Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-12-2015, 08:48 PM   #1

Newmar Owners Club
Spartan Chassis
Can New Chassis Battteries Do This?

There's no denying I'm a complete noob to RV's, so if I'm crazy or just imagining things go right ahead and say it

I posted a few days ago that a sulfur smell lead to me discover I had cooked one of my chassis batteries - it was really hot and bulging. Then, I discovered that not only were they under-powered for the coach specs (925 cca's instead of 950) but they weren't even matched up... the hot one was only 850 cca's! It's not hard to understand why it got cooked.

Naturally, I replaced them both with brand new 950 cca group 31's. Driving the RV today for the first time since I replaced them, I noticed right away that the coach fired right up in only about a second or so of cranking, as opposed to 3-4 seconds with the old batteries. That's no surprise.

Here's the crazy part:

The coach ran smoother. It shifted smoother. The throttle felt more responsive. The gauges didn't dance like they used to - which I had attributed to funky old analog gauges just doing what they do.

So... am I crazy? Am I imagining things? I'm a such a noob that I'm just making this up in my head? Or... can a properly running electrical system have that much impact on performance?

Give it to me straight, I can take it

Wryly Blithe is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!