Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 06-07-2011, 12:39 PM   #1

Converter/Inverter

From an electrical standpoint is it beneficial to change from the existing converter to an inverter from a battery charging standpoint? And for TV's computers will a modified sine wave inverter be ok or will it have to be a pure sine wave inverter? While I have some knowledge of the difference in level of clean power I am not truly educated as to what is acceptable in motorhome application. Thanks for your insight/comments.

Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-07-2011, 12:50 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

The charger in an inverter/charger is usually a top of the line, 3 stage, type so may be better than what you now have. However, there is no inherent advantage and there are quality 3 stage converter/chargers available too. Progressive Dynamics and Iota and Xantrex make some excellent ones.