RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-08-2018, 03:43 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoCoDave View Post
Can one infer that the Motosat Nomad antenna will still be able to find 101W using the surviving signal?
Thanks,
The carrier stream and frequencies are the same. It is the information contained on the stream is encoded differently. If your receiver can decode the MPEG-4 signal, you are set.
__________________

__________________
Jim & Roy Davis
2016 Hurricane 31S
1961 Chev Rampside toad
Beau388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-08-2018, 03:53 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beau388 View Post
The carrier stream and frequencies are the same. It is the information contained on the stream is encoded differently. If your receiver can decode the MPEG-4 signal, you are set.
That would imply the any receiver that can handle Mpeg 4 will work. That would be nice. Love to get a real announcement since I have no Mpeg4 receivers at the moment, but 2-18" dishes, one 3 LNB Slimline and one 18x20...and they are not telling me I need to upgrade as of yet. Strange.
__________________

__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 04:14 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 466
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sbrownstein View Post
That would imply the any receiver that can handle Mpeg 4 will work. That would be nice. Love to get a real announcement since I have no Mpeg4 receivers at the moment, but 2-18" dishes, one 3 LNB Slimline and one 18x20...and they are not telling me I need to upgrade as of yet. Strange.
I don't know if the D-12 and R-16 receivers are MPEG-4 capable, but all receivers numbered H-20 or HR-20 and above are MPEG- 4 capable. All SWM equipment is MPEG-4 capable. The capabilities of the receives is listed on the Solid Signal web site and in the operators manuals that came with the receivers.
__________________
Jim & Roy Davis
2016 Hurricane 31S
1961 Chev Rampside toad
Beau388 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 04:29 PM   #18
"Formerly Diplomat Don"
 
Dutch Star Don's Avatar
 
Newmar Owners Club
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Moorpark, Ca.
Posts: 14,246
"Beau388"....A little technical, but good info.....thanks

Now if ATT would allow you to own two Genies at one household, so both my recorders would be the same. Sounds a little uppity, but I would really like to record 5 things at a time in my coach versus 2.
__________________
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018
2016 GMC Canyon 4WD Crew Cab
Dutch Star Don is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2018, 04:50 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Sbrownstein's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Beau388 View Post
I don't know if the D-12 and R-16 receivers are MPEG-4 capable, but all receivers numbered H-20 or HR-20 and above are MPEG- 4 capable. All SWM equipment is MPEG-4 capable. The capabilities of the receives is listed on the Solid Signal web site and in the operators manuals that came with the receivers.
Well, I hope you are right. I have 2 D-12s and they are both multiswitch and SWM compatible. That would imply they can handle Mpeg-4 but it's hard to find a spec anywhere on anything that technical.
__________________
Scott Brownstein
Palm Island, Florida
2015 Georgetown 335DS
Sbrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2018, 06:41 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Lakeman1's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lakemurray,SC
Posts: 1,076
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sbrownstein View Post
Nope, the Genie uses SWM and the single LNB dish does not. You can turn your old receiver on for $4 a month...if it still works!
My dumb ass gave my old receivers to the installer when he was here. So now he wants to sell me a receiver for $150 for the RV. He said DirecTV would charge me $7.99 a month.
__________________
2004 Pace Arrow 37-C WH W-22
2012 Jeep Wrangler Sahara tode or
2005 Harley/Lehman trike/Featherlite trl
Lakeman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 07:12 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
Bill2's Avatar
 
Tiffin Owners Club
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere on the road
Posts: 524
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dutch Star Don View Post
"Beau388"....A little technical, but good info.....thanks

Now if ATT would allow you to own two Genies at one household, so both my recorders would be the same. Sounds a little uppity, but I would really like to record 5 things at a time in my coach versus 2.
Don I have the genie and it genie mini in my motorhome and I can record five things at one time with the swim . We can also watch different programs in the front and in the back of the RV
Bill2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 06:37 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 38
This is what I have been getting from Direct tv every couple weeks.

DIRECTV
Action needed on your account.

View online

Some of your DIRECTV(R) equipment needs to be replaced*. No worries—we'll cover it.
*EQUIPMENT NON-RETURN & ADD'L FEES, CONDITIONS & RESTRICTIONS APPLY. For eligible customers only. See details below.

Starting on 4/30/19, you will no longer be able to view your local channels with some of your current DIRECTV equipment. All you need to do is call us to order your new equipment. There’s no additional cost* to you.
Just call 800.531.5000 and ask to upgrade your equipment
drycamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 06:47 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
CoCoDave's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sequim, WA
Posts: 1,379
Quote:
Originally Posted by drycamp View Post
This is what I have been getting from Direct tv every couple weeks.

DIRECTV
Action needed on your account
Some of your DIRECTV(R) equipment needs to be replaced*. No worries—we'll cover it.
*EQUIPMENT NON-RETURN & ADD'L FEES, CONDITIONS & RESTRICTIONS APPLY. For eligible customers only. See details below.

Starting on 4/30/19, you will no longer be able to view your local channels with some of your current DIRECTV equipment. All you need to do is call us to order your new equipment. There’s no additional cost* to you.
Just call 800.531.5000 and ask to upgrade your equipment
What equipment do you have? Is it THR22 (HD) or the Series II (SD) DVR (s)?
__________________
Dave & Cathy, 2002 Country Coach Affinity, 42', #6103, CAT C12, 2018 GMC Acadia, Linux Mint
CoCoDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2018, 07:09 PM   #24
Member
 
jerrybb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 39
Re DTV and SWM

I take my Genie box with me and go through the sat setup menu each time. It defaults to SWM and I change it to Multi-switch, then antenna to the 18" round. No HD but it does work ok. One thing I hate, you have to go into the menu mode as soon as it's plugged in. If you let it go to the sat search mode, you're stuck until you pull the plug and start over again. I could never get out of that mode unless I cut the power. Back at home it'll find the correct setup automatically.
__________________

jerrybb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
directv



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error 775 Problem with Winegard SK-SWM3 & Directv Genie receiver Rvr rat Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 10-02-2018 04:58 PM
DTV Wired Mini Genie or Wireless Mini Genie MoHoGo Entegra Owner's Forum 12 06-25-2016 05:33 PM
Adding a Genie to Directv HD system Steven D Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 34 03-26-2015 10:24 PM
Any one have a directv "wireless" Genie installed. Does it work well? Tireman1 Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 9 09-17-2014 06:13 PM
Has anyone tried the Directv Genie hwayne Newmar Owner's Forum 12 07-17-2014 05:36 PM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×