Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 04-24-2009, 04:09 PM   #1

Newmar Owners Club
Changed Tire Myself!

Two days ago I checked the coach tires for PSI. The inside right rear was at 30 PSI. So I put 85 PSI in the tire and checked it the following morning. Tire was down to 78 PSI. I've changed a front tire, but never a rear and not an inside tire. Being a retired engineer, I need to know about all the details from bumper to bumper (the wife says it's a personality defect). So,,,,,I said self, lets change a tire.

1. Took the mounted spare out of the basement. Note: This is an excellent way to get rid of stuff you forgot you had. If I needed some of this stuff I would, most likely go buy it, cause I wouldn't remember I had it in the basement.

2. Got the compressor filled with air, the mother of all air wrenches connected, lug nut covers off, center hub cover off, etc.

3. Use the jacks to get the coach tires (right side only) off the ground.

4. Jack stands placed correctly under chassis.

5. Removed lug nuts. Caution, the air wrench can break one's wrists unless one is prepared for the torque.

6. Got the outside tire off the coach. Hmmm,,, I said, this is an opportunity to clean and protect both sides of the tire!

7. Got all the tire cleaning/protecting stuff out and thoroughly cleaned both sides of the tire and wheel. This ended up being more work than I thought it would be.