Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2013, 05:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 35
DC side not working

I have a 04 hurricane (Thor ) I had my house batteries go bad so I just replaced them. On shore power all lights & appliances are working. When I disconnect the shore power and go to the house batteries nothing works. I checked all the fuses in the dc dist box and all are ok. Fuses on the converter are ok. Back up camera works and I was able to remote start the generator. What could it be a bad dc converter? Any suggestions or fixes are much appreciated.
__________________

__________________
JPolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-28-2013, 06:01 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
trackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1,136
Did you check your switch for the 12 volt at the entry door. Must be on to activate the 12volt
__________________

__________________
trackman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 06:54 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by trackman View Post
Did you check your switch for the 12 volt at the entry door. Must be on to activate the 12volt
Yes I activated the switch. Wondering about a relay or fuse
__________________
JPolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 07:06 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
Did you get any sparks when you hooked up the new batteries ?
Is your coach on a Freightliner chassis?
Have you checked for , charging voltage from the convertor to the battery bank when plugged into shore power?
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:25 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skip426 View Post
Did you get any sparks when you hooked up the new batteries ?
Is your coach on a Freightliner chassis?
Have you checked for , charging voltage from the convertor to the battery bank when plugged into shore power?
Hi Skip
I checked the voltage while on shore power and got 12.8 volts. It is not on a freight liner chassis is on a ford. The batteries did not spark while connecting.
__________________
JPolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 08:56 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
94-Newmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,043
Look around for a blade fuse as pictured below. These type of fuses (150-175 amp) are used pretty extensively on the house battery side in many units. Unfortunately these are notorious for breaking due to vibration and not necessarily due to high amperage.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	FRAPDNKUUECH.JPG
Views:	59
Size:	19.3 KB
ID:	44950  
__________________
94-Newmar Kountry Star 40-KSDP
Spartan/Cummins 8.3C-300HP/Allison 3060 WTEC-II/25yr RV Tech RVIA Certified/Onan-Cummins Certified
94-Newmar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 09:04 PM   #7
Community Moderator
 
"007"'s Avatar


 
Nor'easters Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 26,749
Are your batteries hooked up correctly?
Are the batteries same type 6v or 12v?
Top links have info on batteries.
Make sure you have good ground connection to chassis frame from battery.
__________________
98KSCA, 99MACA, 03 KSCA-3740- 8.1 Chev-- ALLISON Trans, now in good hands
VISIT the NEWMAR QUICK TIPS & EASYMODS 1 & 2
QUICK TIPS # 3
RV SYSTEMS & APPLIANCES & RECALLS --- TECH INFORMATION
"007" is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 09:44 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by 94-Newmar View Post
Look around for a blade fuse as pictured below. These type of fuses (150-175 amp) are used pretty extensively on the house battery side in many units. Unfortunately these are notorious for breaking due to vibration and not necessarily due to high amperage.
Hi
Looked around and did not see that type . Thanks for your help
__________________
JPolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 09:45 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by "007" View Post
Are your batteries hooked up correctly?
Are the batteries same type 6v or 12v?
Top links have info on batteries.
Make sure you have good ground connection to chassis frame from battery.
Batteries are hooked up correctly, two 12volt, ground is good.
__________________
JPolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 10:16 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Skip426's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Powell River, B.C.
Posts: 14,970
Looks like, it's down to following the positive cable looking for a fuse or relay, volt meter in hand .

Another member found the fuse in the positive cable , after finding out that it is required by the Underwriters Laboratory , for fire protection. No run of a power cable over a certain length without a fuse. My coach has one within 3 feet of the battery positive post.
__________________
99DSDP 3884, Freightliner, XC, CAT 3126B, 300 HP /ALLISON 3060
2000 Caravan toad, Remco & Blue Ox.
Skip426 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 10:30 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skip426 View Post
Looks like, it's down to following the positive cable looking for a fuse or relay, volt meter in hand .

