Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-01-2013, 11:03 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 35
DC water pump install

Hi

I am installing a dc water pump for a water dispensing system in my 04 30q Hurricane. I am going to run a dedicated line to the dc fuse box ( I have an open slot ) the pump will work on a demand valve system. The specs say max amps 3.0. What size fuse should I use in the dc side of the fuse box? I am not sure because most of the fuses are 15 amps including the one on the dc pump for the potable water system.

Thanks for your help.
__________________

__________________
JPolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-01-2013, 11:13 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
siggyd's Avatar
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 667
I would use a 10 Amp fuse, use # 14 AWG wiring or better.
Siggy
__________________

__________________
Siggy & Ursula.
2011 Newmar DSDP 4020 (no Tag, no DEF, 07 emission),
FTL XCR ,ISL 400,2015 Jeep Cherokee Limited, 4x4, V6, Active Drive II, BrakeBuddy
siggyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 04:27 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 35
Thank you! Will do.
__________________
JPolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 04:39 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Jim_HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Full time RV'er
Posts: 1,659
The reason a 10 amp fuse would probably be appropriate is that a DC motor typically uses 3X it's run current to start it's rotation. Once it's running, it'll be drawing no more then 3 amp. That's assuming the supply voltage stays relatively constant and at the voltage rating of the motor.

However, not all motors are created equally so in the industry we say that the starting current can be 3X to 5X the run current. Which could make a 15 amp fuse necessary. Especially if you have chronic low battery voltage. You'll find that out if that 10 amp fuse blows more then once a year (which I doubt will happen).
__________________
'02 Winnebago Journey DL, DSDP, 36' of fun.

Visit my RV Travel & Repair Blog at : http://chaos.goblinbox.com
Jim_HiTek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 04:58 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 35
Jim thanks for the explanation. That makes perfect sense.
__________________
JPolito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 08:39 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4,493
Does the pump have a fuse?

How long is the wire when installed?

12 volt systems require larger wires than normal depending on length and current, with low voltage the resistance of the wire makes a difference.

If pump has a 3 amp fuse then fuse can go at pump end, with " wire fuse " at main connection point.

Say you use 12 ga wire for minimum voltage drop, wire is rated for 20 amps, so you use 20 amp fuse in the fuse block.

This allows other things to be powered by same wire as well.

At the pump you use the fuse the pump is rated for, if pump is in hard to get to place then fuse wire with pump rated fuse.
__________________

__________________
Tony & Lori
1989 Country Coach Savannah SE
TQ60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
water, install



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any Monaco Vesta Owners Here? tjd Monaco Owner's Forum 2024 Yesterday 08:12 PM
Air in water lines Mrs Klein Travel Trailer Discussion 11 06-04-2013 05:45 PM
water on slide-outs nomosnow Class A Motorhome Discussions 15 06-03-2013 09:26 PM
Black Water Tank rogo88 Class A Motorhome Discussions 13 06-01-2013 10:52 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.