know the tv is happy, you can then plug the coax into the rv and start chasing switches if necessary.
__________________
Myron & Deborah
08 HR Endeavor 40 SKQ
2012 Ford Edge Limited FWD 3.5L
Aluminator tow bar, Demco base plate
YC1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 08:03 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
FaithBowls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 421
Here are the steps:
1. Buy your own cable
2. Connect cable to park hookup and trailer hookup
3. Turn on tv, go to "settings"
4. Find the tv control panel in your rv. Press button to select "park cable"
5. Go back to tv settings. Select "setup" and "input." Select "cable tv" as your input.
6. Select "scan channels" and "auto scan."
7. Make sure you did step 4, then start auto scan.
8. That's it. Your tv will go through 100 channels and when it's done you should have cable. It can time out and not get all channels if it takes too long (too many channels, for example) if that happens just run the scan again.
__________________
FaithBowls is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 08:07 AM   #10
epj
Senior Member
 
epj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 245
Both the coaches we have owned had the cable connection in the electrical bay, that is the compartment where you hook up your power cable.
__________________
2005 Phaeton 40'
epj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2016, 07:57 PM   #11
Member
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 55
Whenever you run into such a problem, all you have to do is ask someone in the park. I have found that 99 % of rv'ers are very nice and always willing to help each other. This forum is the perfect example. We were all newbies at one time.
__________________
Carl and Debi
'02 Monaco Signature 45' Commander
Roadmaster / ISM
RV Carl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2016, 05:52 AM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: .
Posts: 9
You are all the best

Thank you all very much, for being so helpful. I feel much better about our chances to have the cable working, on our next trip out in a couple weeks.
__________________
Chari and Rod
2016 Winnebago Vista 31BE
its.just.me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2016, 10:22 PM   #13
isa
Senior Member
 
Triple E Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Richmond, B.C., Canada
Posts: 107
If you have an antenna hook up also, then make sure that your antenna amplifier switch is in the OFF position if you are using the cable TV connection.
__________________

__________________
isa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cable size to connect batteries Pexring RV Systems & Appliances 5 07-06-2014 09:55 PM
How do i connect a cable box to my Phaeton Stevetoo Tiffin Motorhomes Owners Forum 6 11-10-2013 09:46 PM
Connect HDMI Cable to Rear of Front HDTV to Use as External Monitor 11595gulf Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 17 07-31-2013 06:33 PM
Lost power cable! Englishman01 Travel Trailer Discussion 4 06-15-2013 02:26 PM
How to connect to cable at campground vbarker536 Class A Motorhome Discussions 6 11-04-2011 07:12 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.