Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 03-02-2015, 02:57 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 1,733
DIAGNOSE loss of A/C from the genset

We rarely use our genset because we keep the coach on SP, so just for kicks I started the gennie in order to keep fluids moving.

Noticed that there wasn't any A/C in the coach. Yikes!

What are the first couple of things to check out? I'm a novice with Coach electrical systems.

Guardian 7500w gennie, BTW.
__________________

__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 52K miles
bamaboy473 is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-02-2015, 03:48 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 1,733
"What has changed?", is the first thing to ask....so I thought about it. Last weekend I cleaned up the coach in order to put it up for sale and during the wipe-down of the genset, I'd inadvertently flipped the main breaker to the OFF position.

Flip to ON, fire it up and....

Easy fixes are always best!
__________________

__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 52K miles
bamaboy473 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 03:54 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
336muffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,569
Didn't even give us a chance!
__________________
American Tradition 42R-Cadillac SRX Blue Ox Koni 5050XL MCD Scangauge D Samsung rf197
Fulltime since 2012
336muffin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 08:06 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,686
Might be cheaper to just replace the genset. There, I said it anyway.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 08:31 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
MisterT's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: western NC mountains!
Posts: 2,727
Smile

I also rarely use my genset, though it is very nice and convenient when you DO need it.


On at least one occasion, though, while at the Walmart Corp HQ parking lot for an overnight 'dry camping' in Bentonville, AR, I wanted to run the genset to recharge my batteries since I had lost power on my inverter due to low voltage/battery charge.(tvs, sat dish receivers, fridge, lights, etc)
I turned on the genset, ran for a while, but noticed no difference in the battery charge or voltage. Confused, but also knowing that the DP engine also charges the batteries, I cranked up the engine and the batteries charged with no problem.


Now, I thought for sure there was something wrong with the genset : ( not a good thought.


I decided to wait until my next stop at a CW or other facility to have someone diagnose it.
Funny thing happened along the way, though. We were about ready to leave an rv park several days later when I decided to check the fluids on the genset.
Low and behold, the BREAKER on the genset was tripped.
Now I know why there was no charging of the batteries while the genset was running. EASY FIX. I wish they were all this easy.


I also have tried using the genset AGS(automatice genset start), but have yet to be successful with it powering up the genset automatically when the batteries reach a certain 'low level'. I set it to start the genset when the battery voltage fell below 11.9v.
I also found out later, by actually referring to the MC-RC remote manual, that the AGS (RV)option will revert to OFF if you MANUALLY start your genset, unless you program it not to. Maybe that was part of the problem.
__________________
MisterT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2015, 08:51 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
mchero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Full Time USA
Posts: 1,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ray,IN View Post
Might be cheaper to just replace the genset. There, I said it anyway.

Right,

Run out and purchase a new generator w/o even determining what's wrong with the current jenset! LOL I've seen it all now!



Your 120VAC aok when plugged into shore power?

As others have stated most generators will have one or two breakers on the generator itself. Must be on, not tripped. Suggest off then back on.

Xfer switches, the box with all the relays & such. Sometimes the xfer switch will "hang" meaning perhaps a relay does not close completely so you don't see ANY electric. In a case like this I would switch back to shore power by shutting down the generator, plugging back into shore power. When you plug back in to shore power do you have lights? Try the generator again & report back.

Thanks
__________________
Robert & Deb
07 Discovery 39v FWS Full Timers, Yuma AZ
1K solar - 05 Jeep Grand Cherokee
mchero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 07:01 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
bamaboy473's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gulf Coast, Alabama
Posts: 1,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by mchero View Post
In a case like this I would switch back to shore power by shutting down the generator, plugging back into shore power. When you plug back in to shore power do you have lights? Try the generator again & report back.

Thanks

Post #2 covers it, try the simple things first. I'd bumped the breaker on the genset while wiping off the dust. Re-set breaker, start genset, marvel at how everything now works properly, pat self on back for not having to spend a day on this project!
__________________
Rick and Sandy
2003 American Eagle, 52K miles
bamaboy473 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 07:17 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,787
Well normally I would check the 2nd item on this list first, but in if the Genset is an ONAN (I do not know about other makes)

Did the generator keep running? ONAN RV generators check to make sure they are generating 120vac , if they are not, then they shut down, no need burning fuel if you are not making power.. So this is the first test on an ONAN, and I assume some other makes as well.

Next.. ON THE GENERATOR itself are usually two circuit breakers,,, These are kind of senistive to outside fources (Bumps in road, Sudden stops, that kind of thing) and are likely in the OFF position.

#3 is the automatic transfer switch (Assuming you have one) or the manual transfer system (if you do not have an ATS) Testing the ATS takes tools.. In the case of the MTS .. PLUG IT IT

(MTS: an outlet on the RV you manually plug the shore cord into for generator power).
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 12:41 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Ray,IN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: North America somewhere
Posts: 13,686
Quote:
Originally Posted by mchero View Post
Right,

Run out and purchase a new generator w/o even determining what's wrong with the current jenset! LOL I've seen it all now!
You couldn't see the humor in that? Re-read his posts.


Your 120VAC aok when plugged into shore power?

As others have stated most generators will have one or two breakers on the generator itself. Must be on, not tripped. Suggest off then back on.

Xfer switches, the box with all the relays & such. Sometimes the xfer switch will "hang" meaning perhaps a relay does not close completely so you don't see ANY electric. In a case like this I would switch back to shore power by shutting down the generator, plugging back into shore power. When you plug back in to shore power do you have lights? Try the generator again & report back.

Thanks
Wish there was s tongue-in-cheek smiley.
__________________
2000 Winnebago Ultimate Freedom USQ40JD, ISC 8.3 Cummins 350, Spartan MM Chassis. USA 1SG, retired;PPA,Good Sam Life member,FMCA."We the people are the rightful masters of both the Congress and the Courts - not to overthrow the Constitution but to overthrow men who pervert the Constitution. "Abraham Lincoln"
Ray,IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2015, 08:03 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 25
If you have an Intelletec controller/thermostat, bad house batteries might be your problem. When running on the generator, bad house batteries will cause the 120 to 12 volt converter to draw more power and the Intelletec device will sense there is not enough power available to run the A/C. Does the A/C fan run but no compressor? That's most likely what's going on. The Intellectec devices are pretty trouble free and problems are usually something external.
__________________

__________________
garymunson is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Can Hear You Now - A/C Mufflers Dr4Film Monaco Owner's Forum 44 08-18-2015 09:32 AM
A tale of my A/C replacement K-Star RV Systems & Appliances 3 08-16-2014 08:17 AM
Coach A/C vs. Cab A/C, Better fuel economy... fact or fiction? Mark Spears Class C Motorhome Discussions 13 08-15-2014 05:43 AM
Intellitec remote start of generator, front A/C & rear A/C not working in bedroom rlmorrison Gulf Stream Owner's Forum 1 08-14-2014 05:04 AM
Rear A/C Issue Koop Alpine Coach Owner's Forum 10 02-21-2014 08:28 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.