Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 07-08-2011, 07:27 AM   #1
Member
 
Teachrz's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Caledonia, MS
Posts: 97
Charger AMP load

I was thinking about power consumption in my RV so I turned off everything except the refrigerator and the display showed a 5 AMP load. When I switched off the refrigerator, the load dropped to 2 AMPs for the converter. Since I only have 30 AMP service, I want to make sure I know where the power is going to ration it. Are these numbers normal?
__________________

__________________
Tim Wilcox
Caledonia, MS
1999 National Tropi-Cal V10 - 2008 Volvo C70 toad
Teachrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-08-2011, 02:46 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Barbaraok's Avatar
 
Alpine Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Traveling in North America
Posts: 1,444
With the exception of running two air conditioners, we can live quite comfortably on 30 amps, including using the washer/dryer - - just not at the same time as the microwave/convection oven. What is it that you can't do?

Barb
__________________

__________________
Barbara & David O'Keeffe
Figment II (Alpine 2002 36 MDDS)
On The Road since 2006
Blog
Barbaraok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 02:55 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
RJay's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,589
The remaining 2 amps may be the power management panel, carbon monoxide detector, microwave clock.
__________________
2007 Newmar DSDP 4023
Discovery is seeing what everyone else has seen and thinking what no one else has thought.
If you want to see what man made go East; if you want to see what God made go West.
RJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 03:20 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Mcdonough, Ga.
Posts: 4,382
Remember the load of the converter will vary. The higher the output, the more current it will draw.
__________________
1998 Pace Arrow 35 ft. F53 Ford V10 2012 Honda Civic toad
32 years mechanic at Delta Air Lines 15 year motorhome service manager. 3 popups....2 travel trailers....5 motorhomes....loved them all.
ga traveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2011, 07:47 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,066
5A with the fridge on sounds normal. 2A without it seems high - my power hog coach runs at about 1A with everything off, and I have a bunch of exotic electronic gear generating parasitic loads.

2A of 120vac translates to converter output on the order of 18-20A @ 12vdc. If I were you, I would be looking for specific causes for using that much power. It could be one or more weak batteries that the charger is trying unsuccessfully to recharge. Or maybe you have things drawing power that you don't know about.
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
30 AMP Considerations for using Both AC units SPICoaster RV Systems & Appliances 38 08-05-2011 11:37 AM
50 Amp Cord/ One 50 Amp AC Breaker. Edouard National RV Owner's Forum 7 10-28-2010 09:23 AM
Electric system monitor panel shows 30 amp when hooked up to 50 amp Magumba Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 13 03-05-2010 09:09 PM
50 amp Service Question Mike Canter MH-General Discussions & Problems 18 10-19-2009 10:07 AM
Trickle Charger (NOT) Paul T Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 10 04-01-2009 05:41 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.