Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 08-06-2009, 11:43 AM   #1
Converter vs Inverter

I'm brand new to RVs so I figure I can ask very basic questions:

What is the difference between a Converter and an Inverter and which should I have and why" I have a '95 Coachman Santara with a front and rear air conditioner, Microwave oven, coffeemaker and a 19 inch TV and it currently has a 50 amp converter.

My service tech is telling me that I have to replace my esisting Converter as it is reverse-charging my two coach batteries. ie, my positive terminals are negative and my negative terminals are positive. He showed me the negative 12 volt reading on his circuit tester but I'm not certain that I buy that.

Any thoughts from anyone on either question?

Fatbear5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-06-2009, 07:22 PM   #2
RV Mutant #14

Winnebago Owners Club
Texas Boomers Club
Freightliner Owners Club
iRV2 No Limits Club