Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 12-10-2010, 06:32 PM   #1

Tiffin Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Cold heater

I am rather new to a diesel pusher and need to ask a possibly dumb question. On driving our coach recently in cool weather (cold actually), I noticed the dash heat was not really doing much good. Is this a common problem with diesel pushers? I know the diesel engines are supposed to run cool and mine does (275 hp. Cummins), but so cool that not very much heat is put out? The temp gauge is not graduated by degrees but it is in the lower quarter of the scale.

Does a diesel engine have a thermostat like a gas engine? If so, what temperature is recommended?

I know I can run one of the furnaces in the coach and that is what I am planning on an upcoming trip south, just wondering.

Thanks....burfurd
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!