Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-28-2012, 06:01 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Cummins/Allison Safari no start

Pulled into Quartzsite after leisure easy trip and next day no start. Selector shift pad is not lit. Then start but still dark selector. Batts are up. I disassembled key switch and it appears ok. Accys ok. Just nothing when going to the start position. I should get NN on sle switch with key in on position. Any ideas?
__________________

__________________
tzummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-28-2012, 06:52 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 89
Was the shifter selector blank (unlit)? If so, pull battery drawer out and look for about a 10-12 gauge wire on the positive terminal. Follow it to check for a fuse. Mine didn't have a fuse, however, the wire had broken at the battery terminal. My symptoms were engine ran, tranny went into default, shifter pad was blank and a red "Do not shift" light on top of panel.
Seems to be the problem a lot of times, I'm told.
Good luck
__________________

__________________
Kent and Sally Lunda
2006 Newmar Mountain Aire 4 Slide 400HP Cummins
2004 Honda Odyssey (Toad)
Kjlunda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 08:01 AM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
I think Kent is exactly right. Without power to that Allison shift pad/ECU then the neutral switch in the transmission is not set so it will not let it start. Also check all the cables attached to the transmission.

How rough was it driving off road there at Quartzsite to where you are parked? Bad enough to shake things up?
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 10:30 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Thanks to both. I'll be checking that fuse as soon as I can get my wife out of bed. The road in is rocky and shakes depending on how fast one drives. Me slow. This place is jammed with rigs this year.
__________________
tzummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 11:02 AM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Look for a butt splice connector on that wire. It is very common for them to go bad. Very very common.
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 06:05 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
Mike and Kent, Thanks.

I was overjoyed when I found the splice after assuming the fuse connector was the problem and finding out I was wrong. I re-spliced and got the shift selector to show NN. For about 5 seconds, then flash NN for a few (I can hear the relays clicking) and then BLACK. Not long enough to get in gear and move. I have replaced the relays in the Allison relay box. Still stuck. Thoughts ?
__________________
tzummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 06:15 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
If it was flashing on and off while messing with that wire and connector then I would return to that wire and connector because there is still a bad connection somewhere
__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 07:34 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
It would seem like a bad connection, low voltage to somewhere. If I had a Allison schematic it would help, probably less than you have.

I replaced the splice and thought I was clear. Turned the key on and got NN. Yea. 10 seconds later they were flashing and then out. At least something has changed. Thanks
__________________
tzummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 08:12 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
slick60's Avatar
 
Winnebago Owners Club
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Smyrna
Posts: 318
I had a similar problem and it took 3 days to isolate. Turned out to be a bad ECU. Not the best of solutions but only too 15 minutes to replace ECU and all was well. Thank goodness for Good Sam extended waqrranty.
__________________
"Life is a Journey. Enjoy the Ride"
2004 Winnebago Journey 39K w/ 330 Cummins on a Workhorse Chasis (rare but no problems yet).
slick60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 08:23 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
I'm not sitting on the side of the I 10 or in a Wally lot. Parked in the dirt in AZ. Tomorrow I plan to pursue the same wire/s for more resistance. I have no idea where an ECU might be located and only hope to find a Allison schematic. This is a 93 and may be pre ECU. Anyway tomorrow is another day in the dirt and under the dash. Thanks for all your help. This site is awesome.
__________________
tzummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 09:27 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 89
Make sure you check the connection of the wire to the battery also.
__________________
Kent and Sally Lunda
2006 Newmar Mountain Aire 4 Slide 400HP Cummins
2004 Honda Odyssey (Toad)
Kjlunda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 10:11 PM   #12
Member
 
wolfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 51
ecb

I have a 94 Safari with a 6 speed allison. It has a push pad with DDNNRR on the left side top to bottom. The ECU is mounted on the transmission. There is a wire from the engine compartment that is red on mine that goes forward with the frame rails to the ECU. Might be the same.
__________________
wolfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 07:52 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 8
I wish mine was mounted on the trans. After hours of tracing those 2 #10 wires off the battery that are shown going into the trans interface (chassis schematic) I wound up at the shifter pad where the ECU is mounted inside. After Mike Canter told me about the butt splice I found and repaired it. It gave me a lit shift pad for about 10 seconds, then flashing NN then relays activated then went black. Will not re lite unless key is off for about 20 minutes. Then the same thing. I talked to Williams Allison in Phoenix and they said take it out and bring it in. Tomorrow.
__________________
tzummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2012, 07:58 AM   #14
Moderator Emeritus
 
Mike Canter's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Freeport, ME
Posts: 4,707
Well at least you are close to WW Williams there in Phoenix. They are probably the biggest authorized Allison repair/rebuild place in the USA. Most Allison transmissions are sent to one of there places to be rebuilt.
__________________

__________________
Mike Canter
"Gunner" USN Retired, Airdale
2004 Monaco Signature 44' Conquest. Detroit 60
Mike Canter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP, She Won't Start sgtjoe National RV Owner's Forum 10 07-09-2011 10:04 PM
1988 Chevy C30 based RV w/5.7 & EFI that will not turnover and start DougCP Class C Motorhome Discussions 8 07-07-2011 09:20 PM
Volt gauge reading at start up for Dutch Aire clubmed98 Newmar Owner's Forum 7 05-26-2011 07:23 PM
A/C Hard Start Kit RJay RV Systems & Appliances 5 04-30-2011 11:29 PM
Onan 7.5 Diesel Genset generator will not start yelvero MH-General Discussions & Problems 20 03-20-2011 07:11 AM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.