RV Trip Planning Discussions

Go Back   iRV2 Forums > MOTORHOME FORUMS > Class A Motorhome Discussions
Click Here to Login
Join iRV2 Today

Mission Statement: Supporting thoughtful exchange of knowledge, values and experience among RV enthusiasts.
Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on iRV2
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 10-16-2019, 09:15 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 5
Does Generators provide power to all outlets?

So this passed week Northern California has a power outage for a few days and we had a chance to try the generator in our 2016 38' Adventurer Class A MH. It is new to us, so this whole experience was a good test of our rig and its boondocking capabilities...

It all worked out great and was very helpful during the power outage. But we did notice something odd. It seems all the power outlets in the MH did not work. In fact, most seemed not to function while others did. Namely the one next to the bed where I plug my CPAP mcahine into was not fucntioning...

Is this normal?
__________________

4US2NJY is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 RV Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

iRV2.com RV Community - Are you about to start a new improvement on your RV or need some help with some maintenance? Do you need advice on what products to buy? Or maybe you can give others some advice? No matter where you fit in you'll find that iRV2 is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with other RV owners, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create an RV blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-16-2019, 09:18 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Mr_D's Avatar
 
Country Coach Owners Club
Winnebago Owners Club
Solo Rvers Club
iRV2 No Limits Club
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Vancouver, WA
Posts: 36,305
Maybe and maybe not. Depends on how the rig is wired. All of mine work all the time either from shore power, generator or inverter.
__________________

__________________
2009 45' Magna 630 w/Cummins ISX 650 HP/1950 Lbs Ft
Charter Good Sam Lifetime Member, FMCA, SKP
RV'ing since 1957, NRA Benefactor Life, towing '14 Jeep JKU Dragon Edition
Mr_D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2019, 09:28 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
96Bounder1st's Avatar
 
Monaco Owners Club
Fleetwood Owners Club
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 530
No, that would not be normal. Did you check all your breakers, including the inverter?
Not sure how yours is set up but I have two panels, one for AC and one for the inverter.
GFCI plugs, found in weird places, at times can trip and not be apparent.
If you have GFCI breakers they take the place of GFCI plugs.

Just my limited knowledge of the power system in a MH.

Good luck

Terry & Pat
__________________
2002 Monaco Windsor 40PKD. Marjorie 2.
2015 Equinox V6 Roadmaster tow setup
1996 Fleetwood Bounder 36S P32, AKA Marjorie in storage till spring then for sale.
96Bounder1st is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2019, 09:48 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,488
The quick answer is that the generator should supply all the outlets that are powered when you are hooked up to shore power.


Mr. D's comment is telling you to take a look for 2 circuit breaker panels - one of them only passes power from the shore power cord and generator, the other passes power from those AND from your *inverter* when you have neither shore power nor the generator running. The inverter takes 12vDC from your "house" batteries and turns it into a limited amount of 120vAC - and usually the inverter powers things you'd use during quiet time in a camp ground, like the TVs, DVD player, satellite receiver, and probably a couple of outlets for charging phones or powering medical devices like CPAP machines when shore power is unavailable.


The inverter has circuit breakers on the device itself, usually the little "pop out" button breakers, and often they are on the side of the inverter you can't see from the front of the device. Depending on the exact model of inverter, you should have a breaker or fuse on the battery side and a breaker(s) on the 120v output side. The inverter has a "pass through" function that kicks in when you are on shore power or the generator. The likely places to check are the 120v output breaker on the inverter and the circuit breaker(s) in the breaker box that is powered by the inverter.


If in doubt, call your coach builder (Winnebago?) and ask. If it's Winnie, they're very good with things like this.


Also I suggest you go to your "User CP" (control panel) and "edit signature". In your 3 lines of text you can put the year, make and model of your RV so you don't have to type it every time you have a question or problem and the rest of us won't have to ask. It will help others help you. http://www.irv2.com/forums/usercp.php


Good luck and safe travels.
__________________
2005 Four Winds Majestic 23A
“To the world you may be one person; but to one person you may be the world.” - Dr Suess
Solo_RV_Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2019, 10:10 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Sacramento, California
Posts: 1,154
Check and reset your gfci. Also check the 2 circuit breakers that look like light switches on the side of the generator.
Bahamaniac is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2019, 10:17 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,042
...more simply said--"usually" generator or shore power will power all plugs in a Class A. Inverting off battery bank often limits power to only a few plugs. One exception to this might be that a smaller generator would/might be wired differently. So sounds like something is amiss with your rig.....
__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2019, 07:46 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
153stars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Braidwood Il.
Posts: 936
My guess is GFCI too, especially if they are on same wall inline with eachother. One poster had one in bay with inside outlets on load side of GFCI.
__________________
95 Monaco Crown Royale
M11 400hp, 4060 trans.
Aquahot, Generac Guardian7.5k
153stars is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2019, 07:57 PM   #8
Member
 
Corc's Avatar
 
Thor Owners Club
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Huntsville, AL.
Posts: 95
Might also check to make sure both breakers on the generator are on. GFCI is a better guess but worth a shot.
__________________
Huntsville, Alabama
2018 Thor Palazzo 33.2
2009 Jeep Liberty
Corc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 05:45 AM   #9
Member
 
Freightliner Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Houma La
Posts: 66
I had one GFI 120 volt power plug tripped in back of coach and it was culprit for three others not working. Pushed reset and no more issues . All plugs work off generator.
jaearhart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 06:03 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
spdracr39's Avatar


 
Monaco Owners Club
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Cabot, Arkansas
Posts: 2,249
Agree you either have a tripped GFI or the generator breaker is tripped and you are getting power from the inverter only. Needs further diagnosis for sure.
__________________
2004 Beaver Monterey Laguna/2015 Chevy Equinox
2014 Chaparral 327RLKS 5'er (FOR SALE)
2017 GMC 2500HD SLE 6.0L Z71 4x4 Standard Bed
https://wordpress.com/posts/enjoying-life.net
spdracr39 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 07:14 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 71
Agreed it's probably the GFCI. If you look around the galley or maybe in the bathroom for a wall outlet, you'll find it there. It will have a test and a reset button. Reset it.

When this GFCI trips in our MH it cuts power to three different outlets but all the others work fine. Also if we turn ON our inverter it only supplies power to 4 outlets but we only have 1000 watt inverter too.

So more than likely when you lost power and then started up your genset, that tripped the GFCI outlet knocking out a few other outlets.
__________________
FTers, 2012 Winnebago Vista 35F
A lie can travel half way around the world, while the truth is still putting on its shoes - Mark Twain
Joree is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2019, 07:24 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Old Scout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 5,042
have to disagree that GFIC is the issue ...probably need more info from OP here but OP's post seems to suggest that all works fine on shore power but not on genset--if so, a "tripped" GFIC isn't the issue...
__________________

__________________
Old Scout
2003 40' MDTS
Garden Ridge, Texas
Old Scout is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator, generators, power



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI Outlets - Provide your locations Dutch Star Don Newmar Owner's Forum 7 08-13-2019 09:23 AM
Does the solar panel provide power without any switching? tankcj Class A Motorhome Discussions 20 12-18-2013 10:57 PM
Why does Newmar only provide company service in Jan, Feb and March? MT flyfisher Newmar Owner's Forum 25 12-10-2007 07:53 AM
HydroHot - Does yours also provide engine preheat? RVDude Newmar Owner's Forum 3 05-15-2007 07:55 AM
What does the club provide? Pete B Workhorse Chassis Motorhome Club (WCMC) 4 07-04-2006 08:33 AM

» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×