Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-04-2010, 07:12 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
jeagle's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 22
Question Converter

We have a odd thing going on with our converter. After it is not plug in to shore power for a while it will not convert 30amp to any 12v in the coach. I can change it to 110 and it will work. Then after waiting a while I can change back to the 30 amp plug and it will work fine. Anyone have any ideas of what is going on??
__________________

__________________
jeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-04-2010, 07:27 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
RJay's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4,589
Hi jeagle,
Your converter converts 120 volts AC to 12 volts DC to charge your batteries. It's not clear to me what your asking but 30 amp shore power is 120 AC. If shore power is not available to your converter it does nothing. Perhaps you can tell us what you want your converter to do so we can help you.
__________________

__________________
2007 Newmar DSDP 4023
Discovery is seeing what everyone else has seen and thinking what no one else has thought.
If you want to see what man made go East; if you want to see what God made go West.
RJay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 08:22 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Wanabee FTer's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Golden Village Palms, CA
Posts: 1,988
Blog Entries: 12
I would suggest checking the coach batteries with a hydrometer and checking all the battery connections first. The converter does not supply power to the coach when it is not plugged into an AC outlet.
__________________
John
'98 Gulf Stream Sunsport 325, 7.5L Banks Power Pack, Koni FSD's, Air Bags, ReadyBrute Elite,
2000 Honda Accord

Wanabee FTer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 08:23 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
jeagle's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 22
Thanks for your reply. What I am saying is when I am pluged in to a 30 amp outlet nothing happens except my microwave works thats all. When I plug in to just a 120 outlet everything works. I'm confused about what is going on?
__________________
jeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 08:29 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Wanabee FTer's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Golden Village Palms, CA
Posts: 1,988
Blog Entries: 12
When you plug into 120 are you using a dog bone adapter with your 30a plug?
__________________
John
'98 Gulf Stream Sunsport 325, 7.5L Banks Power Pack, Koni FSD's, Air Bags, ReadyBrute Elite,
2000 Honda Accord

Wanabee FTer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 08:34 PM   #6
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
I'm confused too.

A 30 amp plug / receptacle IS 120 volts and looks something like this
o
\ /

I think what you are referring to as a 120 volt plug receptacle looks like this
o and for clarity it's referred to as a 20 amp plug/ receptacle
l l

Maybe this can help you define the problem you're having.

On edit.....the "drawings" of the plugs didn't quite turn out exactly but, hopeyou can see the difference
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 08:40 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
jeagle's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 22
Thanks Kix I understand what you are saying. When I say 30 amp plug I am referring to the same plugs found in campgrounds. I do us a dog bone blug to convert to 120 outlet.
__________________
jeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 08:44 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Wanabee FTer's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Golden Village Palms, CA
Posts: 1,988
Blog Entries: 12
Wondering if you are having a line voltage issue on 30 amp power pole, If everything works OK on 20 amp, should also work on 30 amp. If you have a volt meter check for constant power and voltage readings at the 30 amp power source. Are you at a CG?
__________________
John
'98 Gulf Stream Sunsport 325, 7.5L Banks Power Pack, Koni FSD's, Air Bags, ReadyBrute Elite,
2000 Honda Accord

Wanabee FTer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 08:49 PM   #9
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
The microwave works on both 30 and 20 amp connections......right? And the lights (which are 12 volt dc) only when you are plugged into a 20 amp source........right?

If I understand correctly the items that ares not working on 30 amp is your converter and TV's..........right?

if all the above is what you are saying then it makes no sense unless IMO the male end of the 30 amp cord is not making contact INSIDE the plug but is somehow making contact when plugged into the dog bone.
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 08:56 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
jeagle's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 22
Thanks Wannabee and Kix for you in put. This is a 30 amp plug at my home. The problem is after a little while I can switch back from the 20 amp or 120 outlet to the 30 amp outlet and everything works when plug in to my 30 amp out let. That is what is so confusing.
__________________
jeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 09:00 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Wanabee FTer's Avatar
 
Gulf Streamers Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Golden Village Palms, CA
Posts: 1,988
Blog Entries: 12
I would suspect an electrical problem with the 30 amp shore power. If you don't have a way to check it, maybe try 30 amp at a nearby campground and see if it still has the same problem.
__________________
John
'98 Gulf Stream Sunsport 325, 7.5L Banks Power Pack, Koni FSD's, Air Bags, ReadyBrute Elite,
2000 Honda Accord

Wanabee FTer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 09:01 PM   #12
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Or maybe you have a loose connection inside the 30 amp receptacle at your home. It being loose may build heat enough to disconnect. When it cools it makes the connection again. It would be a long shot but you could check the tightness of the connections inside the 30 amp plug at your house.
__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 09:03 PM   #13
Junior Member
 
jeagle's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 22
Thanks KIX I will try that.
__________________
jeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 09:12 PM   #14
KIX
Senior Member
 
KIX's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: St. Augustine, FL
Posts: 3,579
Please let us know what you find
__________________

__________________
KIX
'02 Ultimate Advantage 40J Spartan MM - Cummins ISC
2013 Jeep Rubicon JK Unlimited
KIX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing 12 volt Converter and Battery Charger DriVer RV Systems & Appliances 13 08-22-2011 11:32 AM
Towing-Tail Lights Converter johnwr Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 0 04-22-2010 06:46 PM
Yet another defective tail light converter???? smlranger Toads and Motorhome Related Towing 5 03-09-2007 06:08 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.