Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-13-2015, 10:28 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
gypsy8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 16
Circuit breaker

Okay plugged in (30) amps turn on rooftop a/c front and rear whoops no electricity!
Come on looking for you seasoned RV'ers to tell me why!
Thanks!
__________________

__________________
gypsy8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-13-2015, 10:31 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,972
Dual roof A/C's , was the main reason for the up grade to 50amp service in RV's.
__________________

__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2015, 10:32 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
dennis45's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: BC
Posts: 6,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by gypsy8 View Post
Okay plugged in (30) amps turn on rooftop a/c front and rear whoops no electricity!
Come on looking for you seasoned RV'ers to tell me why!
Thanks!


OK, but even the Seasoned RVers need to know what RV we are supposed to know all about. Make/Model/Year for a start.
__________________
Dennis & Carol
2003, 4006, 41' DutchStar, Spartan, ISC 8.3L W/BanksPower - 2013 Honda CRV, BlueOx Baseplate, Aventa Bar & Patriot Brake. And the 04 Bird, Sunshine Car.
dennis45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 07:06 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 31
30 amp will not run both ac units. Turn one of them off and you should be ok. If you need to run both units you will need the 50 amp service
__________________
zanz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 08:29 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Hamshog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Palm Springs, CA.
Posts: 124
Hey gypsy8,

The voltage at the pedestal is probably a little low to run both a/c's. You can run 2 units on 30 amps if you have 120 or more volts. Make sure nothing else is on.

Regards, Howard
__________________
'10 Carri-Lite 36XTRM5, '05 H/D Road King Classic, '05 Jeep Wrangler LJ, '02 Dolphin 5355 W/H 8.1L/Alli, Fulltime since 5/2010
Hamshog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 08:31 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
OLYLEN's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Olympia, Wa
Posts: 2,345
30 amps is enough power for two A/C' s, the problem is what else is running. Water heater on, low batteries so high charge rate, TV's, computers, any other electric. Two AC's on 30amp IS a management problem.

LEN
__________________
2004 Clss C 31' Winnebgo
OLYLEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 08:31 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Brighton, MI
Posts: 636
Quote:
Originally Posted by zanz View Post
30 amp will not run both ac units. Turn one of them off and you should be ok. If you need to run both units you will need the 50 amp service
Shouldn't make a blanket statement like that. There are many coaches that can run both AC's on 30 amps. Can't run much in addition to that but can definitely run 2 AC's, ours is one of them. We have a 50 amp rig but but both AC's will run on 30 amp service, consumes around 26 amps I believe.
__________________
70ChevelleSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 08:40 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
C.Martin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,280
If you have two AC units factory installed with a 30 amp service...you probably have an Energy Management system. It should, in theory, monitor tha amperage draw on the line IN...and sequence or shed loads accordingly. It should also have a time delay, to prevent both AC units from starting at the same time. If you installed a second AC system yourself....you probably should have upgraded the load center to 50 amps and associated INPUT side wiring to 50 amps and/or added an Energy mgmt system at the same time. Both compressors trying to start at the same time on 30 amps is going to trip the system...esp when the Converter is charging batteries and running 12v loads, and maybe there are other loads, water heater, fridge circuitry, TV and stereo....
__________________
Charlie & Ronni plus the Sammies...Conner & Ginger.
2016 Ventana 4037
C.Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2015, 03:32 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,829
Front A/C likely draws around 13.5 amps Running likely much more starting, Same with Rear, total 27 amps (Actually those numbers are dead on for my air conditioners so I am drawing them off my own ammeter, not out of think air)
Add a few amps for the Fridge, and converter. Perhaps the water heater and well. you are so far over 30 it's amazing.

The Rules per Reddy Kilowatt. for 50 amp RVs

Big Ticket items are anything drawing 10 amps or more
Water heater, Air conditioners Space heaters and in some cases the converter... Part time. Oh and the Microwave..

The Fridge, and again the converter part time, Are Mediums at around 3-5 amps Many kitchen stuff falls into this group as well.

Televisions, Radios, et-al at less than 2 amps.. Small forget 'em items

If on 50 amp service: All you can eat.

30 amps: (Assuming good power) 2 Big Ticket itsms but only ONE of them can be an Air Conditieoner.. If it's not good power (low voltage, or poor outlet) make that ONE big ticket item.

20 amps: ONe big ticket item

The converter... Where it falls on the chart (Big to tiny) depends on the size of the device and the condition of the batteries.

Mine is 80 amps and can draw over 10 amps if the batteries are very low.. SO then it's a "BIG".. Some are 50 amps and never get into the "BIG" class.

As the batteries fill mine drops first to medium then to small.. So do most others. So if you are on 20 amps, wait a couple hours before firing A/C up. and again on poor 30 you might do that as well.

Some coaches have energy management (load shedding) systems that will shut down the A/C or Water heater as needed.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2015, 09:40 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Rich-n-Linda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 884
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hamshog View Post
Hey gypsy8,

The voltage at the pedestal is probably a little low to run both a/c's. You can run 2 units on 30 amps if you have 120 or more volts. Make sure nothing else is on.

Regards, Howard

The VOLTAGE has nothing to do with this. You are confusing voltage and amperage.

The amount of power drawn by two AC units will often exceed 30 amps. That's why you tripped the breaker.


'06 Mandalay 40E
__________________
Rich-n-Linda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 12:36 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Hamshog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Palm Springs, CA.
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich-n-Linda View Post

The VOLTAGE has nothing to do with this. You are confusing voltage and amperage.

The amount of power drawn by two AC units will often exceed 30 amps. That's why you tripped the breaker.

'06 Mandalay 40E
Well Rich, or is it Linda? I guess my 37 years playing Master Electrician was a total waist of time. Please explain your theory that voltage and amperage have nothing to do with each other.

Regards, Howard
__________________
'10 Carri-Lite 36XTRM5, '05 H/D Road King Classic, '05 Jeep Wrangler LJ, '02 Dolphin 5355 W/H 8.1L/Alli, Fulltime since 5/2010
Hamshog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 09:47 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 70
Basic ohms law. As voltage drops available amp drop.
__________________
gcamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 03:29 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
C.Martin's Avatar


 
Newmar Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 1,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by gcamper View Post
Basic ohms law. As voltage drops available amp drop.
Kinda not how that works... Unless what you're really saying is as voltage drops, electromotive force (volts) drops.

A load draws power...power could be measured in watts, kilowatts, volt-amps, kva, etc... The load is the load... so when the load has less electromotive force (volts)...it requires more current (amps) to do the same job.

Power = volts x amps

So, if Power is constant...as volts decrease, amps must increase. Increasing amps above the designed amount will generate all kinds of extra heat, because the wires were designed to handle less amperage.
__________________
Charlie & Ronni plus the Sammies...Conner & Ginger.
2016 Ventana 4037
C.Martin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2015, 07:36 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 22
Has anyone tried to disconnect one ac and run it on a separate 20 amp line outside to pedestal.
__________________

__________________
n5979u is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What Size Circuit Breaker for My Solar Panels 56Nomad Going Green 22 08-15-2015 08:29 AM
tripped circuit breaker on generator- running 3 ac's mff RV Systems & Appliances 24 06-24-2015 10:16 AM
Refrigerator Circuit Breaker Tripping whipskipper Winnebago Industries Owner's Forum 4 05-25-2015 07:16 PM
12VDC 30A circuit breaker tripping TexasSkunk Tiffin Motorhomes Owners Forum 2 08-18-2014 01:57 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.