Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
Old 05-30-2015, 09:53 AM   #1
Damon Challenger 372W House Batteries Don't Charge

Yes, I am a total newbie here and I am sorry for dropping a question like this on the website as my first activity as an official member but I am at my wits end.

Here goes..........

My wife and I bought a used 2005 Damon Challenger 372W from the original owner last fall. Being from Wisconsin we stored it all winter in cold storage with no issues. We brought it home, cleaned it up and plugged it in. Came home one day after work and the two house batteries had burst making a huge mess on the driveway. Given that it was plugged in and the electrical systems worked just fine, we kept the batteries in the rig for our first camping trip where we had 50-amp power. Again, no issues and everything was fine.

Memorial Day weekend we had a campsite where there would be no power so I decided to buy two new batteries. I removed the old ones, installed the new ones and connected them the same way the old ones were connected. We made the trek to northern Wisconsin and I parked the RV, leveled it and went to slide out the closet slide-out in the bedroom. Before I did that though, I turned on the interior lights and man, were they bright. I figured it was just the new batteries I didn't think much of it. I hit the switch to move the slide-out and it moved incredibly fast. Again, I was thinking it was the new batteries. I went to move the second slide-out in the bedroom and nothing happened. I tried the main slide-out and nothing happened. I tried to retract the slide out I had moved and nothing happened. That's when I realized I may have screwed something up.