Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Register FilesVendors Registry Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search Log in
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2

Old 07-22-2014, 01:52 PM   #1

Thor Owners Club
Nor'easters Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Crazy Fuel Stop Experiences

I am a bit new to all this; fueling a Diesel motorhome at a truck stop with the rest of the truckers lined up behind me.

This past weekend I had a "crazy" experience which may be common to you folk, it was not for me. I will tell you what happened but would love to hear some of your stories too.

We were returning from The FMCA Northeast Rally in Essex Junction VT when we stopped at the Pilot Fuel stop on Bow NH, exit 11/12C, off Route 3A. The station was mostly empty, only trucks lined up in the field all running their engine waiting for something.

I went to the Fuel Desk and told the attendant what pump I was on, I handed her a credit card and she asked "how much" I told her to reserve $300 since I was 3/4 down. I went out to pump, the pump was dead. Nothing. I went back to the attendant, she was busy but eventually told me to move to a different pump. I did. Still no pump pressure in the hose, nothing.

The pumps had no digital readout on one side and on the other side there was. The pump number was on the side with no digital readouts.

I went back in and told her that no fuel was coming out, she then came out and tried it herself, nothing. She asked me to move to a different pump. I did.