Another member found the fuse in the positive cable , after finding out that it is required by the Underwriters Laboratory , for fire protection. No run of a power cable over a certain length without a fuse. My coach has one within 3 feet of the battery positive post.
Skip thanks I will give that a try tomorrow, I will keep you posted.
__________________
JPolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 04:06 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
mgscott4's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO./Pollock, LA.
Posts: 1,549
If you have a FW-2050 Battery Control Center (BCC) under your hood. Take the cover off and reset CB 5. CB 5 is mounted along the edge of the circuit board. This circuit breaker has a small black button on the side of it. Press it in to reset battery power to the coach.

If you have a different BCC, I would start troubleshooting there. Make sure you are getting power from your coach disconnect relay when the relay is engaged and not disconnected. From the relay, the power goes to the distribution board. Make sure the 12 volts is getting there.

When on shore power (or generator ), the 12 volt power is coming from your converter through the house fuse panel to your BCC, when not on shore power (or generator,) the 12 volt comes straight from your batteries to your BCC. Two different inputs to the BCC for coach power. Sounds like your are only getting the 12 volts when on shore power and not battery power.

Don't get me started on BCC Chassis power, many Thor motor homes are having issues with the chassis disconnect relay, and has resulted in a recall of the BCC.
__________________
06 Hurricane 34FT WH W20 Chassis 8.1L 132K, Steersafe, Koni Shocks, DIY Trac Bar, Tri-Metric 2025RV Battery Monitor, 4-6V Batteries, Scan Gauge 2, Crossfires, 735W Solar Morningstar MPPT-60, WG T4 In-Motion Sat, XM Radio, 07 Chevy Malibu Maxx Toad, Falcon 2, Brake Buddy, Escapee
mgscott4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 05:45 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 35
Quote:
Originally Posted by mgscott4 View Post
If you have a FW-2050 Battery Control Center (BCC) under your hood. Take the cover off and reset CB 5. CB 5 is mounted along the edge of the circuit board. This circuit breaker has a small black button on the side of it. Press it in to reset battery power to the coach.

If you have a different BCC, I would start troubleshooting there. Make sure you are getting power from your coach disconnect relay when the relay is engaged and not disconnected. From the relay, the power goes to the distribution board. Make sure the 12 volts is getting there.

When on shore power (or generator ), the 12 volt power is coming from your converter through the house fuse panel to your BCC, when not on shore power (or generator,) the 12 volt comes straight from your batteries to your BCC. Two different inputs to the BCC for coach power. Sounds like your are only getting the 12 volts when on shore power and not battery power.

Don't get me started on BCC Chassis power, many Thor motor homes are having issues with the chassis disconnect relay, and has resulted in a recall of the BCC.


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1872237135.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	342.5 KB
ID:	44968

Hi,

Your solution seems to isolate the problem I am having. I check the BCC and could not find CB5. I attached a photo of the BCC. Does it look familiar or maybe point mien the right direction. All your help is greatly appreciated.
__________________
JPolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2013, 10:42 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
mgscott4's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Kansas City, MO./Pollock, LA.
Posts: 1,549
It is not a FW-2050. You need to get a schematic of it. Do have manufacturer and part number? It looks like "Intellec" not "RV Custom Products"

I see the 2 test points on the bottom, Says "see service manual"
I did not see any circuit breakers.

Post the manufacturer and part number, maybe someone has schematic to share.
__________________

__________________
06 Hurricane 34FT WH W20 Chassis 8.1L 132K, Steersafe, Koni Shocks, DIY Trac Bar, Tri-Metric 2025RV Battery Monitor, 4-6V Batteries, Scan Gauge 2, Crossfires, 735W Solar Morningstar MPPT-60, WG T4 In-Motion Sat, XM Radio, 07 Chevy Malibu Maxx Toad, Falcon 2, Brake Buddy, Escapee
mgscott4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Driver's side electric window '14 DS just tasha Newmar Owner's Forum 1 08-23-2013 08:22 AM
Allegro Breeze Basement outlet not working Ducatifast Tiffin Motorhomes Owners Forum 9 08-09-2013 07:53 AM
AC not working dls461 RV Systems & Appliances 5 06-28-2013 08:12 PM
Dometic Side by Side Refrigerator Deputy Chief PO RV Systems & Appliances 3 06-11-2013 07:47 PM
Side to side leveling question tsplace Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 06-10-2013 07:50 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.