Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2012, 05:17 PM   #1
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chehalis WA
Posts: 65
CB radio prewire

I have a 2008 Safari Simba, gas model. I see that there is a CB antenna connector under the dash. I was wondering if anybody out there would know if the DC power is prewired as well? If so, where would I locate it?

Thanks in advance.

I'm most certain that a Monaco Monarch, HR, Beaver like type model would be the same.

krf9113 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-01-2012, 06:44 PM   #2
Senior Member
njs42's Avatar
National RV Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Federal Way, Wa.
Posts: 2,901
I think they are seldom prewired, my manufacturer said as much to me when I ask the question.

I do not have the same coach but did have the same situation. I found a fuse panel with extra space and male connectors under the dash against the fire wall. I just installed a fuse an connected the hot to the fuse panel with a female connector and found a ground.

And yes it was not an easy crawl uder there to connect everything but I lived to tell about it.

Anywhere you have an extra fuse location would do. Just need a longer wire.

I installed a CB which had the receiver under the dash and the microphone held all the dials and buttons. Very clean install.

I do all my own stunts
03 Dolphin LX 6355, Workhorse W22, 8.1 vortec, 04 CR-V, Blue Ox, Brake Pro----Norm, Barb and
Doc(He's a PhD)
njs42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 11:27 AM   #3
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chehalis WA
Posts: 65
Thanks! i've come to the same conclusion. I think I'll either buy a Midland or a Cobra with the speaker and controls all in one. It's more for monitoring highway conditons. I have the weather channels on the AM/FM/Sirrius.
krf9113 is offline   Reply With Quote


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:01 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.