Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2013, 05:31 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Olathe, Kansas
Posts: 238
Your right. I could have added more breakers. When I did the work 2 yrs ago I didn't think that far in advance. I might next spring go ahead and change out the breaker box and put one in with more breakers and outlets to be able to use the full 100 amps.
__________________

__________________
jcgribks is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-20-2013, 05:36 PM   #16
Registered User
 
hanko's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Howell, Mi
Posts: 211
Quote:
Originally Posted by GaryKD View Post
Hi beepaj,
I think we need to know why you asked the question. What are you trying to do?

I think his question was straigt forward and honest. What part of it didnt you understand
__________________

__________________
hanko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 07:59 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
beepaj's Avatar
 
National RV Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Western Massachusetts
Posts: 220
You Guys are GREAT!
I like the idea of running a separate 20 amp line.
__________________
Happy Daze! Andy, Carol & our adopted Maltese "son", Eli
'99 Tropi-Cal on a '98 Ford F3 chassis

I know the voices in my head aren't real but sometimes their ideas are awesome!
beepaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 08:55 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Lincolnboy2's Avatar


 
Texas Boomers Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Grand Prairie, TX (DFW)
Posts: 3,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky_Boss View Post
I'm not sure of what you are speaking of except that some EMS (energy management system) systems shed devices if they will exceed the coach's power rating. So, as an example, I have an EMS that will shed the block heater, then something else and then AC 2. This gets problematic when I am on 30 amp service because AC 1 runs around 12 amps (not counting the start up surge) and a few other items that peg me right at 15-17 amps. When AC 2 kicks in it generally exceeds 30 amps and shuts it back down. OTOH, if AC 2 is running and then AC 1 kicks in, it shuts down AC 2.

So...in my experience with my 15,500 BTU Penguins, it is not reasonable to consistently run them both at the same time when on 30 amp service. Even AC units with smaller, stable amp needs will cause some EMS systems to go freaky on you.

I think a good answer would be to run the extra 20 amp circuit on AC 2. That would give you consistent electrical output to that unit and free up your coach to run AC 1 and not have nearly the chance of exceeding 30 amps running other things at the same time. BTW, I don't think alternating AC units makes for even AC coverage unless you have a ducted vent system and even then, that is marginally so.

The only thing that has me scratching my head is that I wouldn't think a 30 amp RV would have 2 AC units. Am I missing something or just uninformed?
My 30 amp coach came from the factory with 2 AC units, with the Intellitec (Shed) EMS, keeps both compressors from cycling at the same time, which are the big amp hogs on the A/C units.

They are wired so the EMS runs the fans/compressor units independently on each A/C.

http://www.flemingsalesoem.com/intel...F/53221301.pdf

However; with generator running, the front A/C has a direct link from the 20 amp on the genny. The genny has 30 amp and a 20 amp breakers, it is a Cummins Onan 5500

I had real issues the first summer with my coach and low voltage at a state park. Being 30 amp with 2 A/C pushes it to the limit and then when you have voltage issues in the middle of the heat of summer in an older wired park/CG, the combo can be very bad if you don't have some sort of protection, like I installed the Progressive EMS-HW30C to keep my coach safe from under/over voltage issues.

Also, I request/use the 50 amp service and use an adapter from 50 to 30, which I have had no issues with since I've been plugging in that way in the heat of the summer.

http://www.amazon.com/Voltec-16-0050...+amp+to+30+amp
__________________

__________________
Kent - '03 Fleetwood Storm Ford F-53 V-10
With Susie (Lhasa); Angie (Shorkie) Ferbie (ShihTzu)
In Memoriam: Katie, Spencer and Zoey
Lincolnboy2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
service



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.