Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-12-2016, 02:29 PM   #1

Coach battery slowly goes dead...

I hope I have the right term. I'm new to class A, but I was always told that the "coach" battery is the one that runs the engine etc... while the "house" batteries are the ones that run the lights, water pump, etc...

Anyway, my coach battery slowly goes dead if the coach sits for two or three weeks. I do notice that the radio stays powered even with the key off, but that is probably "by design" so that you can listen to the radio while parked. I don't see any other obvious drains like lights etc... I also discovered that the slide out motors run from the coach battery, which I found surprising.

So, I'm considering the following options:
  1. (What I do now): Try to remember every week or so to plug in my charger and top off the battery.
  2. Permanently install a "DC to DC trickle charger" from the house batteries to the coach battery to keep it topped off. The house batteries stay charged from the solar, generator, and/or shore power. I've used one of these DC to DC trickle chargers successfully with my old trailer to keep its house battery topped off from my larger solar batteries. These have a very low charge rate (maybe 2 amps?) but that would probably be enough.
  3. Permanently install a "modest" proper charger that runs whenever there is AC power (generator, shore power, or from the inverter on my solar batteries. This has the advantage of charging to higher current than the trickle charger.
  4. Dig into the electrical system to find and stop whatever small drains are pulling down the coach battery.