Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-19-2016, 03:07 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
JimmyNeutron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Selmer, TN
Posts: 15
Can I run two A/C units on 30A service?

The coach I just bought has 30A service and two roof a/c units. I was surprised to learn that when I'm on shoreline power, I can run either the front or rear a/c unit, but not both together. Unless I run the second unit on the generator.

I actually have the owner's manual and that's what it says.

My wife, who likes it Han-Solo-carbonite-cold in the bedroom, is greatly concerned about the possible limitations to our a/c situation during our trip to Southern Utah this summer.

I read in this post that my 5.5 Onan should be able to handle both a/c units at once - although that may not apply to me since I'm wired for 30A.

However, since I can run the second a/c on the generator, that's got me thinking that I should be able to install a second shoreline receptacle and a transfer switch to provide that same power to the second a/c unit, without it having to come from the a/c. And I should be able to make the connections all in the basement (as opposed to new wiring all the way to the roof) since the a/c can already run from the generator. I kinda expect this hack has already been done before, possibly documented, possibly even on this forum? But I'm not finding that yet.

Thoughts from the gurus?
__________________

__________________
1999 Thor Four Winds Windsport M-30Q
JimmyNeutron is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-19-2016, 03:27 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
wildtoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 2,694
The gen should power both units at the same time which is why it as the 5500 watt gen versus a 4000. Most 30 amp units are wired to run either one while on shore power and there is usually a switch of some type to control which one. Not sure how the 30q is wired. The one I had was pre-wired for a second unit but it was not installed.
__________________

__________________
Tom Wilds
Blythewood SC
2016 Newmar Bay Star Sport 3004
wildtoad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 03:38 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
J. Frank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Moulton, Alabama
Posts: 186
Well, you are right it can be done and yes, I have done it. My old 1994 Coachmen had the same limitation. It has a switch in the rear that when lined up to the rear A/C allows the generator to run the front A/C with a separate 20 amp breaker (the main breaker is 30 amp to the house panel). I found a junction box where these two generator circuits connected to the motor home wiring and installed a manual transfer switch on the 20 amp breaker circuit. I also installed a receptacle for an extension cord (#12 wire). So I hook to shore power with the switch lined up to rear A/C, the transfer switch lined up to shore power, and plug in the extension cord to a separate 20 amp plug, which is usually present at most camp sites. This essentially turns your RV into a 50 amp service.
__________________
J. Frank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 03:38 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 7,818
You can add a transfer switch and separate cord but you may have to lock out the AC selector switch.

Keep in mind, you may be introducing 240 volts into your MH using 2 outlets on a pedestal, if it also has a 50 amp receptacle. Probable not a problem if done correctly.


Here is a post about doing something like it.
50A vs 30A and converting one to other.

50A vs 30A and converting one to other.
__________________
twinboat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 03:39 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Keeseville ny
Posts: 335
If your generator has a junction box between gen and fuse box inside you can take the 20 amp 12 gague wires out of the box and put a female plug on the gen side and male plug on fuse box side. When you want to use both airs unplug both plugs and plug a lead cord from pole to male plug. This allows both airs but only 1 will be on the 30 amp side. When done unplug lead cord and plug the 2 plugs together to run generator.
__________________
cwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 03:41 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
JimmyNeutron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Selmer, TN
Posts: 15
Good to know I'm headed down the right path. I'm pretty handy with electrical work, so I suppose it's mostly a matter of chasing down wires.

Thanks!
__________________
1999 Thor Four Winds Windsport M-30Q
JimmyNeutron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 03:42 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Keeseville ny
Posts: 335
The way I did it you don't need a transfer switch. Plug and play.
__________________
cwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 03:43 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
vsheetz's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: SoCal
Posts: 10,267
I am currently operating two air conditioners on a 30a circuit. I have the battery charger set to minimize its power consumption, and shut down one air conditioning unit if another large load is started.

My previous coach had a energy management system that would allow both air conditioners to operate simultaneously and automatically shed (turn off) one compressor should another large load (microwave, coffee pot , etc) be started.
__________________
Vince and Susan
2011 Tiffin Phaeton 40QTH (Cummins ISC/Freightliner)
Flat towing a modified 2005 Jeep (Rubicon Wrangler)
Previously a 2002 Fleetwood Pace Arrow 37A and a 1995 Safari Trek 2830.
vsheetz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 03:59 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Keeseville ny
Posts: 335
I have the ems. On my fleetwood. Nice system but I am stitching over to 50 amps.
__________________
cwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 05:09 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Sweetbriar's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 1,217
I've run both roof A/C's multiple times off 30 amp shore power but, always a few of them lurking, both are 13.5 K BTU and only demand 10-12 amps once past start up surge. I also shut down or limit the use of high power consuming items. Water heat goes to gas and the fridge to gas. No microwave, coffee pot, hair dryer, hot plate use when the second A/C is on.

One thing to remember concerning running the generator, camp ground quiet hours. Been to a few that flat out state no generator use which considering they had shore power available I could understand.
__________________
Sweetbriar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 05:34 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
asuperheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 137
There was a kit you could by with all you needed not sure if it is still available online or you can basically do the same ting with a 20 amp set of plugs (male on the wire feeding the a/c female on the wire to the genset) if you find the wire that feeds from the generator to the rear a/c. basically just plug it into the 20 amp circuit at the pedestal for the rear a/c. I had a Winnebago set up like this by the original owner and it worked great. Only something you should do if you understand electrical though. Do it the wrong and you got bigger problems.
__________________
2014 Excursion 35B
asuperheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2016, 09:03 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
IASM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 411
We just spent the last week on 30 amp and ran two out of three ac units. I did set the charge rate to 10 amps and didn't run the micro or toaster unless one of the ac units was off. I think it depends on the quality of the power also.
__________________

__________________
IASM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
service



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Use of 50A Surge Protector with 30A Pigtail for 30A Shore Power hugh37 Newmar Owner's Forum 9 07-08-2016 01:14 PM
Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet, Can we go yet mothgrey Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 11-18-2013 04:51 PM
Can you safely run two different brands of tires? BarbOD Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 18 10-24-2012 04:41 PM
Power Monitor showing 50A service when on 30A service Yoda2405 RV Systems & Appliances 3 10-26-2010 03:08 AM
Two A/C units on a 30 amp service. Hurricaner Damon 20 05-18-2009 12:31 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.