Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-25-2016, 09:38 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 7
Dish Network

We have dish network and were trying to avoid getting a second receiver for the back bedroom but we do want to have the satellite on each tv. We have upgraded to smart samsung hdtv's. Is there a short cut?
__________________

__________________
Bags4266 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-25-2016, 09:41 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
vettenuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,577
I have been investigating this as well. You can get a HDMI repeater that will send the front signal to the rear bedroom but won't be able to watch a different channel.
__________________

__________________
2005 Newmar Kountry Star 3742 - Gas
ACME Eze Tow Dolly
2008 Chevy Malibu Toad
vettenuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 09:48 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
DMTTRANSPORT's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Henderson, Nevada
Posts: 1,225
A long HDMI Cable works too. run it over to the side you need it on, down the post and back.
__________________
2005 Newmar DS 4023, Spartan Chassis, ISL 370 Cumapart, 2008 Jeep Rubicon 4dr, 2015 Kia Soul, 1969 Italian & 2004 Akita
DMTTRANSPORT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 10:14 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Dennis_K's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lake Havasu City, AZ
Posts: 1,085
Most (if not all) DISH HD receivers have an HDMI and a Cable output. If you don't need HD in the bedroom you can use the RF cable output for the bedroom and the HDMI for the front TV. That's what I have been doing for years but both TV will be on the same channel.
__________________
2012 Monaco Knight 36 PFT
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland
2005 Jeep Rubicon Unlimited on 2007 16' Car Hauler trailer
Dennis_K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 10:38 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
MSGulfCoast's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Long Beach, MS
Posts: 110
To add to what Dennis K said if your receiver is a dual-tuner type (VIP 722 for instance) the cable out port will allow you to watch a different channel on the second TV albeit at SD quality.
__________________
'98 Monaco Dynasty
2015 Ford F150 FX4 Toad
MSGulfCoast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 05:44 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
mojoracing's Avatar


 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: northern IL
Posts: 2,557
Quote:
Originally Posted by MSGulfCoast View Post
To add to what Dennis K said if your receiver is a dual-tuner type (VIP 722 for instance) the cable out port will allow you to watch a different channel on the second TV albeit at SD quality.

I believe it depends on what dish you have. My wineguard will let you watch different channels on both tvs but only if they are on the same satellite.
__________________
2014 Fleetwood Bounder 35k
mojoracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 06:03 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
vettenuts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 2,577
Also depends on the receiver, the newest 211z only has HDMI output, no coax.
__________________
2005 Newmar Kountry Star 3742 - Gas
ACME Eze Tow Dolly
2008 Chevy Malibu Toad
vettenuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 06:36 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
bigben's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 700
Actually, the VIP211Z has a HDMI output and a composite output. This is important if you want to feed the composite out into a RF modulator and back into the cable for your motorhome. I enable this so my grandkids could watch a dvd on their TVs via the HDMI, while my wife and I watch the Dish Sat via the TV cable connection.
__________________
US Army Retired - loving it in our Challenger 37TB.

bigben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2016, 07:12 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
lllkrob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,681
I would suggest you go to this post in the technical forum and review the article highlighted to explore your options. These are the best diagrams I have seen for different types of DISH Network connections.

DISH TV RV Network Diagrams
__________________
2013 Tiffin Phaeton 40QBH
2016 Chevrolet Equinox LTZ AWD V6
lllkrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 06:27 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 7
Thanks to everyone's support. Rob, I have been to that web site and followed his diagram with two tvs and a 211z receiver to the T. I spent about sixty dollars buying the two components to make it work and the best I got was sat. TV on front TV and antenna TV on back.
At this point I'm throwing the towel in and buying a second receiver.
__________________
Bags4266 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 07:17 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
patmsp's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 399
I just upgraded to the Hopper DVR from Dish and got a wireless Joey for the rear TV. Works perfectly and I can watch any channel in the bedroom and it's HD.
__________________
Pat and Judy, Molly and Emma
2000 Monaco Dynasty-2007 Lexus GX470
Winter S/W Florida....Summer Eastern Tennessee
patmsp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 07:17 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
bigben's Avatar
 
Ford Super Duty Owner
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 700
Do what you gotta do - but I routinely use my 211Z wired into my motorhome via the rear cable input through the receiver.

I posted my method in this thread - Tailgater on Challenger 37TB

Good luck
__________________
US Army Retired - loving it in our Challenger 37TB.

bigben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 08:19 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
pcurt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1,295
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bags4266 View Post
Thanks to everyone's support. Rob, I have been to that web site and followed his diagram with two tvs and a 211z receiver to the T. I spent about sixty dollars buying the two components to make it work and the best I got was sat. TV on front TV and antenna TV on back.
At this point I'm throwing the towel in and buying a second receiver.
Sounds like you are particular about tv like I am. I screwed around for two years trying to get sat tv to the rear bedroom using all manor of devices. The solution was an additional receiver. The receiver must be wired direct and not go through a mechanical spliter.

The next issue is going to be network channels (cbs,nbc,etc). Then the only solution, that is not a PIA, is direct tv with Distant network service. Now you have to have a Winegard dish either on the roof or a manual dish on the ground.

I ended up throwing all my dish stuff away and going to direct tv. It is more expensive but less hassle IMOP.
__________________
Pcurt
2007 Fleetwood Bounder 38V
pcurt23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2016, 08:38 AM   #14
JDT
Senior Member
 
JDT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,240
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bags4266 View Post
Thanks to everyone's support. Rob, I have been to that web site and followed his diagram with two tvs and a 211z receiver to the T. I spent about sixty dollars buying the two components to make it work and the best I got was sat. TV on front TV and antenna TV on back.
At this point I'm throwing the towel in and buying a second receiver.
That is what I did. We went with one for a long time but the wife likes different shows. We have a Hopper and 2 Joey's at home so I just keep the 211z's in the Winslow and activate them when we travel. At only 7 bucks a month for the extra 211z it is well worth it. Not sure what antenna you are using but some of them do limit what a second receiver will do. I bit the bullet last year and got a Winegard Trav'ler so that is no longer an issue.

One tip I picked up from this forum was getting an over the air module for both 211z's that ties the receivers to your over the air antenna. With them you can go to your menu settings and have it download any local channels it can find. It puts them in your guide highlighted in yellow. It eliminates the need to go back and forth on your tv settings to different inputs. We find that in most places we get enough of the locals to not need to go thru the hassle of changing our service address to get local channels.
__________________

__________________
Jim,
2013 Excel Winslow 34RKM
2017 Ford King Ranch dually, PowerStroke, 4X4
JDT is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dish



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Dish Network Local Channels Gadget Man Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 11 10-10-2015 07:58 PM
Frustrating day trying to get DISH Network info MikeGriffin Newmar Owner's Forum 18 09-03-2015 07:31 PM
HD Dish Network DVR not working with Kingdome in-motion satellite dish ? Harry B Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 14 05-02-2014 09:38 AM
Dish Network Pay-as-you-go problems Ed_G Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 4 01-19-2014 01:10 PM
Winegard SK-3005 and Dish Network? smiller Technology: Internet, TV, Satellite, Cell Phones, etc. 16 12-11-2013 04:48 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.