Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2011, 02:27 PM   #1
Member
 
BUCKAROO's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: FLORIDA
Posts: 31
Canada alaska

We are going to alaska this summer. Does anyone know if satelite tv, direct or dish ,works in canada and alaska. Also how about cell phones thanks for any information
__________________

__________________
2011 ITASCA ELLIPSE 42QD 450HP
2008 FORD EDGE
BUCKAROO is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-19-2011, 03:11 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
texnet's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Granbury, Texas
Posts: 1,364
If you have a ground mounted dish you should be ok for Dish and Directv. Roof mounted units usually cannot be aimed low enough to pick the satellite.

As for cell phones, according to your provider, you should be able to use your cell phone in populated areas of both Canada and Alaska, but make SURE you signup for a Canadian plan with your provider as roaming is very expensive. Even with a plan you will probably have to pay around 50 cents a minute.
__________________

__________________
Ronnie (WD5GIC) & Jan (WD5IHU)
2003 Monaco Dynasty Countess 42' w/tag, 2012 Ford Flex
http://www.ronniesphotos.com

texnet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2011, 05:28 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
djhinds's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Golden, Colorado
Posts: 588
Don't make a dumb mistake like I did. I Emailed 2 pictures of Baniff Canada to my kids as we were all there 30 years ago when they were kids. I wanted to show them that it had not changed much in that time. AT&T sent me a text message that I should get a Canadian package to do that or it would be expensive. I just thought I would not do it again so it was OK. When I got home and got the bill it cost me $60 apiece to send the pictures. AT&T would not take anything off the bill because it is a different company there. OUCH that really hurt. I won't make that mistake again!!!

Dave

2004 Monaco Signature
Detroit 60
2011 Honda CR-V
__________________
2004 Monaco Signature 43', Detroit 60 500 hp
2011 Honda CR-V, M & G Brakes, Vorad
Samsung RF 18, True Induction Cooktop
djhinds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 01:13 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 20
there would be some problems in high areas...better check it once
__________________
donald.bradl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 10:00 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Waynesboro,PA USA
Posts: 644
Direct might work but Dish is so low that you can't get it for the tree line. We have Dish and could only get it when on the Canadian plains. No trees lol
__________________
Beabop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 10:48 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 857
We stopped watching TV on our trip through Canada and Alaska two years ago. We think it made for a vastly more fulfilling trip. Sometimes I would read a book aloud for my wife. When you are in Alaska, with the sun setting so late, there's too much to do and sitting in front of a TV made no sense for us. I'm sure we're a minority but that's our way of coping with whether TV is available. Movies on DVD were fine with us on rainy nights but only one a night and that was a rare occurrence. My Verizon phone would usually work. When it didn't we learned we really didn't need that either. Again, we will be in a minority on this. Don't expect much phone service in the Yukon.

On another trip we took along our Northern Exposure 6 DVD collection. One episode a night just before going to sleep. Seemed like an appropriate show to watch.

Enjoy your trip.
__________________
WOODYDEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 09:07 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
scenic route's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 1,767
Quote:
Originally Posted by WOODYDEL View Post
My Verizon phone would usually work. When it didn't we learned we really didn't need that either. .
We have the Verizon cell as well...did you run into any roaming charges while in Canada / Alaska? We'll be heading that way in about 10 days. Thanks, Bob
__________________
Jan and Bob

RIP 'Squeaky'
scenic route is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 12:04 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 857
Quote:
Originally Posted by scenic route View Post
We have the Verizon cell as well...did you run into any roaming charges while in Canada / Alaska? We'll be heading that way in about 10 days. Thanks, Bob
I don't remember getting any roaming charges in Alaska. That was over a year ago. I'm not sure about Canada but I wasn't using my phone much in Canada. My advice is to go on the verizon wireless site and use the coverage locator on their home page. We also never had a data plan. If we had any decent wi-fi we were able to use our magic jack. You do need a high speed connection.
__________________
WOODYDEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 12:17 AM   #9
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
When we were in Canada we used Skype............VERY inexpensive and a free download. Just Google Skype
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 02:40 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Waynesboro,PA USA
Posts: 644
You have to buy the Canada package if you don't want roaming in Canada. If you are near the CA border you may pick up one of their towers and get roaming from Alaska or mainland side. They removed those for us.
__________________
Beabop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 04:15 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Luckiest Dreamer's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,188
We paid something like $10 a month for our cell phone use while in Canada. Truth is I cannot remember the exact charge but it is available thru your provider and calling them is my suggestion.
__________________
Larry B, Luckiest Dreamer
Luckiest Dreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 04:36 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 246
Spent last summer?? in Can/Ak. No Dish network in Can or Ak. Elevation Angle too low. We relied on DVD's when we were in the mood for tv. Plan on lots and lots of rain. It rained almost every day we were up there-May to Aug.

Cell phone coverage in Ak was adequate with no extra charges. We just turned the phone off while transiting through Canada. Extra coverage wasn't worth the extra hassle to us.

Border check stations will check your passport and Canadian insurance cards from your insurer.

Be prepared to replace a couple of windshields upon rtn to US. Instead of using salt during the winters they use small gravel for better traction. Be aware of "frost heaves". All in all a good trip with lots to do and see. Be sure and take lots of money as those canadians that can are coming across the border to for their fuel needs.
__________________

__________________
06 Itasca Meridian 36G, 350 Cat , Flnr XC-S Chassis

07 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited
Chief is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Our first canada border crossing Seajay RV'ing Humor & Crazy but True Stories 7 03-17-2010 11:47 PM
Starting our Alaska adventure Kash Class A Motorhome Discussions 5 06-19-2009 12:01 PM
Wireless service in Canada & Alaska? RJEV Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 6 09-21-2008 01:17 PM
Going to Canada? Check your past Jayco1 iRV2.com General Discussion 11 03-29-2007 02:08 PM
Fishing in Canada and Alaska Windwalker55 Canada Region 3 01-31-2006 06:24 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.