Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2014, 10:57 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 44
Can I use an external generator plugged into my outside land line input connector ?

My onboard generator has been intermittently not working lately . To have a back up so that I am not stuck some where without a generator while dry camping , I was thinking of buying a stand alone 6500 watt generator. My thought was that if the onboard generator would not start, that I would pull out the stand alone generator and then run that and plug it into my outside land line outlet to run everything inside.

Is this idea feasible ? Am I correct in this assumption ? ( I am a Nubie)

AND, is there anything that I need to know when doing this in order not to cause any damage to anything in the RV ? or do I just start the exterior gen and just plug it in ?

I have a class A year 2000 Four Winds Hurricane .

Thanks in advance for any help /advice
__________________

__________________
Markrving is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-10-2014, 11:15 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Cypressloser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Alberta - East of the Rockies, West of the Rest
Posts: 625
You definitely can, but wouldn't it be cheaper to get your onboard genny fixed and if that's not possible you could look in to getting solar if you don't need to run the AC.
__________________

__________________
2013 RAM 3500 Longhorn Dually, Andersen Ultimate 5th Wheel Hitch, 2017 Riverstone Legacy 38RE, 960 Watt Solar
Cypressloser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 11:16 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,820
If you mean you plug your normal shoreline power cable into the generator's outlet, then you're fine. There's no way to plug the GENERATOR into anything.

What you have to think about is what size generator to get. If your coach has 30 amp power, then the max is can draw is 3600 watts and the 6500 watt generator is overkill. If it's a 50 amp rig (12,000 watts), then you'll be limited on what you can run on the external generator.

What size is your onboard generator?
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 11:16 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
tropical36's Avatar
 
American Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 1,582
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markrving View Post
My onboard generator has been intermittently not working lately . To have a back up so that I am not stuck some where without a generator while dry camping , I was thinking of buying a stand alone 6500 watt generator. My thought was that if the onboard generator would not start, that I would pull out the stand alone generator and then run that and plug it into my outside land line outlet to run everything inside.

Is this idea feasible ? Am I correct in this assumption ? ( I am a Nubie)

AND, is there anything that I need to know when doing this in order not to cause any damage to anything in the RV ? or do I just start the exterior gen and just plug it in ?

I have a class A year 2000 Four Winds Hurricane .

Thanks in advance for any help /advice
Certainly, but that's a lot of genset to carry around, just for a backup, rather than repairing what you have. Now we did carry a little 1000w on one trip and used it when dry camping to keep the batteries up. It was a lot quieter and much more fuel efficient, when that was all that was required, except maybe for some small things, like TV's and such. Also good for a pot of coffee once in a while, but just barely.
__________________
07 Revolution LE 40E_1 1/2 Baths_Spartan MM Chassis_C9 Clatterpillar_ Allison 3000
Dinghy_2010 Jeep Wrangler JKU ISLANDER
1998 36ft. National Tropi-Cal Chevy Model 6350 (SOLD)
tropical36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 11:21 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
chboone's Avatar


 
National RV Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Horse Town USA, CA.
Posts: 2,933
I have done that several time, never a problem. However, if you have a EMS-HW50C or similar EMS you will get an open neutral lockout. Most if not all portable generators do not have a bonded neutral. I just turn my EMS off while connected to the generator. The only problem would be the noise from the generator of that size. I have a 3000si Yahama that is very quiet, just have to watch what we turn on when connected to it.

Chuck
__________________
1999 35 ft. Dolphin 5350,F53 Chassis Chassis build date 1/99, Banks System, 5 Stars Tune, Air Lift Air Bags front & rear, Koni Shocks,Blue OX TruCenter,TigerTrak track bars front & rear, Roadmaster 1-3/4" rear auxiliary sway bar,2004 F450 Lariat 6.0 Diesel Crew Cab DRW with B & W Custom Truck Bed, 1994 36 ft. Avion 5th Wheel
chboone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 11:32 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
csrrsr's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 692
When we boondock I'll bring the Honda 2000 along as a back up. Works fine. But I use the on board genset most often. If I bring the Honda I also have to bring a can of gas
__________________
02 Fleetwood Discovery 37U, 330 Cat pulling a 2006 diesel Liberty..or..2011 4dr Wrangler..or..20' Lund Salmon/Halibut Hunter
csrrsr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 11:32 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
Most trailer owners do it that way, No reason you can not do it with a Motor home. I have done it. 123vac sine wave is 120vac sine wave. I mean if you plug into the park it comes from a generator.. Just a very big one.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 11:33 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
BFlinn181's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Cincinnati
Posts: 16,208
I also wonder why repairing an 'intermittently working' generator wouldn't be much cheaper and more convenient that hauling around a 'portable' generator. A Generac 6500 w generator weighs 184 lbs. and costs $800.
http://www.homedepot.com/p/Generac-G...5940/202538952
Also consider the potential for problems in the transporting and storing fuel for it. It will be much louder than the on board generator.
__________________

