RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-20-2019, 04:26 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Ancabuild's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 174
Dash A/C

Need some troubleshooting help. My dash ac is not working, I checked and my pressure is ok but compressor is not kicking in, I took it to the shop, they checked everything for leaks tried to crank it up and still nothing checked the volts going into the compressor and it was only 4 volts we disconnect it and gave the compressor 12 volts direct from the battery and voila compressor kicked on and started cooling. Can anyone tell me what is causing the 4 volts at compressor connection? Is it a computer problem?
__________________

Ancabuild is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-20-2019, 05:27 PM   #2
Senior Member


 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 167
Most all systems have a bianary or trinary [spelling?] switch which will cut the compressor off in the case of a too high of a pressure or too low. Most of the systems I am used too it is on the drier but mine is in one of the lines near the evaporator in front. I am going thru a no dash A/C problem now and have it down to bad compressor clutch. I am getting 12 volt but clutch not engaging. Your problem, from what you stated is different and electrical. It is strange to get a reading of 4 volts. Are you sure it was not 4mV.
__________________

gmc70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 05:30 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Arch Hoagland's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Clovis, CA, USA
Posts: 8,817
Year, make and model might help us help you.
__________________
2004 Monaco La Palma 36DBD, W22, 8.1, 7.1 MPG
2000 LEXUS RX300 FWD 22MPG 4020 LBS

Don't know where I'm going, spose I'll get there anyway.
Arch Hoagland is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2019, 05:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Ancabuild's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 174
It is a 2000 HR Endeavor I rebuilt all the system about 1-1/2 year ago an it work fine. At time of rebuild I replaced the dryer, evacuate the system, vacuum it and filled with the right amount of oil and freon. Yesterday the ac guy evacuated the system and checked for leaks again. But when the compressor would not kick on is when we checked it and according to him we were getting only 4v, that is when we feed 12 volts directly from the battery and the compressor kicked on. The wire that goes to the compressor is a single line and it goes into the harness that goes to the place where the computer is on the right rear access under a black plastic cover.
Ancabuild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2019, 07:11 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
CountryB's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 4,264
I agree that the Trinary switch is good candidate. Check voltage at the Trinary if you have 12V at the "COMP" terminal then your losing voltage somewhere to the compressor. But if your voltage is low (11V or less) a the the Trinary switch that mans your voltage is low coming to the Trinary switch (then check voltage at dash AC switch). Note that your setup may not have the "Fan power" depending on where your AC Condenser fan is located.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	AC Trinary Switch.JPG
Views:	10
Size:	121.2 KB
ID:	257571  
__________________
Mike ----- 2005 Beaver Patriot Thunder CAT C13 525HP, 42-ft Tag, with HydraLift
**Beaver History/Info/Chassis/Suspsn https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbToxXYREK9YdBP08Jn
**Bvr/Mnco Wiring Diagrams (84-09):https://1drv.ms/f/s!AtvAXw_lfqbTm0WTuuNqpn9a8hCh
CountryB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2019, 08:49 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Ancabuild's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 174
Thanks for all the replies, had nor had time to check it since I have been busy, but I will check it an update you. Cheers
Ancabuild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2019, 09:22 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,579
Either switch or resistive wires or connector.

Never operate the a.c. in manner described other than a touch test as the safety switches prevent failure.

4 volts indicates all switches likely okay but a resistive connection.

Unplug at compressorclutch and measure voltage on wire, likely will be 12 volts.

Locate the switches and with a.c. on should be 12 vac both sides.

Do not tug or wiggle before measurements as this may fix by bumping an intermittent connection.

The clutch pulls a bit of current so a dirty connection can cause this.
__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2019, 08:44 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Ancabuild's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Woodstock, GA
Posts: 174
Finally have time to look into this AC thing. Someone had a diagram of the ac system. I am trying to locate the trienary switch with no luck. Also it speaks of a relay that feeds directly into the compressor. Looking for all of that, sorry is taken so long to update but I have gotten myself into helping a couple of guys with their construction projects and got to finish with them before I can get back to playing with the rv
__________________

Ancabuild is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dash



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dash Air Hose/Dash Instrument Speaker Ken T. Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 6 09-08-2014 10:39 PM
Dash lights on, gauges jump. Low voltage to dash. bobioknight RV Systems & Appliances 3 05-11-2013 10:55 PM
Anyone change the tv location from below the dash to above the dash??? Born2RV MH-General Discussions & Problems 11 03-14-2010 02:53 PM
SunTek Dash Cover Discoloration of Dash vicsryd MH-General Discussions & Problems 19 08-26-2006 01:38 PM
Red Oil Pressure Signal on dash is a GM Problem in Dash Unit BEBOP Workhorse and Chevrolet Chassis Motorhome Forum 11 07-28-2005 06:47 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×