Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 09-30-2014, 01:12 PM   #1

Confused on Coolant leak..

OK... I am no certified mechanic, but I have been around the motorized vehicles long enough to know a little.

We have a 2001 Damon with a 350, 8.1 Cummins. The motor has 55,000 and runs very strong.

On our last couple of trips it would just sporadically leak out Coolant. and lots of it. 2 gallons over an 800 mile trip one time

We live in the Mountains of NC so most of our trips start with some hard pulls. Going back a few trips. Wasn't leaking when we started. Got it up to 230 on the gauge one time...I actually pulled over and let it idle till it cooled back down to 185. No leakage when I was pulled over. Stopped for fuel a couple hours later and everything checked ok. And then while we was 800 miles from home, while I was re-fueling, it was pouring out from under the bottom of the Radiator. While keeping a good eye on the gauge, I got it on to the camp site that evening. Wasn't leaking a drop when I got there. I let it cool off over night... added coolant and then restarted it. No leaks. Didnt leak again till half way back home several days later. Same cycle, sometimes it leaks, sometimes it doesn't

I have checked hose I can find... I have done everything except take it to the Dealer who basically said they would pull out the radiator and start with a new one. So this is easily a 2000 repair in their eyes.

It is basically filling up the fan shroud and then leaking out from all differnt angles after the shroud gets a lot in there.

My question(s)...