Bob & Donna
'98 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager DP being pushed by a '00 Beetle TDI
BFlinn181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 02:39 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
f14av8r's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tampa Area (sometimes!)
Posts: 390
If I'm going on a trip with a lot of dry (no hookup) camping, I carry along a small, 2000 watt gas generator. It makes a good emergency backup to the onboard generator and is much more efficient when all I want to do is charge the batteries. If I have to run the AC though, no portable generator that I'd want to carry along would be adequate.
__________________
Randy and Tina & pups: Cinnamon, Cookie & Coco
2010 Winnebago Journey 34Y
Freightliner / Cummins 340hp ISB
f14av8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 06:12 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 44
OK, its 30 AMP max outside so the 3600 watts max ?

I checked and it is 30 amp labeled on the outside input outlet. So then does that mean 3600 watts max generator that can be connected to the exterior input and anything more is just a waste ?

Any electricians or physicists that can confirm ?
__________________
Markrving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 06:23 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
FlyingDiver's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Somewhere....
Posts: 3,820
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markrving View Post
I checked and it is 30 amp labeled on the outside input outlet. So then does that mean 3600 watts max generator that can be connected to the exterior input and anything more is just a waste ?

Any electricians or physicists that can confirm ?
Yup. So something in the 3500-4000 watt range is what you're looking for, if you're going to buy new and want the max you can get.

Champion Power Equipment 3,500/4,000-Watt Remote Electric Start Gasoline Powered Portable Generator-46565 at The Home Depot

This one has a 30amp RV style outlet built in.
__________________
2008 King Aire 4562, Spartan K3(GT) w/ Cummins ISX 600
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland 5.7L V8 Hemi w/ Blue Ox Aventa LX Tow Bar and baseplate, SMI Air Force One brake
FlyingDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 06:28 PM   #12
Registered User
 
mel s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by Markrving View Post
I was thinking of buying a stand alone 6500 watt generator. My thought was that if the onboard generator would not start, that I would pull out the stand alone generator and then run that and plug it into my outside land line outlet to run everything inside.
Markrving
Many folks connect their RV power cord to a stand alone generator.
Just get the proper adapter and go for it.
However, you may not be able to run "everything inside" depending on the generator and adapter you choose/use.
Mel
'96 Safari
__________________
mel s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 06:29 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
MartySQ's Avatar


 
Vintage RV Owners Club
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,156
That's what we do... sometimes we bring it even if we know we are going to have hookups... because the air conditioner in the cab doesn't work and travel in summer is too hot so we run the genny, who sits on a platform hooked to the hitch or if towing, on the tongue of the trailer, so we can run the air conditioning on top of the house!
__________________
Martha (AKA RVM45), Bob, and Bess the Border collie
22'Honey Sportscruiser on a 1988 Ford Econoline.
Sometimes towing a powered Parachute or a yellow Jeep Wrangler.
MartySQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2014, 06:34 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Pusherman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Rochester NY
Posts: 2,544
Sure. Plug your coach shoreline into the external generator output plug.

As others have already noted, it's gonna be way cheaper to have your on-board generator repaired.
__________________

__________________
Don
'07 Winnebago Journey 34H - CAT C7, Koni's, MCU's, SS Bell Crank, Safe-T-Plus
'07 HHR Toad, SMI AFO, Blue OX
Pusherman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2013-2014 Excursion owners' post mikebrls Fleetwood Products Owner's Forum 547 02-27-2017 10:29 AM
Hydraulic Hose connector - Cummins ISL 400 Redonion Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 05-07-2014 05:49 PM
Vacuum pump connector Pusherpilot Monaco Owner's Forum 0 02-05-2014 01:24 PM
External Propane Tank Jburklo Entegra Owner's Forum 8 01-27-2014 12:47 PM
Large, External GPS In Car? Dan_public Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 29 08-27-2013 06:47 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.