Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-15-2011, 11:06 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 28,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hillbilly2 View Post
If it was a welder outlet, it would be straight 240, with the third wire as a ground. Not advisable to use as 50 amp 120/240 rv service.
Doing this will let all the smoke out of any appliance that is turned on in the RV!!
But if you need new appliances anyway.............
__________________

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 CR-V
Mr_D is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-16-2011, 06:07 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Blairsville,GA
Posts: 257
Quote:
Originally Posted by don-deb View Post
A driven ground is a back-up ground /neutral.....incase you loose the neutral on the utility service line. It stays out of the circuit ....unlike the service neutral.....that carrys amperage back to the utility. Never tie the two together.
The National Electrical Code (NEC) requires the ground rod (grounding electrode) to be tied together, but only at the service. They are always tied together if properly installed. If it is driven at the some point past the service disconnect, it is connected to the equipment ground, not the nueutral, but is still physically connected to neutral back at the service where the equipment ground is connected. Yes, it is sort of a backup in case of a broken neutral, but it is designed to help limit the amount of damaged caused by an open neutral.
__________________

__________________
Hillbilly2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 06:47 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
jackrobinryan's Avatar
 
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: wherever
Posts: 432
Quote:
Originally Posted by Olpapa View Post
They all sound simple enough but as I said in my comments...step in water and touch this wire and that wire and...you know the rest. I think I'll just hire an electrician so it is correct.

Thanks again,

Olpapa

PS - I will go fishing while they install this hookup.

Good idea!! A better and safer use of your time and talent. The electrician should be done when you return with dinner.
__________________
2007 Adventurer 38T w/
sway & trac bars, Koni FSDs and SafeT+
2006 Jeep Liberty toad
jackrobinryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 08:51 AM   #18
Moderator Emeritus
 
Gary RVRoamer's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Silver Springs, FL. USA
Posts: 18,073
Do NOT try to use the welder/dryer 3 prong, 220v outlet or its wiring. It lacks the neutral needed by an RV for either 30A or 50A service.

Be careful of hiring a residential electrician as well. They often know nothing about the type of service required for an RV and have all too frequently created disasters in the RV.
Here is an excellent guide you can print and hand to the electrician:

http://www.myrv.us/Imgs/PDF/50-amp%20Service.pdf
__________________
Gary Brinck
Former owner of 2004 American Tradition
Home is in the Ocala Nat'l Forest near Ocala, FL
Summers in Black Mountain, NC
Gary RVRoamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 09:15 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
docj's Avatar
Official iRV2 Sponsor
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,713
Quote:
Originally Posted by don-deb View Post
A 220 electric stove does NOT use a NEUTRAL......just 2 hots and a GROUND..........
This is not 100% correct. National Electric Code used to permit stoves to use a 3-wire configuration in which the neutral and ground were shared. In new installations code now requires that stoves have basically the same 4-wire installation as any other 240V appliance. The stove has always needed the ability to have 120V available to power the lights, clock, etc.
__________________
Joel Weiss--WiFiRanger RV Ambassador
RVParkReviews administrator
2000 40' Beaver Patriot Thunder Princeton CAT C-12
docj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 10:43 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,358
This looks like an accident waiting to happen;
Fellow worker decided to wire in a 220 air in his house; his wife is now a widow.
__________________
melvonnar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2011, 12:08 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
wa8yxm's Avatar
 
Damon Owners Club
Workhorse Chassis Owner
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 22,792
Quote:
Originally Posted by don-deb View Post
A 220 electric stove does NOT use a NEUTRAL......just 2 hots and a GROUND..........

The best is to hire an electrician.........
A 220 volt WELDER does not use 120 volts, true. Likewise a 220 volt Air Compressor.

But a Oven/Range and a Dryer both use 120 volts as well as 220.. Ask me to prove it and I will point out the timer circuits.. Both Dryers and Ovens often have timer circuits, these use 120 volt motors. The drum motor in a dryer may be 120 volt as well.. Some dryers have light bulbs in them (Used to anyway) and many Ranges have a light, and/or a vent fan in the hood, all these are 120 volt

Only the heat elements are 240 volt.

So a Range does use 120 volt.. Oh, it will have a 120 volt accessory socket on it too... You can verify this with your eyes.
__________________
Home is where I park it!
wa8yxm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 09:06 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
BABrede's Avatar
 
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 108
I have tried this.
After replacing 2 TV's, an inverter, transfer box, and lord knows what else they installed. I will forever more hire a qualified electrician AND supply him with schematic drawings on RV hookups. RV stuff is totally different, even most electricians don't know the difference.

Kerry
__________________

__________________
2000 Fleetwood American Eagle DP
2010 Cadillac SRX, 4 bicycles
Fulltiming since Oct. 2, 2010. Kerry & Bess Ann
BABrede is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
service



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kudos to Coach-net, Cummins NW & Spartan Chassis Customer Service Spikester Class A Motorhome Discussions 2 11-11-2010 09:18 PM
Power Monitor showing 50A service when on 30A service Yoda2405 RV Systems & Appliances 3 10-26-2010 04:08 AM
Service Contract United Service Protection Samflhomes iRV2.com General Discussion 6 06-08-2009 01:04 PM
Generator problem after service AFChap MH-General Discussions & Problems 6 05-29-2009 08:57 AM
FL Factory Service (Gaffney) Gary RVRoamer Freightliner Motorhome Chassis Forum 10 04-27-2007 01:36 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.