Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-04-2013, 08:27 PM   #1
Member
 
WE RV 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 87
Can you help with converter?

Can someone show me how to check a converter with a multimeter.What to put the meter dial on and what point's to check.Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ResizedImage_1372985588100.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	258.4 KB
ID:	41780  
Attached Images
 
__________________

__________________
WE RV 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-04-2013, 08:38 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,971
You want the multi meter set for 20 V dc. any setting lower could just give you an out of range reading.
Black lead of multi meter, a terminal marked with "-"
eyesight not that good I couldn't find that on your photo. There may not be a ground on that printed circuit board. maybe the silver plate will act as a ground.
The red lead to the terminal " + " a reading of 12.8v to 13.2 will tell you the converter is working.
What problems are you having ?
__________________

__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 09:11 PM   #3
Member
 
WE RV 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 87
Thanks,started to go camp Monday morning frig would not light ,tried to start gen and nothing.Drove about a hour to the park and the slides( 3 )worked just fine stayed till wed and slides would not go in put the battery on charge for about 40 min and the slide's went in.Had 2 house batteries just charged 1.Some one there checked with a multi meeter and said the converter was bad 3 something on the meeter.I checked today and got a reading 13+ if I was checking right
__________________
WE RV 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 09:16 PM   #4
Member
 
WE RV 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 87
Skip426 the white wire and the red at the top left are from the converter
__________________
WE RV 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2013, 09:18 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,971
Depending on your converter type you may have a separate convertor section and battery charger section , so you need to get all the info you can on your converter/charger and check that you get 13.2v to the battery when plugged into shore power.
If you had lights etc. for your stay and no battery power to bring in your slides, then you probably have a charging issue.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 06:54 AM   #6
Member
 
WE RV 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 87
converter

Well I might of found something that will help.This morning I checked the batteries and they were charged checked the converter it read 1367,unpluged from shore power and no inside lights would work, the generator will start but no lights. It's like the converter is not letting me switch from shore power to battery power is that possible
__________________
WE RV 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 09:02 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mcdonough, Ga.
Posts: 4,383
It sounds like your 12 volts switch is turned off. If you plug in, the converter will supply voltage. If you unplug and the twelve volts is turned off, you will have no power.
__________________
1998 Pace Arrow 35 ft. F53 Ford V10 2012 Honda Civic toad
32 years mechanic at Delta Air Lines 15 year motorhome service manager. 3 popups....2 travel trailers....5 motorhomes....loved them all.
ga traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 07:57 PM   #8
Member
 
WE RV 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 87
Worked with the switch took it out checked it still not found the problem
__________________
WE RV 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 08:08 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 4,232
There are circuit breakers near the tongue, but I would check those two 40A fuses on the LH side.
__________________
jesilvas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2013, 08:12 PM   #10
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Your converter/charger is responsible for keeping your house batteries fully charged while hooked to shore power. It should have three stages, Bulk (~14.3), Absorption (~13.8) and Float (~13.4-6).

When not hooked to shore power your house batteries should be supplying power to the 12 VDC items inside the RV.

If you were to remove the house batteries while hooked to shore power, it may supply 12 VDC to those items, some do some don't, depends on the wiring and the converter/charger.

Start tracing the power from the batteries to the distribution board to the 12 VDC items in the RV. Once you find power on one side and no power on the other, you have found your problem.

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 08:54 PM   #11
Member
 
WE RV 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 87
Fixed, new converter,box with fuses under the hood had to hit a relay button bang fixed.06 Hurricane 34 n there are 2 boxes of fuses with relay switches in the one under the hood.We were camping a few weeks a go and a storm came through lighting must have hit the mh.Now need a surge protector.Thanks ever one trying to help..
__________________
WE RV 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 09:05 PM   #12
Registered User
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Varies Depending on The Weather
Posts: 8,517
Glad you got things under control and working.

Regarding a surge protector, do yourself a BIG favor and buy a Progressive Industries EMS unit that includes a Surge Protector.

You won't regret it.

Progressive Industries

Dr4Film ----- Richard
__________________
Dr4Film is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 04:19 PM   #13
Member
 
WE RV 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 87
Well I just about got every thing back in order when I found out my radio am fm will not come on.The light stayed on all the time before now I would like to see it again.Checked the fuses all seamed to be good.Any advice.By the wah just ordered a progressive surge protector ems-pt30c.
__________________
WE RV 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 04:23 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Coaster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 371
Sometimes there is an AOD fuse (small green fuse, generlly on the bottom of the fuse block). This fuse is used trnsit and/or storage. While rare, it can sometimes fail.
__________________

__________________
'92 Gulf Stream Sun Voyager. Tweaked 5.9 Cummins, complete interior makeover (previous owner).
Coaster1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
converter



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the Location of my rv power converter? LynnGonz RV Systems & Appliances 15 09-10-2014 03:47 PM
2004 Pace Arrow 37C Converter replacement twecamp Class A Motorhome Discussions 9 06-09-2013 10:38 AM
120VAC to 12VDC converter issues Karlos National RV Owner's Forum 5 06-07-2013 07:52 PM
Getaway Converter manual montaz MH-General Discussions & Problems 1 06-07-2013 04:07 PM
noisy converter tom41 MH-General Discussions & Problems 3 06-04-2013 05:18 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.